36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of my dad's favorites so I had to give it a try. I followed your directions exactly and they turned out beautifully. Very sweet and creamy, not at all grainy. A wonderful crunch from the pecans. Dad says they are as good as his mom used to make. The highest of all compliments. Thank you Nurse Di for sharing your recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillian L December 21, 2002

Followed every single direction...but added a tablespoon of JD at the end...I just couldn't help myself. They are perfect. Just stunning. The only thing is that they do set up really quickly, but you can reheat the mix for just a minute and they melt back so you can keep going. Perfect perfect perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSR April 24, 2010

Scrumptilicious! I'm from New Orleans so i know a good praline (pronounce prah-lean). Followed the instructions to a tee and they set up perfectly. Using toasted pecans (8 mins in a 350 oven) and a tablespoon of dark rum stirred in really made these slammin.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuckolate June 15, 2010

Update from Georgia: This is an excellent praline recipe! I originally served it after letting the candy stand for 4 hours. It had a caramel consistency. After letting the candy stand OVERNIGHT, the pralines were perfect. Be careful not to package the candy until it is totally set.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeDollarHoller January 01, 2010

These are awesome! As good as you get in the Savannah candy shops! The first batch I made tasted great, but set up too quickly and never really formed patties. The second batch, I started pouring at about 165 degrees, and they came out picture perfect! Glossy, perfectly formed patties that looked like they came from a candy shop! I gave these for Christmas gifts, along with other homemade candy, and they were a big hit. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingDogz December 20, 2009

These are absolutely fantastic! I must warn all you others members out there that try this recipe, they are truly addicting!! You can't eat just one or two or.....Need I say more! I must admit I was looking for a recipe to coat my pecans (maybe pralines is not what I should be looking under) so I added twice as many pecans. It was going to take to long to drop them all by the spoonful so I just put most of it into a pan lined with wax paper. When set I cut into squares. That worked wonderfully. I'll be making these again and again. But only when I have more people to help me eat them so I don't have to burden of eating them all myself! lol

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sadlbum December 02, 2004

I followed the recipe exactly and they are delicious! They are everything I remember from the short time I lived in the South. It took a bit longer for the candy to thicken during the beating, but that didn't harm them one bit. The only thing I will do different next time will be to toast the pecans ahead of time to allow an even richer flavor. Thanks for a recipe that really works; and the first time at that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks December 13, 2003

It is one of those recipes I've been making year after year at Christmas time. Absolutely perfect recipe. I follow it to a "t" and it is delicious every time. Finally got around to posting a review :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megarachnid November 26, 2014

I'm rather new to candy making and love Pralines. But they are so pricy at my fave New Orleans style restaurant, I decided to make them at home.<br/>This recipe calls for only a few items, many of which you have at home. I also like that it's only a few steps and not a long time in making.<br/>The first time that I made this, it was too syrupy. The second time I made it with 1/2 cup of liquid whipping cream and 1/2 cup of foam whipping cream. This time it had the right consistency!<br/>I made them larger, but plan to make smaller next time!<br/>They are so rich and yummy! This is a keeper and plan to make often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
airlink diva June 04, 2013

Spot on direction resulting in a perfect praline - not too crumbly or chewy. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta December 24, 2011
Pralines