Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pressure Cooker Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pressure Cooker Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2003

      I had a sudden craving for beef stew and found you pressure cooker recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand but left out the brown sugar and used less potato and more onion and carrots. I loved the bit of mustard flavor. The balsamic vinegar and tomato paste added just the right amount of sweetness to balance the canned tomato and beef flavors. I'm slow and it took 30 mins. prep time but then it only takes 12 mins. to cook! Thank you MizzNezz for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      This was my second dinner from my pressure cooker and it was SOOOO goooddd!!!! Easy and quick and all in one pot. I was starving after work and this took less than 30 minutes from start to finish and it was delicious! Definitely will make again! Hubby likes it a lot too!!! This would go great on a bed of rice. If you don't like it too sweet next time just back off on the brown sugar a bit. I liked it just the way it was written. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      This will be my new official beef stew recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      I doubled the recipe, but cut back on the amount of potatoes so it would all fit in my electric pressure cooker. Fantastic!!!!! Hubby was amazed. The sauce/broth came out thick, brown and delicious.
      I used 1 inch thick sirloin tip steaks, tenderized first with a Jaccard Tenderizer, then cut into 1 inch cubes. I left made the veggie pieces bite size instead of a small chop, and they were cooked to perfection.
      Really, the wow of this dish is the many layers of flavor that come out of one pot. Don't skip the balsamic and the tomatoes...it's divine with this, far better than beef stews I have made without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      All I can say is yum! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned great. My husband is a REALLY picky eater and he came back for seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      From: Debbie I followed the recipe as instructed and it turned out perfect and delicious! This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      wonderful--great flavor
      doubled everything glad I did
      everyone wanted seconds

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      I just made this 60 minutes ago. Awesome. The beef was so tender. Very tasty recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      I thought it was very easy to make. I have an electric pressure cooker from qvc and I use the time that my cooker recommends which came out good. first time using balsamic vinegar; it was a unusal taste tangy but good. I also scale the recipe to make leftovers. great and quick comfort food. do you have any other recipes for a electric pressure cooker I greatly apreciated it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Very Tasty, but meat was still tough. Just bought the pressure cooker and it's electric so just press the casserole button, was watery still after 35 mins so pressed the meat button to cook for another 15 mins. Thickened up but meat was still tough. Maybe just me getting used to cooker?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      Terrible. I used only 1/2 the amount of vinegar,thyme and bay leaf. The flavors were so strong and sour. I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I'm going to save the rating until next time I try this since I didn't quite follow the recipe. Doubled the recipe but had no tomatoes so increased the tomato paste to one can and the tomato flavor was a bit too strong though it really turned out pretty good. Don't have dried mustard and meant to include regular mustard but forgot. Used apple cider vinegar (without doubling) instead of balsamic vinegar...not sure what difference that makes. Used quite a bit more carrots. Cooked 25 min. So my only complaint was the strength of the tomato flavor (my fault).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      WOW! I made a double portion of this recipe using deer stew meat last night and my husband and I both LOVED this! You couldn't even tell it was deer meat. I used Red Cooking Wine instead of the Balsamic Vinegar, kept the brown sugar at 1 Tblsp., omitted the Tomato Paste and pressure cooked on high for 25 minutes since I doubled the recipe. We really liked the rich, full flavor. My husband couldn't stop talking about how good it was! I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      My husband and I both liked this stew. I cooked for 15 minutes. The beef was tender and the stew was delicious. Husband liked it on toast. I didn't use the tomato paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Maybe it's just my particular cooker, but I found the beef needed about twice as long as recommended before it was good and tender, consequently the veggies were pretty overdone. Next time I'll cut out the sugar, since I found it to be pretty sweet already from the veg. I'll also omit at least half of the tomato, as I like my stew to taste "brown" and not "red".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Great Recipe! It was the nutritional info that origianlly got my attention--check out the low fat %, high potassium, protein, fiber, vitamins A, C, B, magnesium, and iron contents. WOW! Have made it twice and tried several subtsitutions: red wine vinegar (when I had no balsamic); ommited salt and used low sodium broth (also tried chicken instead of beef--yum!). Last night I made it in the dutch oven and had two extra cups of sumptious "gravy" left over which I might use to top mashed potatoes, stuffed peppers, or a meatloaf. The flavor of this stew is outstanding and the beef is oh-so tender. Thanks MizzNezz for another HEALTHY delicious masterpiece!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

    • on January 31, 2005

      This was very very good. My DH absolutely loved it! I doubled the portion, and had to pressure cook it longer then suggested - about 30 mins. For some reason, my stew burnt - I was able to rescue it though. This was probably due to my technique and the pressure cooker - not the recipe. Overall, very tasty - great balance of flavors. Will definitely make again! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pressure Cooker Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.7
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    36%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 79.3 mg
    26%
    Sodium 582.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes