Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pressure Cooker Potato and Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pressure Cooker Potato and Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      Loved it and it is wonderfully easy to make. My picky (they'll eat everything, but it had better be good and not just average) eaters thought it was perfect without any modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Doctor this one: in preparation we used 6 medium red potatoes, 1.5 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups milk, 2 sm/med onions, 8/10 baby carrots, 4 celery hearts, rosemary and chives (2 palmfuls each), 3 cloves of garlic, 1 cup frozen corn, 1.5 frozen ham steaks, 2 cups milk, 20 grinds of pepper shaker.

      After eating it we would recommend using veggie broth instead of chicken broth, way less onion ( maybe one and then some onion salt to substitute), leave the corn out, add more garlic (instead of 3 large cloves I would use 5) and lastly, use 3 cups milk. We topped ours with cheddar cheese and bacon bits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      This is a delightful recipe! I made minimal changes... to compensate from the lack of flavour mentioned by other reviewers, I used vegetable broth instead of water. I also added fresh rosemary and chives before cooking the potatoes. It had a great taste without adding any extra seasoning. I do agree that cooking time in recipe is VERY deceptive (hence my 4 stars). It doesn't include the time it takes to bring the pressure cooker to high heat, the time it takes to release the pressure, nor the time it takes for the milk to come to a boil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2014

      Delicious! I don't know why others have said it was lacking flavor. I followed the recipe as written and it turned out amazing. I served it with a dollop of sour cream and everyone loved it. I do, however, think next time I will leave some of it chunky Just to give it some chew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      Good basic recipe. Because of the other comments, I added 4 large cloves of garlic and some rosemary before cooking. I also only used 2 small onions with the 2.5 lbs of red potatoes. After cooking in pressure cooker, I only added 3 cups of milk instead of 4. The soup came out perfectly! It just took much longer than expected due to waiting for the soup to boil once milk was added while stirring constantly. The soup was a hit with the whole family! Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      I added a tablespoon of olive oil to the potatoes before cooking and omitted the salt and onion since I didn't have any fresh onion and used chicken broth in place of the water.

      After cooking, I added some Italian seasoning, garlic and onion powders. I didn't have any cheddar, so I substituted velveeta.

      Serving over steamed broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      We love this soup! The second time I made it I added a little garlic (just because my family really likes garlic). Wonderful "comfort food" for a family far from home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      This was extremely economical to make but didn't have loads of flavor. I think there must be some potatoes that are more suited to this recipe (the 'floury' ones maybe). After I had liquidised the soup the texture was a bit 'goopy'. I will make again but will try a different potato. Didn't need 4 cups of milk, I just used 2 and it was about right. Extremely quick to prepare and kid friendly. I would be tempted next time to add a little chilli I think and try a different type of potato. 25.02.08 Made this again and substituted a different potato. It was much better. Also added an additional cup of cheese and reduced the amount of milk (2 cups)- if you don't it is too watery. my kids finished the lot for tea (2 bowls each).. it definitely got the 'thumbs up'. a big thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      taste great and the texture is perfect. This is a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      Wonderful flavor yet lacking in texture. This recipe is so easy and the flavor was wonderful prepared exactly as written. I was dissapointed in how thin the soup remained even after boiling it and letting it sit for a few minutes. I guess maybe we just prefer a chunkier soup. I may just experiment with the potatoes a bit to add some texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      This was excellent soup. I added 5 cloves of garlic (peeled) to the pressure cooker, and 1 tsp of chicken boulion. The cooking time is a bit deceptive, as it takes time to allow the pressure to come down naturally, 10-15 minutes or so, which really brings the cooking time up to 15-18 minutes. Easy and delicious. I will be making this soup often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pressure Cooker Potato and Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (3444 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.2
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    41%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 49.2 mg
    16%
    Sodium 734.7 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 14.9 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites