Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pressure Cooker Hungarian Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pressure Cooker Hungarian Chicken

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2009

      Loved this recipe and my husband declared it "excellent"! It was a taking off point for me because I like to use more veggies. I also substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for sour cream and served it over brown rice. Not sure why 3 1/2 to 4 lbs of chicken is supposed to feed only 4 people. I didn't brown the chicken to avoid drying it out. I diced a carrot and a parsnip and sauted them with the onion before adding the chicken. I used a can of tomatoes instead of fresh and layered thick shreds of green cabbage on top of the chicken before putting the top on the cooker. The cabbage was perfectly cooked, melting into the sauce but not overcooked -- no"cabbagey" smell. The chicken was fork tender but not dry. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      As others suggested, mushrooms are really great w/ this dish. Also, if you have coconut oil, use it here!!! I used 1 tea of Szegeo Hungarian sweet paprika & 1 tea Mas Portell regular paprika and 1/2 tea of red pepper. Just right!! I have found over the years that recipes that call for paprika, that you spend a little extra a get the best the store has to offer. I guess this could pertain to alot of things but good paprika does make all the difference. So I never skimp on this quality item. Badia is also another good brand if you have trouble finding the above 2 items.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This turned out great! I pressure cooked a whole chicken, and hand shredded it to add back into the sauce. Turned out great. Served over noodles, and rice the next day as leftovers. Family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      Fantastic! My family and I loved it. I used my pure clay pot to make it and turned out fantastic. It's a perfect pressure cooker I've in my kitchen. The special steam locker lid seals all the nutrients in and gives healthy food and it cooks the food with far infrared heat emitted from the walls of the pot, unlike pressure cooker it forces heat in the food and in the process most of the nutrients are killed. I got mine from mecware.US

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      OMG, You wouldn't think the simple ingredients would have so much flavor, but they do. There wasn't any left afterwards, need I SAY MORE!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      I did carrots/parsnips/mushrooms, no cabbage, like the one reviewer, only with egg noodles. Was excellent, simple and fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      This recipe was great, quick and easy to put together! My mum tried it and declared that it was time for her to finally get a pressure cooker. Next time will add garlic, but it was still very good as it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      Though it was a bit time consuming to make, we really enjoyed the flavor of this dish. I added carrots to the recipe to up the veggie content and served it over spaetzel instead of egg noodles. The chicken instructions were a little confusing as I wasn't sure whether "skinned" meant skin-on or skinless so I decided to leave the skin on to keep the chicken from drying out when I browned it. Overall, a nice recipe that I would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Second time that I had used my pressure cooker. This recipe was great. I added some carrots to it. Next time I will add more. Everyone loved it that tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      This is a super recipe- The gravy with the egg noodles is amazing delicious! I had everything but the tomato, used a shot of ketchup and never missed a beat.
      Thanks for a great recipe- family destroyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      I didn't follow it exactly, but it was oh so good! I used tomatoes that I had previously froze from my garden (so it was probably like triple the tomatoes). I also added some cabbage like a previous reviewer did. Also doubled the broth for extra sauce for my big family. I recently ordered some coconut oil for cooking and I used this instead of the cooking oil and let me just say...WOW! It made such an impact on the dish! It was so good. As I ate it I could imagine it being made with smoked salmon instead of chicken and including mushrooms. I think I will try that next time. (:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      The sauce in this recipe is outstanding! This was my first time using a pressure cooker, and I was pleasantly surprised by how fast and easy it is. I used 4 bone in skinless thighs, and cooked them for 10 minutes. They were tender and perfectly cooked. I also subbed smoked paprika for half of the regular paprika, and loved the result. I'll definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Excellent! I added mushrooms to mine and used boneless skinless thighs, but followed the recipe pretty much exactly (1 t. mild paprika and 1 t hot was my only change) and it turned out fantastic. Even the fussy 8 year old loved it. Definitely on the "do again" list! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Awesome - my DH and I really loved this dish! Such a simple recipe turned out so beautifully! I didn't peel my tomato because I am lazy, but I don't think it made a discernable difference. I used fat free sour cream with a small amount of easy blending flour mixed in to augment the thickening of the sauce. This was really delicious and I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This was terrific!! I used 1/2 bullion cube and 1/2 cup of water instead of the broth (it's all I had on hand) and lowered the salt a little because of this. I only used only 2 drumsticks and 2 thighs since it's just me and my husband and me, I left the sauce the same which was great for extra for the noodles. I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream since I live where there is no sour cream....i worked just fine. I will definitely make this again...very different, tastey, and easy. I think this could even be made in a regular pan with a tight lid, a little extra liquid and increased cooking time. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      yummy! just got my pressure cooker, & this sounded great. i messed up, as i was nervous about using the PC the 1st time, and didnt cook down the liquid before adding the sour cream and chicken back, so i just made a roux & added the liquid to it to temper the sour cream, and then let is simmer a bout 5 minutes. will def make it again! oh! and i also used german parika paste- as i dont know where to get hungarian paprika. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Take it from a Hungarian grandson, this is what it's supposed to taste like and this is what you want your kitchen to smell like. Spaetzle type noodles would be more traditional, but who's got the time? Don't miss out on trying this recipe because you think it's too spicy. If in doubt, make the paprika a 50/50, hot/regular mix. Szeged in the tin cans is a good brand. I made it with two large chicken breasts. Great leftovers that are better the second day. For traditional dumplings: http://homepage.interaccess.com/~june4/spaetzle.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

    • on July 16, 2008

      The best chicken recipe ever! I modified it a little bit, by not using the sour cream and I also used rice instead of noodles. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! You have to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Made this quick recipe and family loved it. The liquid was delicious and we ate the entire thing. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pressure Cooker Hungarian Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (553 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1013.1
     
    Calories from Fat 535
    52%
    Total Fat 59.5 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 380.5 mg
    126%
    Sodium 1023.5 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 79.9 g
    159%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes