17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh I wish I could give more than 5 stars. This recipe is a real treat. I made this with my Christmas fare and it got fantastic reviews. I did use fresh yams that I par boiled for about 10 minutes before putting in my casserole dish. Everything else I followed as directed and we were quite pleased with the results. Excellent recipe! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher January 04, 2004

Wonderful, delicious...those words don't come close to describing how good this recipe is! Totally making these from now on...and several times throughout the year...not just at Thanksgiving and Christmas. I doubled the recipe, but I think the sauce as it is written would be plenty for 2 cans of yams.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flowers and Pearls December 27, 2010

OMG this is sooooooooooooooooo good. My whole family loved it. Everyone asking for recipe. I addes some cinnamon and brown sugar to yams and sprinkles some red hot cinnamon candies on yams while they were cooking to sweeten yams little more. but with this sauce you dont need to. This is a 5 all the way.......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Forever Love December 13, 2009

The sauce was absolutely amazing, and I baked my own yams, which was fine. However, I would recommend against making it the day before. If you are going to have too much stuff on your stove to make the sauce just before serving I think it would be smart to make a different yam recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen November 27, 2009

Yum! These are sooo tasty! I didn't change a thing! Even my husband who doesn't usually eat yams liked them! He's picky too! =) Thanks for such a great recipe that I can share with friends and family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athorp November 15, 2009

I made this for Thanksgiving dinner 2007 and just realized I hadn't reviewed it yet. My family loved it and it was a nice change from our typical yams. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel April 16, 2008

Made these yams to feed a group of 20 at Thanksgiving. They were so awesome. I am keeping the recipe in my book for next year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadie627 November 26, 2007

I would give this five stars if I had used the salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg, but I feel funny rating something when I haven't completely followed the recipe. I loved the sauce and pecans over the yams - it was just like a recipe my mom used to have but lost. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swanddwarfs November 23, 2007

These are superb! My kids were chowing down on them and asking for more. I kept out the nuts due to family dislikes, but it was awesome! Thanks, Laudee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady October 24, 2007

I'm not really a 'yam fan', but my family is and they loved this recipe. Ty for a great post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mini_1 November 23, 2006
Praline Yams