10 Reviews

I had a 3 lb. roast that I cut into 2" inch chunks and I covered the chunks with flour and salt and pepper. Then I browned in the pressure cooker. I literally dumped all of the other ingredients on top of the meat chunks. I pressure cooked at 15 lbs pressure for 20 minutes. Let it cool down for about 10 minutes and carefully let the pressure off in increments. This is a "jewel" of a recipe. I will prepare again and again. I think I will add shredded carrots on top of the rest ingredients next time. Great on noodles, rice, potatoes or toast. I am using my pressure cooker quite a bit, both of my ovens went out at the same time!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song October 31, 2009

This recipe is very delicious and easy to follow. As a variation I added 2 tablespoons of red Thai curry which "tricked" it up, as my grandmother would say. I can think of various vegetables that I'll add next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rdavidsf June 27, 2015

My family loves this recipe. I used to do it the slow cooker, but love the consistency, flavor and speed that the pressure cooker offers.<br/><br/>I usually thicken the gravy afterwards with a little corn starch. Otherwise it's perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pivo December 29, 2014

I wasted (burned) $20 worth of ingredients, recipes appears to be more for a roast pan than pressure cooker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a s. October 19, 2014

Home cooking home run! This brought back fond memories for DH and me. I felt guilty about the simplicity of this recipe, but that fell away when we enjoyed the tender, moist chuck roast. This made a LOT of gravy. For us, this serves 4 with healthy appetites. Served with roasted potatoes, green beans and red bell peppers. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL March 28, 2014

Like my Grandma makes!!! This roast turned out so tender and perfect, a hit with the whole family! I chopped mine into 2 in chunks like the previous reviewer did and subbed chopped onion for the mushrooms (just preference). Thank you for a PERFECT first pressure cooker meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thedixongang June 26, 2011

Since the flavor is unbeatable and we LOVED IT, giving it five stars instead of just four. Don't understand why folks hold back that last star when they LOVE a recipe. Used a vegetable steamer insert with peeled potatoes, onion cut into quarters, and whole shallots up out of the liquid. It keeps them from turning into mush. Easy and wonderful pressure cooker recipe! ****

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
California Canner October 10, 2009

We loved this recipe! The gravy is delicious and it makes quite a bit. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef joasta August 10, 2009

Let me just start by saying this was the first time I have used a pressure cooker in my life and I was extremely intimidated. But this recipe was so easy, I couldn't believe it. I threw in some red skinned potatoes and chopped carrots. The flavor was unbeatable. Tasted like something Grandma would spend all day making. LOVED IT. Thanks so much Shelley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 July 28, 2009

This was a good recipe! I came to the knowledge of my pressure cooker about a year ago. Its kinda like once you get over the initial few of it, its wonderful!! The meat was tender and the gravy was DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyJessi! July 28, 2009
Pressure Cooker Pot Roast With Mushroom Gravy - Easy