14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great! Inspired by a similar recipe, I added cut-up red potatoes and about 1/2 c red wine, and 8 oz of mushrooms. This made for a very yummy stewlike one-pot meal with a delicious rich broth. The fennel is a great touch--I think it's a sadly underutilized herb.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrLith March 23, 2008

Wonderful weeknight meal, served with Quick Parboiled Rice - 2-Qt. Pressure Cooker. Used 4 chicken thighs and 3 hot Italian sausages, which fed us 2 seniors. I saved the remaining sauce, from which I will discard the congealed fat before topping tomorrow's potatoes. There may be more gourmet recipes, but this smelled wonderful while cooking and satisfied us completely. I will definitely make this again. Note: used Chef Essentials 6-qt. electric pressure cooker, so extended time at pressure to 12 minutes; after starting cooker's climb to pressure, I began measuring and rinsing rice for Quick Parboiled Rice - 2-Qt. Pressure Cooker, which completed before this recipe finished releasing pressure naturally. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL March 25, 2014

This was great! I used 3 leg quarters cut into pieces, and 1 pound of sausage. Served over spaghetti with parmesan on top. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 June 12, 2012

This is a great recipe, both hubby and I enjoyed it. I had to make a few changes: I didn't have a pressure cooker - so cooked it in the oven for about 2 hours (this recipe prompted me to go buy a Pcooker-- I LOVE it!). Since I only had hot Italian sausage handy, I eliminated the red pepper flakes, but I could of left them in -- not too spicy for this TX gal. Also used a frozen bag of chopped green peppers in lieu of fresh peppers. Served with Dreamfield's low-carb pasta -- great since we are both diabetics. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamoody September 28, 2011

Nice.<br/>Used chicken tender since they were on sale. I cut up chicken & sausage prior to browning.<br/>Also added a couple of cans of garbanzo beans since they had to be used up. This is good for using up stuff in the fridge.<br/>Liked the idea of a previous reviewer about serving this over pasta!<br/>Remember to taste and season after it's done. I like mine spicy so a bit more red pepper flakes were called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danneauxs January 25, 2014

The BF really enjoyed this - although he said it needed more veggies. think I'll increase the amount of the peppers next time and serve it with zucchini or spaghetti squash. I'll be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa New's Girl February 02, 2010

I finally replaced my elec. pressure cooker (Bravetti bad, Oster good) so I'm back to making recipes in it. For the chicken I used breasts but everything else did it pretty much as written. Came out very tasty & we enjoyed the hint of licorice flavour from the fennel. Tasty recipe, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 October 20, 2009

Excellent! This is an easy, flavorful recipe. As we are currently in the midst of a move and have but one pot... a pressure cooker... we enjoyed it with a warm flaky loaf of sourdough bread and a garden salad. Very hearty meal that will satisfy the manliest of appetites! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarheel June 19, 2009

Loved this recipe. I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs and cut them up. I didn't bother mincing the garlic, just browned 4 or 5 cloves (we love garlic)... in the pressure the garlic falls apart anyway. You really don't need to follow this exactly and it still comes wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanneee July 02, 2008
Pressure Cooker Italian Chicken and Sausage with Peppers