11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is really, really special! The pumpkin layer is so soft and spicy and the praline filling goes great with it. I loved the flavour combination of nuts and pumpkin with the caramel like praline. YUM! I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup in the praline layer and also to 1/4 cup in the pumpkin layer. That was plenty for our taste. I found this really easy to whip up and thought it looked very festive. It would be great served at a party or festive dinner.
The only thing Im going to change next time is to to not prebake the praline in the crust, because my crust came out very hard due to having been prebaked at such a high temp. Other than that everything worked out very nicely.
Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag October 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 24, 2011

Love this pie, perfect to satisfy my occasional pumpkin craving. Can and have eaten the whole thing by myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo-nana May 06, 2010

Loved it. Very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written and we all enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 07, 2009

This was awesome! The best pumpkin pie I've ever had. My husband loved it. I used Martha Stewart's pie crust recipe Pate Sucre Extra.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kansas City Joan November 29, 2009

Very good! Love the praline bottom and the not overly sweet pie. I increased the recipe by 50%, then realized I didn't need to do that. If you have a big pie dish, yes but the recipe as written is fine for the smaller 9" pie. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I used 1t cinnamon, 1/4t cloves, 1/2 teaspoon allspice and 1t fresh nutmeg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyCRNA November 25, 2009

This is a tasty and easily made recipe'. Everyone loves it. It is actually light in texture and taste. Not too filling after a large dinner. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janie2jim November 17, 2009

darlene loved this thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. April 24, 2009

Really delicious pie! I used Splenda Brown Sugar blend, since I was giving this to my Dad. He just loved it! I will make this pie for him again soon! Very yummy! Made for 1.2.3 Hits

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom March 21, 2009

Made this for a neighbor who needed a somewhat 'traditional' pumpkin pie for family but had never made one before! She got it, minus 1 piece, & so I know for sure it was A VERY TASTY PIE ~ Loved the 'praline' bottom crust! Thanks for a great idea! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 29, 2008

made for turkey day. great pie, I did add more pumpkin since I can my pumpkin in pints. Made for everyday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby November 28, 2008
Praline Pumpkin Custard Pie