Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pralines Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pralines

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2002

      This is one of my dad's favorites so I had to give it a try. I followed your directions exactly and they turned out beautifully. Very sweet and creamy, not at all grainy. A wonderful crunch from the pecans. Dad says they are as good as his mom used to make. The highest of all compliments. Thank you Nurse Di for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Followed every single direction...but added a tablespoon of JD at the end...I just couldn't help myself. They are perfect. Just stunning. The only thing is that they do set up really quickly, but you can reheat the mix for just a minute and they melt back so you can keep going. Perfect perfect perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Scrumptilicious! I'm from New Orleans so i know a good praline (pronounce prah-lean). Followed the instructions to a tee and they set up perfectly. Using toasted pecans (8 mins in a 350 oven) and a tablespoon of dark rum stirred in really made these slammin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Update from Georgia: This is an excellent praline recipe! I originally served it after letting the candy stand for 4 hours. It had a caramel consistency. After letting the candy stand OVERNIGHT, the pralines were perfect. Be careful not to package the candy until it is totally set.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      These are awesome! As good as you get in the Savannah candy shops! The first batch I made tasted great, but set up too quickly and never really formed patties. The second batch, I started pouring at about 165 degrees, and they came out picture perfect! Glossy, perfectly formed patties that looked like they came from a candy shop! I gave these for Christmas gifts, along with other homemade candy, and they were a big hit. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      These are absolutely fantastic! I must warn all you others members out there that try this recipe, they are truly addicting!! You can't eat just one or two or.....Need I say more! I must admit I was looking for a recipe to coat my pecans (maybe pralines is not what I should be looking under) so I added twice as many pecans. It was going to take to long to drop them all by the spoonful so I just put most of it into a pan lined with wax paper. When set I cut into squares. That worked wonderfully. I'll be making these again and again. But only when I have more people to help me eat them so I don't have to burden of eating them all myself! lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I followed the recipe exactly and they are delicious! They are everything I remember from the short time I lived in the South. It took a bit longer for the candy to thicken during the beating, but that didn't harm them one bit. The only thing I will do different next time will be to toast the pecans ahead of time to allow an even richer flavor. Thanks for a recipe that really works; and the first time at that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      It is one of those recipes I've been making year after year at Christmas time. Absolutely perfect recipe. I follow it to a "t" and it is delicious every time. Finally got around to posting a review :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      I'm rather new to candy making and love Pralines. But they are so pricy at my fave New Orleans style restaurant, I decided to make them at home.<br/>This recipe calls for only a few items, many of which you have at home. I also like that it's only a few steps and not a long time in making.<br/>The first time that I made this, it was too syrupy. The second time I made it with 1/2 cup of liquid whipping cream and 1/2 cup of foam whipping cream. This time it had the right consistency!<br/>I made them larger, but plan to make smaller next time!<br/>They are so rich and yummy! This is a keeper and plan to make often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      Spot on direction resulting in a perfect praline - not too crumbly or chewy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      I just made these. WOW! Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This is an extraordinary recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      These turned out great. I took them to a party and there wasn't one left at the end of the evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Yummy! I used half and half instead of heavy cream, and I'm not disappointed in the least. I found I had to return the pot to the heat a couple of times because the praline mixture firmed up so quickly. I didn't find the pralines took long to firm up - I have granite counters in my kitchen so with wax paper set directly on the cool stone, the pralines were firm and ready within a couple minutes. Excellent recipe, very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

    • on July 10, 2009

      I have never attempted to make any sort of candy in my life, but this recipe was simple and perfect! Everyone raved about how good these were. I made 4-5 batches because of the overwelming request for more! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      I had been having a craving for these and decided to make them right before christmas and they are soo gooooodd. Someone said it tasted like banana nut ice cream? Everyone else said they were great however my pralines were not that hard. I left them out during the day after being in the fridge all night and they got soft. I wish there was something that would make them stay hard all day other than sticking them in the fridge. If anyone has any suggestions on how to keep pralines hard all day let me know please. thank you so much for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Great recipe!!! I made these for the first time and they taste as good as the ones I've had from Savannah. I'm already planning my next batch. Thanks sooooo much for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      We do love our pralines down here in the South. I was going to make a double batch of these b/c so many reviewers said they took a long time to set. SO glad I didn't! My first batch set so fast that I couldn't even get it all out of the pot. The second batch was perfect. I cooled it to 160 instead of 150. I like pralines in a nice pancake shape instead of the mounds anyway. These are tasty and this recipe is a keeper - very easy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      My mom was a lover of pralines. I made this recipe for her for Thanksgiving 2007. Not to be depressing, but she passed away two weeks later (not from the pralines lol.) Anyway, she wasn't into eating much at that time, and she really loved these. I was happy to be able to make them the way she preferred. Your recipe helped make some special moments. Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Candy Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pralines

    Serving Size: 1 (1223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2689.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1309
    48%
    Total Fat 145.5 g
    223%
    Saturated Fat 48.7 g
    243%
    Cholesterol 224.0 mg
    74%
    Sodium 644.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 359.3 g
    119%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 330.8 g
    1323%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes