Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Preserved Basil Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Preserved Basil

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2003

      Brilliant idea!!! Can do the same with Parsely,coridaner or cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Mirjam this is excellent -I didn't grow any basil this year and it galls me to throw out remains unused when I buy it - I will do this with cilantro too. I made it in the ice cube trays but onlu did 1/2 full so I had smaller amounts. I made scrambled eggs used a lump of basil, your sundried tomatoes and a bit of Feta cheese - This was a breakfast in heaven Thanks Mirj for yet another great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      I think your brilliant! I have a garden full of Basil and now I know how to preserve that fresh summer flavor in the cold winter months! Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Wonderful tip, easy to fix and it uses only 2 ingredients that are easily available, i.e., if you grow basil in your garden, like we do. I did this using fresh corriander leaves. I'm thinking of trying mint leaves and parsley next. What a brilliant way to add flavour to soups! Thank you very much for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      As basil turns brown when temperatures fall below 50 degrees. So I blanch mine in boiling water for 5 seconds, then continue chopping and freezing. This way it stays a beautiful bright green while frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Great way to preserve basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This is a BAD IDEA. Storing any low-acid food in oil, frozen or not, runs the risk of developing botulism. Leaves of herbs are less likely to carry botulism spores, but it is still possible. THIS IS A FOOD SAFETY NO-NO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This is such an easy way to preserve the fresh, summer flavor of basil! Like the other reviewers...why haven't I been doing this all along? ;-) Thanks so much for ensuring I never waste fresh basil again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      I was so pleased to come across this recipe! It's the kind which makes you wonder: "Why didn't I think of that??" Well, I didn't. It's summer in South Africa now (Jan 2006), I have "basil for Africa", as we often say of a glut of things, and I've recently found out that my darling husband is not nearly as enchanted by pesto with pasta as I am!! In desperation I typed in "basil" in Zaar's search, and found your gem, Mirj. A gem, because basil is so fragile and impossible to preserve. I've just made 1 batch (will do more) and it filled exactly 12 little round "ice holes". I would advise cooks not to use the shallow ice cube trays, and also, I did press in the leaves when I measured, and it takes a lot of basil leaves to make up 2 cups. (Well, I picked a LOT anyway!) Oh, one more tip: I think one defrosted cube added to a vinaigrette (salad) dressing in deep midwinter will be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Preserved Basil

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.1
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    10%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites