Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pressure cooker chicken stock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pressure cooker chicken stock

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2009

      Gotta love a pressure cooker to shorten what is usually an all day project when simmering the stock on the stove. A helpful hint: To deepen the chicken flavor, I first roast the chicken parts in a baking pan or roaster, at 350 degrees, until they brown, which takes about 45 minutes to an hour. Then I add the parts and all the drippings into the pressure cooker. I also stir the water into the roasting pan first to pick up any flavors left from the roasted parts, scraping up any bits left stuck to the pan. That "brown stuff" stuck to the bottom of the pan imparts a lot of yummy chicken flavor into the finished stock. I hate wasting flavor. And Yes! I am glad you specify to leave the onion unpeeled. The skins add a nice flavor and deepen the color of the stock. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Hey Jude!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Great stock and a real time saver. Don't think the flavor was compromised in any way cooking it this way..... saved me at least a couple of hours. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I'm using this recipe again! Always perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      5 stars for a super easy recipe. I also used roast chicken bones from a whole bird as I think the flavour deepens a lot. I got seven beakers that hold about one and a half cups each of stock, as I find that the beakers are quicker and easier to get the frozen stock out of than plasic bags. Personal preferance of course. I skipped the chicken feet as my birdie had lost those already when I bought it... Please see my rating system: 5 stars for a great stock recipe that can be adapted to personal taste. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      Absolutely the best stock recipe. I added a couple of whole cloves and some dill weed. I thought I was the only one that used chicken feet still? This is how I do stock now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      This is a good starting point for pressure cooker chicken stock. I've adapted it some to fit what I prefer, and I make my version of it alot. I use the carcass of a roasted chicken (usually my Basic Roast Chicken) instead of raw chicken parts. I like the flavor better that way. I peel the carrot, and the onion before quartering, and use a whole palmful of peppercorns. I also add flat leaf parsley and dried bay leaves. I up the water amount to 10 cups, and the cooking time to 40 minutes. That yeilds me 8 cups of stock. I like to freeze it flat 2 cups at a time in quart sized freezer bags. (This is much easier to do if you use a canning funnel to fill the bags.) I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars as is because I tried it with raw chicken parts, and I found the flavor way too subdued for my taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      I also like the fact that this recipe gives you 7 cups of homemade broth. That is equivalent to 7 cans of the storebought stuff. A real savings!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      This recipe is fast, easy and good! I added the traditional "bouquet garni" ingredients (parsley stems, cloves, bay leaves and thyme). I have already made this on numerous occasions; it has now become the way I make chicken stock!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      Yum. I did this with a longer cooking time so that it would be absolutely infused with all the tastes and really enjoyed it. You can't go wrong with a pressure cooker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Used it for turkey stock. In addition, I also added a couple chicken bouillion cubes for flavor. Unbelievable how much more richer and flavorful it was done in the pressure cooker. It beats all other vessels, hands down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      A pressure cooker makes stock sooooo easy to make! I save up all my chicken bones in the freezer, and when I have a full bag, I make this recipe. Since it only takes a short time, I don't feel like I have to make gallons at a time to make it worth my time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pressure cooker chicken stock

    Serving Size: 1 (3215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.1
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    49%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 125.8 mg
    41%
    Sodium 147.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 39.4 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes