24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tastes good! Doubled the recipe. Usually I have the impression that macaroni and cheese is made with tomato sauce so using white sauce for this is a first. Love the taste but DH just found it ok so I ended up having to eat almost all of this myself for a couple of days. Not that I'm complaining! Thanks for sharing. Made and reviewed for Elections Eats Tag Game.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma November 09, 2008

I have been using this recipe for at least 20 years and swear by it if I am having company and serving mac and cheese. Yes, it has a lot of cheese, that is why it is for special occasions. I often alter the recipe, I substitute skim milk for the whole milk. You can cut back on the cheese, or mix with a lowfat cheese and it still is very good. The key is fresh pasta and the mustard.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazycook54 July 04, 2011

this was the recipe my grandmother used. Yumm .so much better than any other recipe i have tried over the years

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gandafinley May 24, 2009

Very good and Easy to make. I agree with the little bit of extra milk.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KayKayPuff March 08, 2009

Very good! I may add a little more milk the next time to make it moister!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen Evans March 06, 2009

Miss Annie, This is definetly a winner!!! Thank you!! I don't like the usual bread crumbs on most Mac and Cheese recipes, so I like the nice browned cheese on top like this recipe. I also liked the idea that Molly of Africa had in her review of adding sliced tomatoes on top. Thank you!!! Love, Becky

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becky watkins December 03, 2006

We had it tonight--delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe. (Mirj, you obviously have nobody in your family who has/had this terrible disease, or never met anyone who suffers from it, otherwise you would not make such inconsiderate comment. No matter what your party affiliation is, you should have at least compassion for people with Alzheimer's!)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK January 29, 2013

Really yummy! Easy to make and very affordable in this economy! I will make this again and again! Proof that the simpler the recipe, the better the dish!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQ in Fairfax March 04, 2009

This was easy and turned out well. I will definitely prepare again and again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelhigh March 03, 2009

I made this at the request of my husband, who's mom used to make it for him. I found it to be quite good, though a rather basic tasting mac and cheese. At the suggestion of my mother in law, I used evaporated milk in place of regular milk. I also added a little extra milk after reading the reviews - not quite 1 1/4 cup. Also added some grated onions, which I liked and thought helped with flavor though my husband thought it was a little overpowering. All in all, a good staple. A little dry, but I the little extra milk helped too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ldancem January 24, 2013
President Reagan's Favorite Macaroni and Cheese