Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pressure Cooker Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pressure Cooker Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2013

      I am a soup lover, and also a lover of my pressure cooker, but until now have not found a good soup recipe. This is one of the easiest, healthiest and heartiest soups I have had, the whole family loves it. When shopping the ingredients, we could only find quick barley. I was also scared because some past pressure cooker soup experiments have cooked some of the vegetables okay, but others were severely over-cooked. So just for fun, I tried browning the meat, then adding all remaining ingredients and bringing to pressure for 10min (vs bringing to pressure two different times), this was perfection! Everything was cooked perfectly, and the flavor was great. I did increase the water 1/2 c, and also added 1/2lb frozen cut green beans to the mix, then after removing from pressure, I will add 1/3lb frozen peas. Much thanks to the author, we make this a few times a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2003

      this is a great recipe! I made this today to share at work and everybody just loved it. It was so quick and easy to make. I will be making this often. Thanks for a great,quick and easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      Good recipe...my DH loved it! Easy to make especially with the pressure cooker..I only used 1 lb. of lean ground beef and I added a bit more salt and pepper. A great healthy recipe we will definitly make again. Thanks:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      This low star is mostly to balance out all the high marks, since the recipe does need some adjustments. The meat needs to be browned in some oil, otherwise it will stick terribly to your pot. The recipe as it stands is VERY tomatoey, and acidy. The barley was also too chewy on the times given, and the soup was too thick. We ended up diluting it out with a couple cups of bouillon broth, and added some sugar, and it was very good at that point. I would recommend halving the tomato, increasing the liquids with a cup of bouillon, and possibly adding sugar to break up the acid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Very tasty - I used homemade beef stock instead of water, otherwise I followed the directions exactly. When it was done, I added more salt, and it was so thick that I actually added about 1.5 cups of homemade chicken stock that I had in the fridge. It was still more stew than soup :) I added some freshly grated parmesan for a garnish. Note to other Zaarers: Beware of the amount your pressure cooker can hold. I have a Cuisinart 6-qt electric pressure cooker, and this recipe was technically too much volume for it, but I managed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Excellent! I did not have ground beef so I put tiny dice beef and I throw 4 big sliced mushrooms because they were looking at me with a cute face in the fridge so I wasn't able to resist LOL. And I add a cube of beef boullion instead of the salt. It was super good, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      very nice! all the flavors blend well together. i added a bit more salt however. definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Good hearty meal. I used quick barley so i threw everything in at once & cooked for 10 minutes (vs cooking the tomatoes, barley & water first for 10 minutes, opening it up & then adding everything else to cook for another 10). i think next time i'll add some cooked green beans at the end for some color & bite. I also added more salt to the end product. I served it with some yummy biscuits - great winter meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      this is one of the first things that i have made with my pcooker and it turned out very good thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Great Recipe. Easy to make, tastes great and good for you, too. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Very good. For me it was more of the stew than a soup, so I added 2 cups of beef broth to make it soup consistency. I added it after opening pressure cooker and just brought soup to quick boil again. Thanks for a good recipe. I woulod make more than once for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      I love to make Beef/Barley soup in my pressure cooker. It is also a great way to use up leftover roast beef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pressure Cooker Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.9
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    27%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 378.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 24.9 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes