24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been cooking this recipe for about a year and a half now. Its still just as good as ever. I noted that someone said they couldn't find the dried chipolte powder. You can find it at Walmart Super Centers.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rgstahl April 21, 2009

I've got this on my menu for this week, authentic or not. It sounds absolutely delicious. A good recipe is a good recipe, regardless of what it's titled and whether or not it's the way others would make it.....I'll add to this review after making it, but my mouth is already watering. (Edit)....somehow forgot to update my review. I have a horrible time finding dried chipotle powder, so I've use Tabasco chipotle sauce and it's worked great. I added a bit more cumin, but either way it's well into drool worthy territory. I've made it several times and will make it many more. Every single person who's eaten it has raved and asked for the recipe, so I guess it's a keeper....thanks, TJW

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina March 26, 2009

This came out GREAT! I only had regular chili powder, so I used that and used the frying pan method. Everyone loved it! Thank you for sharing. :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookwithlove June 16, 2010

I tried this recpie and didn't think it was fantastic. I made a few changes the second time and LOVED IT! Instead of the chipolte powder I added a can of chipolte peppers in adobo sauce. I then added a navel orange cut in thick circular slices, upper cumin to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp mexican chili powder. I also added 1/2 cup brown sugar and about 1 tsp cinnamon. After cooking I discarded the oranges and all but 3 peppers. I chopped them finely and mixed into the shredded meat mixture. I agree with a previous review that you don't need to cut your meat into cubes. It's more work in the beginning and more when shredding!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali_riss January 13, 2009

The ingredients have changed since I first tried tried recipe. I used 4 lbs. of pork stew meat, 1 tsp. of cumin, and 4 heaping tsps. of chipotle powder. This was some of the best carnitas I've ever made, and believe me, I've tried a lot of them. Don't be afraid of the chipotle powder, the spice was perfect. You also can add 4 7 oz. cans of Embasa green salsa verde after its cooked and make it green chile verde. Really, really great. 5 stars easily.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peytonmg18 October 05, 2008

We very much enjoyed this dish. So fast! I did not have the chipotle chile powder, so added a half can of chipotle chiles in adobo sauce. It was a bit hot for my DH and myself, but that was my fault! Will cool it down a little next time - and there WILL be a next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn June 17, 2010

I don't care if this is "authentic" or not.. It's FANTASTIC! I added the chipotle peppers at the end and it was perfect. I didn't bother with shredding...too lazy :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SRF68 January 12, 2009

Really wondefull! THis was my first time cooking anything in a pressure cooker, just received mine, and it was great! Couldn't believe how moist and tender the pork was, and the seasoning was good, not to much or too little. Broiling added the extra touch of crispiness. Didn't change anything, will absolutely make again! Toped with Hernandez salsa verde, rivaled what you get in restaurants in So Cal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 November 03, 2008

I was requested to make this authenic Mexican dish again from my husband. It was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar&Spice&Everything Nice May 08, 2008

I thought this was just ok. The pork pieces ended up being too small. I just wasn't thrilled with the end result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rcpmfan60103 January 07, 2014
Pressure Cooker Carnitas