Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pressure Cooker Chicken and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pressure Cooker Chicken and Rice

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2009

      My husband calls this a keeper. I cut the chicken into pieces and sauteed them with onion, salt, pepper and garlic powder. I used cream of chicken and cream of celery soups, and added a bag of frozen veggies (didn't have broccoli, which I will try next), salt, pepper and garlic powder. I will use a little more water next time, but I pressured that for 20 minutes and the rice was perfect. My pan was a little scorched, but will spray next time. No scorch flavor, thank heavens!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      This scorched on the bottom of my pressure cooker too, so we ate around it. I even tried to do this at the lower pressure setting. I would suggest bring it to boil with cover off so you can see it boil. Then put cover on and set burner to low and cook for 35 min. Don't wait for it to come up to pressure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Ok really nice recipe but it will burn your pressure cooker up, never came up to pressure so I took everything and put in a dish and put it in the oven :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I would give this zero stars if it would let me. I have a Cook's Essentials pressure cooker and this recipe had me convinced that I broke it. I did everything just as the recipe called for, but the cooker never got up to pressure. I tried three times. It got hot enough to scorch the rice on the bottom and make the chicken rubbery, but no pressure ever built.

      I don't know what happened. I was looking forward to this. Maybe it's too much liquid/thickness, or maybe I should have used instant rice instead of plain old bagged rice. Anyone know what the trouble could be?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I'll admit I'm a newbie but my first two recipes I tried in the brand-new pressure cooker came out perfect. For some reason, with this recipe, the pressure cooker failed to build pressure and ended up burning its contents instead as I waited for its popup indicator to pop (which it never did). Could it be that even with 1.5 cups water the rice/soup mixture is too thick for pressure to build? My fault for waiting as long as I did to pull the cooker off the burner, but I really would like to know what went awry. I have an electric stove and the burner was set to 7 (med high). Now I know to pull the cooker off and abort the mission if it ever fails to reach pressure in a reasonable time. As it turned out, we still ate what wasn't burned as the rice and chicken did cook completely. But that burnt smell and taste permeated the meal enough for me to call this attempt--if not the recipe--a failure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This recipe received "thumbs up" from us! I used 2 cups of instant rice, large can of mushroom soup, about 2Tbsp of Worstershire sauce, and 1/2 cup of inexpensive Merlot, sm. bag frozen vege's.. along with the other ingredients listed minus the cheese sauce/soup. Cooked for 20min on high..then turned to a lower heat for the last 15min. Oh my gosh...yummy yummy yum yum. The chicken fell apart and instant rice did not scorch! Perfecto mundo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Scorched and almost ruined my pressure cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      I thought this had a very good flavor, but wonder if it wouldn't have been better cooked in the oven. I mixed my rice and soups together as suggested but the bottom scorched and the top layer of rice wasn't done. The chicken and the middle part was great! I will try this again, and maybe cook at a lower pressure for a longer length of time. Also, I will spray the bottom of my cooker with non-stick cooking spray. I would suggest letting the cooker cool down naturally... maybe that would help the rice absorb some liquid. Will try again and rate it then... but as I said, it had a great flavor and was very easy to put together. Thanks for submitting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      This is a very easy and fast recipe and I highly recommend it. My only suggestion would be to mix the rice and the soups together before putting into the cooker. I cooked mine at 15 lbs of pressure for 30 minutes because I like the meat to be extra tender. Worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pressure Cooker Chicken and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (457 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 642.5
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    20%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1203.6 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.7 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites