Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pressure Cooker Carnitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pressure Cooker Carnitas

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2009

      I've been cooking this recipe for about a year and a half now. Its still just as good as ever. I noted that someone said they couldn't find the dried chipolte powder. You can find it at Walmart Super Centers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I've got this on my menu for this week, authentic or not. It sounds absolutely delicious. A good recipe is a good recipe, regardless of what it's titled and whether or not it's the way others would make it.....I'll add to this review after making it, but my mouth is already watering. (Edit)....somehow forgot to update my review. I have a horrible time finding dried chipotle powder, so I've use Tabasco chipotle sauce and it's worked great. I added a bit more cumin, but either way it's well into drool worthy territory. I've made it several times and will make it many more. Every single person who's eaten it has raved and asked for the recipe, so I guess it's a keeper....thanks, TJW

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      This came out GREAT! I only had regular chili powder, so I used that and used the frying pan method. Everyone loved it! Thank you for sharing. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I tried this recpie and didn't think it was fantastic. I made a few changes the second time and LOVED IT! Instead of the chipolte powder I added a can of chipolte peppers in adobo sauce. I then added a navel orange cut in thick circular slices, upper cumin to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp mexican chili powder. I also added 1/2 cup brown sugar and about 1 tsp cinnamon. After cooking I discarded the oranges and all but 3 peppers. I chopped them finely and mixed into the shredded meat mixture. I agree with a previous review that you don't need to cut your meat into cubes. It's more work in the beginning and more when shredding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      The ingredients have changed since I first tried tried recipe. I used 4 lbs. of pork stew meat, 1 tsp. of cumin, and 4 heaping tsps. of chipotle powder. This was some of the best carnitas I've ever made, and believe me, I've tried a lot of them. Don't be afraid of the chipotle powder, the spice was perfect. You also can add 4 7 oz. cans of Embasa green salsa verde after its cooked and make it green chile verde. Really, really great. 5 stars easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      We very much enjoyed this dish. So fast! I did not have the chipotle chile powder, so added a half can of chipotle chiles in adobo sauce. It was a bit hot for my DH and myself, but that was my fault! Will cool it down a little next time - and there WILL be a next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I don't care if this is "authentic" or not.. It's FANTASTIC! I added the chipotle peppers at the end and it was perfect. I didn't bother with shredding...too lazy :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Really wondefull! THis was my first time cooking anything in a pressure cooker, just received mine, and it was great! Couldn't believe how moist and tender the pork was, and the seasoning was good, not to much or too little. Broiling added the extra touch of crispiness. Didn't change anything, will absolutely make again! Toped with Hernandez salsa verde, rivaled what you get in restaurants in So Cal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I was requested to make this authenic Mexican dish again from my husband. It was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I thought this was just ok. The pork pieces ended up being too small. I just wasn't thrilled with the end result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      We are regular mexican takeaway eaters and spicy pork burritos are one of our favorites. Now we can make them at home and they are way way better!!! Awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      I made this when we had friends over and everyone loved it. It was so quick and easy to throw together and the results were amazing. I followed the recipe as written using a trimmed pork loin and crisped using the skillet method. There wasn't a shred of meat left at the end of dinner and I already have requests to make it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      Yes it may not be authentic but a great twist to the traditional carnitas which are deep fried in copper pots. The taste was great and of course a much easier way to cook. Delicious, flavorful and mouthwatering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Awesome and super easy! My family devoured this. Next time I'll make a double batch. Used chipotle powder and didn't find it spicy. Used the broiler method with good results. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      WOW! This made a wonderful meal! The Chipotle Pepper was awesome. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      After my first review, I remained curious about this recipe, so I tried it today. I used it as meat for topping my tostadas and used a dried chipotle chile instead of powder. It worked well. Thank you for posting. Old review: Carnitas? Sounds more like just pressure-cooked pork. Real carnitas are marinated in wine, orange juice and other spices that do not include cumin or chiles or onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Delicious and super easy. I served this with a side of cuban-style black beans and rice - everyone loved it. This recipe is sure to become a staple at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This recipe was awesome. I couldn't find chipotle powder, so I finely chopped reconstituted dried ones. Great with a side of beans and rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe. I have cooked a couple of times already. It smells so good while it's cooking in the pressure cooker. I served it with soft tortillas, guacamole, and cheese dip. We used the left over pork for BBQ sandwiches by just reheating with topping with BBQ sause. The spices really add something to the BBQ too. I also cooked about 5 pounds of meat both times too and the last time I did not cube but chopped it a bit after I shredded it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      We loved this! I substituted beef (my husband doesn't care for pork) and used the suggestions of adding the jalapeno pepper and chili powder. Worked beautifully in the pressure cooker. Served it on soft corn tortillas with chopped onion & cilatro and green salsa. Side dishes included baked spinach, Baked Cabbage #176699, and cantaloupe wedges. Thanks TJW for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pressure Cooker Carnitas

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.5
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    61%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 74.8 mg
    24%
    Sodium 88.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites