12 Reviews

Loved it and it is wonderfully easy to make. My picky (they'll eat everything, but it had better be good and not just average) eaters thought it was perfect without any modifications.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ April 07, 2003

Doctor this one: in preparation we used 6 medium red potatoes, 1.5 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups milk, 2 sm/med onions, 8/10 baby carrots, 4 celery hearts, rosemary and chives (2 palmfuls each), 3 cloves of garlic, 1 cup frozen corn, 1.5 frozen ham steaks, 2 cups milk, 20 grinds of pepper shaker.

After eating it we would recommend using veggie broth instead of chicken broth, way less onion ( maybe one and then some onion salt to substitute), leave the corn out, add more garlic (instead of 3 large cloves I would use 5) and lastly, use 3 cups milk. We topped ours with cheddar cheese and bacon bits.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Byilk82 January 02, 2012

This is a delightful recipe! I made minimal changes... to compensate from the lack of flavour mentioned by other reviewers, I used vegetable broth instead of water. I also added fresh rosemary and chives before cooking the potatoes. It had a great taste without adding any extra seasoning. I do agree that cooking time in recipe is VERY deceptive (hence my 4 stars). It doesn't include the time it takes to bring the pressure cooker to high heat, the time it takes to release the pressure, nor the time it takes for the milk to come to a boil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie August 27, 2009

This soup is really tasty, but I did tweak it a lot! First, I used six Russet potatoes because that?s the type I had on hand. (Six instead of four because they were on the small side.) I used one onion instead of four because I find onions can overpower a dish, especially in a pressure cooker. Taking a cue from other reviewers, I added three peeled garlic cloves for extra flavour. Instead of water, I used chicken broth. It was quite a bit more than 1.5 cups but I didn?t measure it ? just made sure the potatoes and onion were covered with liquid. Rather than cook the soup for three minutes, I set the timer for five as I was using an electric pressure cooker. Once the pressure was released, I added two cups of milk instead of four and slightly less than three cups of Cheddar to reduce the amount of fat. (Who am I kidding?) To serve, I topped the soup with a dollop of sour cream and a dash of sliced green onion. Dee-lish! I?m adding it to my favourites as I found it super easy to prepare and very nourishing. (I used an Instant Pot pressure cooker and immersion blender to make things easier.) Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea.macdonald15 July 27, 2015

Delicious! I don't know why others have said it was lacking flavor. I followed the recipe as written and it turned out amazing. I served it with a dollop of sour cream and everyone loved it. I do, however, think next time I will leave some of it chunky Just to give it some chew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taajwall October 04, 2014

Good basic recipe. Because of the other comments, I added 4 large cloves of garlic and some rosemary before cooking. I also only used 2 small onions with the 2.5 lbs of red potatoes. After cooking in pressure cooker, I only added 3 cups of milk instead of 4. The soup came out perfectly! It just took much longer than expected due to waiting for the soup to boil once milk was added while stirring constantly. The soup was a hit with the whole family! Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmr1120 January 31, 2013

I added a tablespoon of olive oil to the potatoes before cooking and omitted the salt and onion since I didn't have any fresh onion and used chicken broth in place of the water.

After cooking, I added some Italian seasoning, garlic and onion powders. I didn't have any cheddar, so I substituted velveeta.

Serving over steamed broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riverbeauty February 22, 2011

We love this soup! The second time I made it I added a little garlic (just because my family really likes garlic). Wonderful "comfort food" for a family far from home!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachel2c129 April 11, 2008

This was extremely economical to make but didn't have loads of flavor. I think there must be some potatoes that are more suited to this recipe (the 'floury' ones maybe). After I had liquidised the soup the texture was a bit 'goopy'. I will make again but will try a different potato. Didn't need 4 cups of milk, I just used 2 and it was about right. Extremely quick to prepare and kid friendly. I would be tempted next time to add a little chilli I think and try a different type of potato. 25.02.08 Made this again and substituted a different potato. It was much better. Also added an additional cup of cheese and reduced the amount of milk (2 cups)- if you don't it is too watery. my kids finished the lot for tea (2 bowls each).. it definitely got the 'thumbs up'. a big thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scimietta99 February 24, 2008

taste great and the texture is perfect. This is a great and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
estela_molina January 12, 2008
Pressure Cooker Potato and Cheese Soup