16 Reviews

The is a great master recipe! It allows cooks some creativity if desired but is FANTABULOUS just as is.

I made this using a whole chicken (approx 4 lbs). Browned It on all sides after seasoning generously with salt and pepper. While it was browning I popped the broth into the microwave then steeped a sprig of rosemary in the broth.

Also readied approximately 10 cloves of garlic, peeled.

After browning, I poured in the broth, inserted half the garlic into the chickens cavity and also the steeped rosemary sprig.

Then put chicken on the rack and sprinkled remaining garlic and additional rosemary sprig onto of chicken. Turned out great!!

Made some roasted garlic and caramelised onion smashed potatoes with cream and a dash of nutmeg.

Ticked the remaining sauce from the chicken and poured over the potatoes!

Lovely and thanks for the recipe!

Last week's carnitas and today's chicken are justification enough for procuring this pressure cooker.

I used a 6qt Cuisinart Electric unit, by the way.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbhupatrai August 06, 2011

Delicious! I used an old, retired laying hen for this recipe, and the timing was perfect. I barely needed a knife to cut the chicken apart, and it was so moist and tender. I used vegetable broth in the slow cooker, and the only real change I made to the recipe was to sprinkle the chicken with a little seasoning salt, too. I thickened the drippings with some flour - made an excellent gravy for garlic mashed potatoes!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassiaDawn November 06, 2011

Wow! I have often cooked chicken in a pressure cooker before...but never browned it first and the difference in appearance and flavor is incredible. Of course the meat is as moist as you could possibly get it since it was cooked in the pressurized steam. You get a beautiful whole chicken...which would make a lovely presentation. You also get good flavors throughout the meat because of the seasonings being seared into the meat prior to processing. This method would make a very nice dinner. You could easily make some gravy from the rich drippings and serve with some mashed potatoes and a vegatable for a complete hearty meal. I plan to let the meat cool and refrigerate for chicken salad sandwiches. Made for PAC Fall 2009.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ October 03, 2009

I love this recipe. I have never seared chicken that was going to be cooked in a pressure cooker. I have a dry rub that I use inside of the chicken, garlic and onion salt. I must say that it brought out the flavor more after searing, because it stayed in one piece. Thank you for posting. I have used a pressure cooker for many years and this has been a new and delightful lesson for me. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song October 31, 2009

Comes out moist and tender. Only complaint is the extra 14 to 20 minutes it takes to brown the chicken that you don't count "on the clock."

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arcquitecto August 10, 2012

What a great, versatile recipe! This was delicious & perfect. A winner with the whole family. Thank you for sharing!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thedixongang June 27, 2011

I love this chicken, it is over the moon good!! Just recommended this recipe to someone and discovered that I had not rated it yet...sorry for the delay. We have made this a few times already and taught my cousin the other day how to do this. I used different spices each time and have not been disappointed yet. Thank you so much for an easy and wonderful recipe. I would give it more stars if I could for the simplicity of it alone.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morningfeather January 10, 2011

Just got a pressure cooker for Christmas and haven't used it yet. Looking for my first recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ioogo December 26, 2012

Is the difference between a crazy person and a sane person one that just happens to talk out loud...to themselves? I so hope it's the latter because I was doin' some grumblin'. My chicken didn't fit my pressure cooker, so I had to cut it in half. It cooked perfectly in 25 minutes, but while turning, I broke the skin. Not pretty, but still tender and deliciously juicy with me needing to wipe that crazy look, I mean sauce off my face. Makes me think of my 10 reasons I love Recipezaar. Reason #3 I can never have too many pots and pans. These pans (and the more expensive the better ;-)) will certainly produce a fantastic meal. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 09, 2009

Sounds nice. I might try this with beer instead and chicken cubes for a different taste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ethosgail July 21, 2015
Pressure Cooker Whole Chicken