29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Though it was a bit time consuming to make, we really enjoyed the flavor of this dish. I added carrots to the recipe to up the veggie content and served it over spaetzel instead of egg noodles. The chicken instructions were a little confusing as I wasn't sure whether "skinned" meant skin-on or skinless so I decided to leave the skin on to keep the chicken from drying out when I browned it. Overall, a nice recipe that I would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tunnia April 14, 2013

I didn't follow it exactly, but it was oh so good! I used tomatoes that I had previously froze from my garden (so it was probably like triple the tomatoes). I also added some cabbage like a previous reviewer did. Also doubled the broth for extra sauce for my big family. I recently ordered some coconut oil for cooking and I used this instead of the cooking oil and let me just say...WOW! It made such an impact on the dish! It was so good. As I ate it I could imagine it being made with smoked salmon instead of chicken and including mushrooms. I think I will try that next time. (:

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moushey1 December 28, 2011

The sauce in this recipe is outstanding! This was my first time using a pressure cooker, and I was pleasantly surprised by how fast and easy it is. I used 4 bone in skinless thighs, and cooked them for 10 minutes. They were tender and perfectly cooked. I also subbed smoked paprika for half of the regular paprika, and loved the result. I'll definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH August 31, 2010

Excellent! I added mushrooms to mine and used boneless skinless thighs, but followed the recipe pretty much exactly (1 t. mild paprika and 1 t hot was my only change) and it turned out fantastic. Even the fussy 8 year old loved it. Definitely on the "do again" list! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iterpy July 02, 2010

Awesome - my DH and I really loved this dish! Such a simple recipe turned out so beautifully! I didn't peel my tomato because I am lazy, but I don't think it made a discernable difference. I used fat free sour cream with a small amount of easy blending flour mixed in to augment the thickening of the sauce. This was really delicious and I will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barrdbarrbarr January 08, 2010

This was terrific!! I used 1/2 bullion cube and 1/2 cup of water instead of the broth (it's all I had on hand) and lowered the salt a little because of this. I only used only 2 drumsticks and 2 thighs since it's just me and my husband and me, I left the sauce the same which was great for extra for the noodles. I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream since I live where there is no sour cream....i worked just fine. I will definitely make this again...very different, tastey, and easy. I think this could even be made in a regular pan with a tight lid, a little extra liquid and increased cooking time. Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Expat Cook December 14, 2009

yummy! just got my pressure cooker, & this sounded great. i messed up, as i was nervous about using the PC the 1st time, and didnt cook down the liquid before adding the sour cream and chicken back, so i just made a roux & added the liquid to it to temper the sour cream, and then let is simmer a bout 5 minutes. will def make it again! oh! and i also used german parika paste- as i dont know where to get hungarian paprika. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gracielagata December 11, 2009

Take it from a Hungarian grandson, this is what it's supposed to taste like and this is what you want your kitchen to smell like. Spaetzle type noodles would be more traditional, but who's got the time? Don't miss out on trying this recipe because you think it's too spicy. If in doubt, make the paprika a 50/50, hot/regular mix. Szeged in the tin cans is a good brand. I made it with two large chicken breasts. Great leftovers that are better the second day. For traditional dumplings: http://homepage.interaccess.com/~june4/spaetzle.html

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimosabe November 19, 2009

Made this quick recipe and family loved it. The liquid was delicious and we ate the entire thing. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beanandpotato November 04, 2007
Pressure Cooker Hungarian Chicken