32 Reviews

Loved this recipe and my husband declared it "excellent"! It was a taking off point for me because I like to use more veggies. I also substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for sour cream and served it over brown rice. Not sure why 3 1/2 to 4 lbs of chicken is supposed to feed only 4 people. I didn't brown the chicken to avoid drying it out. I diced a carrot and a parsnip and sauted them with the onion before adding the chicken. I used a can of tomatoes instead of fresh and layered thick shreds of green cabbage on top of the chicken before putting the top on the cooker. The cabbage was perfectly cooked, melting into the sauce but not overcooked -- no"cabbagey" smell. The chicken was fork tender but not dry. Delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ascender May 21, 2009

As others suggested, mushrooms are really great w/ this dish. Also, if you have coconut oil, use it here!!! I used 1 tea of Szegeo Hungarian sweet paprika & 1 tea Mas Portell regular paprika and 1/2 tea of red pepper. Just right!! I have found over the years that recipes that call for paprika, that you spend a little extra a get the best the store has to offer. I guess this could pertain to alot of things but good paprika does make all the difference. So I never skimp on this quality item. Badia is also another good brand if you have trouble finding the above 2 items.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baltisraul May 27, 2013

Second time that I had used my pressure cooker. This recipe was great. I added some carrots to it. Next time I will add more. Everyone loved it that tried it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigcat7575 December 05, 2012

This was fantastic! I made mine in my instant pot for 15 minutes pressure then a 15 minute natural release. It was thinner than I wanted so I thickened it with a cornstarch slurry. Definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip October 12, 2015

This is a super recipe- The gravy with the egg noodles is amazing delicious! I had everything but the tomato, used a shot of ketchup and never missed a beat.
Thanks for a great recipe- family destroyed it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TommyDelete January 11, 2012

This turned out great! I pressure cooked a whole chicken, and hand shredded it to add back into the sauce. Turned out great. Served over noodles, and rice the next day as leftovers. Family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 January 23, 2011

The best chicken recipe ever! I modified it a little bit, by not using the sour cream and I also used rice instead of noodles. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! You have to try it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jejeca July 16, 2008

Hubby and I enjoyed this recipe. Next time I will thicken the sauce first, but it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robbie Jackson February 06, 2016

I used a lot of suggestions from the other reviews. It was tasty! I cooked in the Instant Pot first sauteing a medium onion, 2 small carrots, 1 good sized parsnip, and the spices in coconut oil (agreed with other reviewers the coconut oil tastes great!) Then I added a can of tomatoes, a small can of sliced mushrooms with the water, 1 tsp Better Than Bouillon, and just a little water to get the rest of the tomato out of the can. I put 10 skinless drumsticks on top of that and cooked on the Poultry setting (15min) and did a 15min natural release. I took the chicken out and added 2 handfuls of chopped baby spinach stirring until wilted. I added yogurt (full fat) instead of sour cream. Unfortunately I put the machine back on a low saute and the mixture quickly simmered, so the yogurt curdled and the sauce was runny. I only had regular sweet paprika and smoked, so I did 1tsp of each. It could have used a little more paprika with all of the veggies and tomatoes. Next time I will use a bit more bouillon, too, to add a little more salt and flavor. Overall it was tasty and the chicken was cooked perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormtrails January 13, 2016

Fantastic! My family and I loved it. I used my pure clay pot to make it and turned out fantastic. It's a perfect pressure cooker I've in my kitchen. The special steam locker lid seals all the nutrients in and gives healthy food and it cooks the food with far infrared heat emitted from the walls of the pot, unlike pressure cooker it forces heat in the food and in the process most of the nutrients are killed. I got mine from mecware.US

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanview7 September 07, 2014
Pressure Cooker Hungarian Chicken