Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pressure Cooker Split Pea and Ham Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pressure Cooker Split Pea and Ham Soup

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2003

      If everyone knew how easy and great tasting this soup is, they'd be making it all the time! I liked the fact it didn't make too much too! I did add some garlic and used half chicken broth and water! Thanks for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I just purchased a pressure cooker and this was the first recipe I made. It was delicious! My husband totally enjoyed it also. I think I will like making food in my pressure cooker, just like my mother used to.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      A winner, but don't ignore step 2. I head pea soup all over as my pressure cooker was too small for all the ingredients. 2 tsp of salt was tad bit much. I'll never buy canned split pea soup again. So easy, so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Very good recipe, I added a few more carrots. Was alittle thin when it was finished, but the next day, like all pea soup it thickened and the true flavor came out. Thanks KEA, great recipe and will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I can't make enough of this soup! We consider ourselves split pea soup snobs - this passes the test. Using a bit of smoke and ham stock works well - turkey ham makes it a bit more healthy, but 1/2 lb of bacon makes it mighty tasty ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This was an excellent soup! I made it on a whim, because I was hungry, wanted something quick, and I had the ingredients on hand. It was delicious, and I will definitely make this again and again. Easy, simple, lovely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I actually wasn't really looking forward to eating this... just made it because I had some split peas to use up and was on a tight budget. I don't normally like split pea soup, but this was amazing! I didn't have any ham so I used a 1/2 pound of bacon that I cut up into small bite-size pieces (didn't precook it at all). It was so good! The bacon just melt in your mouth and didn't have a fatty texture at all. As far as salt goes I think I added about 2-3 tsp. I will definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Recipe was very easy and good. The Sherry really added flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2014

      scrumdelicious!! I added vegan bouillon and pink salt. it was a huge hit at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      Delicious, thanks for the recipe! The flavor and the texture of the sauce is just amazing. I used my pure clay pot to make it and turned out fantastic. The meat cooked in it is so much softer and juicier. It cooks the food with far infrared heat emitted from the walls of the pot, but pressure cookers cook the food by forcing the heat into the food and killing the nutrients in the process. mecware.US is the website to learn the art of clay cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

      Very good and very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      This turned out terrific. On a snowy morning I put all the ingredients in my pressure cooker and in less than an hour (including prep + 20 min in pressure cooker), I had a delicious soup! I did puree 3/4 in my blender, then added some chopped ham. Salted to taste after the soup was done. Yum! Easy! Easy! Easy! Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      This soup was amazing. I used the ham bone from Thanksgiving dinner. I cooked the ham bone and saved the liquid in 2 gallon freezer bags. I used one of the bags of broth for this soup and a little bit of chicken broth to make the 8 cups of liquid. I will make this soup throughout the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      Cut dried thyme to 3/4 tsp. Added chix bullion. Served with Louisiana Hot Sauce. A big hit in my home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      Pea soup is a winter tradition in my house so it was nice to shave a few hours off making it. For how thin it was after I finished cooking I was a little worried but come morning it was nice and thick, which I love. This is definitely one I'll use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      Absolutely the best pea soup I've ever had! I have a 6 qt pressure cooker so I used 1 cup less water to ensure I was at the half mark; worked out beautifully, made the soup thicker the way I like :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      I would suggest adding a little extra water. My parents used pressure cookers when I was young and so my wife and I decided to buy one. We live in France half of the year and hence the unit we purchased was less than helpful with directions. i.e. the pressure we were using. The first batch came out fairly well, but was badly scorched. And yes, I did monitor the jiggling and turned down the heat accordingly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I am cooking this soup right now and even though I haven't tasted it yet, I have to give it the 5 stars- the smell alone is fabulous! It smells like split pea and ham soup- go figure! I am reducing it down before i pressure cook it cause my cooker was too full to close (past the fill line), so maybe next time I'll halve the recipe for the size of my pot. Amazing! Will be making these on chilly nights for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      Just got a new pressure cooker and have used it two days in a row. This soup was excellant. I had a frozen ham bone and cooked it first then the rest. Had it for supper tonight and had enough left over for lunch tommorrow. We will be making this often. Thanks for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      I had a ham bone leftover from Christmas dinner and making split pea and ham soup is always a must follow meal. This was a great recipe to make using my new Cuisinart electric pressure cooker. I came home from work, just put everything in the pressure cooker and dinner was done in no time. Thanks for sharing, recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pressure Cooker Split Pea and Ham Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.5
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    22%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 46.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 20.5 g
    82%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes