29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this recipe and my husband declared it "excellent"! It was a taking off point for me because I like to use more veggies. I also substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for sour cream and served it over brown rice. Not sure why 3 1/2 to 4 lbs of chicken is supposed to feed only 4 people. I didn't brown the chicken to avoid drying it out. I diced a carrot and a parsnip and sauted them with the onion before adding the chicken. I used a can of tomatoes instead of fresh and layered thick shreds of green cabbage on top of the chicken before putting the top on the cooker. The cabbage was perfectly cooked, melting into the sauce but not overcooked -- no"cabbagey" smell. The chicken was fork tender but not dry. Delicious!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ascender May 21, 2009

As others suggested, mushrooms are really great w/ this dish. Also, if you have coconut oil, use it here!!! I used 1 tea of Szegeo Hungarian sweet paprika & 1 tea Mas Portell regular paprika and 1/2 tea of red pepper. Just right!! I have found over the years that recipes that call for paprika, that you spend a little extra a get the best the store has to offer. I guess this could pertain to alot of things but good paprika does make all the difference. So I never skimp on this quality item. Badia is also another good brand if you have trouble finding the above 2 items.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baltisraul May 27, 2013

Second time that I had used my pressure cooker. This recipe was great. I added some carrots to it. Next time I will add more. Everyone loved it that tried it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigcat7575 December 05, 2012

This is a super recipe- The gravy with the egg noodles is amazing delicious! I had everything but the tomato, used a shot of ketchup and never missed a beat.
Thanks for a great recipe- family destroyed it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TommyDelete January 11, 2012

This turned out great! I pressure cooked a whole chicken, and hand shredded it to add back into the sauce. Turned out great. Served over noodles, and rice the next day as leftovers. Family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 January 23, 2011

The best chicken recipe ever! I modified it a little bit, by not using the sour cream and I also used rice instead of noodles. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! You have to try it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jejeca July 16, 2008

Fantastic! My family and I loved it. I used my pure clay pot to make it and turned out fantastic. It's a perfect pressure cooker I've in my kitchen. The special steam locker lid seals all the nutrients in and gives healthy food and it cooks the food with far infrared heat emitted from the walls of the pot, unlike pressure cooker it forces heat in the food and in the process most of the nutrients are killed. I got mine from mecware.US

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanview7 September 07, 2014

OMG, You wouldn't think the simple ingredients would have so much flavor, but they do. There wasn't any left afterwards, need I SAY MORE!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybenz92 August 25, 2014

I did carrots/parsnips/mushrooms, no cabbage, like the one reviewer, only with egg noodles. Was excellent, simple and fast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eddie.Kominek April 03, 2014

This recipe was great, quick and easy to put together! My mum tried it and declared that it was time for her to finally get a pressure cooker. Next time will add garlic, but it was still very good as it was.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megohm May 02, 2013
Pressure Cooker Hungarian Chicken