17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is it!!! my husband has been requesting it for some time now and finally i have it. although the process takes a long time to preserve(not the labor) it is very easy to make. we will have this around the house always and give as gifts this holiday season. thanks mirj!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polly salama February 14, 2002

I crammed 6 lemons (with salt) into a 24 ounce jar; it was completely filled and had no room for extra juice. (Since I had already juiced the other lemons, I made Lemonade instead.) When you cut the hot lemons, be prepared for a gush of steaming hot juice! You might want to work over a bowl so you can catch it. I used the more traditional cut-in-four-without-separating-the-pieces.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon February 21, 2010

This is a 5 star recipe not only based upon appearance and taste, but convenience! The lemon pieces, chopped or whole, are suitable for addition to anything that might benefit by a bit of lemon. I leave the salt on, but reduce the over-all salt content until a taste test. Great on pasta with oil and garlic!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Schneider May 19, 2003

Recently I was the happy recipient of an abundance of home-grown lemons. Having had my fill of lemonaid, I perused recipes for different uses of this citrus fruit. Enamored by the use of perserved lemons, off to the kitchen I went. The appeal of this particular recipe was the first step of blanching. Even the residual lemon water produced aromatics. My 1 pint Mason jar filled to the brim brought much speculation from family members. Finally the day arrived to infuse a new ingredient into a dish. Firstly, I timidly sprinkled the chopped rind over a salad. Uuummm pretty darn good. What next? Slipping these slivers of gold along with garlic under chicken breast, I was hopeful. I, also, tucked the pulp under the chicken anticipating intense lemon flavoring. This one little ingredient produced a most unusual and scrumptious fare. Salty...lemony...and DIVINE!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 17, 2008

I made these a month or so ago, but wanted to make something w/them before I actually posted a review. I finally used them last night - I sauteed spinach w/olive oil, red bell pepper & garlic. I love them and have a feeling I'll come up w/many more ideas to use them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane*in*RI June 10, 2003

Fantastic! I can't compare this to any other recipe for preserved lemons since I've never had or made them before. But if you go by the number of people that I've recommended this to, then surely a 5 star recipe. I like to dip my knife into the juice and spread it on a tortilla with cream cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serndpty November 29, 2012

I made this recipe a couple of months ago & forgot to rate it due to the waiting process. So easy. I quartered the lemons & didn't worry about the seeds. I have used these lemons in a tagine,, also with cheese & olives, a few days ago used them on a rack of lamb instead of lemon juice. If you like a lemony flavour, you will love these! Thanks Mirj for another top recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elkaybee June 29, 2010

I wasn't to sure about this whole process. Then I used it in Moroccan Lemon Chicken With Olives in place of the zest and WOW! What a presence! I can hardly wait to use it again. Thnx for sharing your recipe, Mirj.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 12, 2010

This is so much morepractical then the usual method...........and you wouldn't tell the difference!!! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wild Thyme Flour October 05, 2009

Fantastic recipe. I use this all the time, it's so easy, and always works!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neonprincess June 05, 2009
Preserved Lemons