Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Powdered Laundry Soap Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Powdered Laundry Soap

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2010

      Used this with cold water in my front loader machine and loved the fresh smell. After some figuring, one batch (about 27 loads of laundry) costs me $1.81, which comes out to 6.7 cents per load. What a savings! Thank you for helping us thru these hard times with this "recipe"! P.S. If you put the Felz Naptha bar soap in the microwave at 30 second intervals for about 2.5 minutes, and then let it cool for 2 or 3 days (to sort of dry out) you don't have to grate the bar, you can crumble it in your hands. Weird, but it works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Outstanding & Smells GREAT! INFO. WHICH OTHERS MAY FIND HELPFUL: Fels Naptha Soap is most commonly found in drug and grocery stores in the laundry section. Trouble locating A&H Washing Soda? Try calling them 800-524-1328. Washing Soda is NOT Baking Soda. Washing Soda is Pure Sodium Carbonate. Which is also found in pool supplies try 'PH UP' or Oxiclean which contains Sodium Carbonate and one other ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This is a great recipe, second time I've used it. This time, I took the advice from "MommaEllen" and microwaved a bar on a microwave safe pie plate for about 1-1/2 minutes, until it looks like a "puffball". I simply let it cool for a few minutes, put it in a gallon sized ziploc baggie, and it does fall and crumble right apart with very little effort. I did 3 batches, and now have enough soap for at least 3 months! Thank You for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I've been using this for probably 8 or 9 months now and I absolutely love it. The clothes are naturally soft and I haven't had a problem with static. I've quit using commercial fabric softener and now use only whie vinegar. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This powdered soap is wonderful. My laundry smells fresh instead of saturated with cheap commercial fragrance. I cannot believe how effective it is; I too use the Fels Naptha as a pretreat on stains. And I especially love not having to lug those huge plastic OVER-PRICED containers of Tide anymore! Thanks so much to all who shared their information/experience.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      Same recipe I have used for years. Was difficult at first to find the washing soda- baking soda does NOT clean the same. Arm & Hammer WASHING SODA- same yellow box as baking soda but the size of a cereal box- can be found in the south (US) in HEB and Kroger grocery stores. Other soap brands that work well are ZOTE- I think it is from Mexico- and Ivory works ok but you need 2 bars instead of 1 since they are smaller. Hope this helps!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I have used this recipe before I saw this here at RecipeZaar. It is really good. Though I think you need to use fels naptha if you want it to be low suds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      Love it! I doubled the washing soda because of our hard water. I used Phels Napa (which I have used for years on stains) and borax. I used to use 1 scoop of Oxy-Clean in every load. I don't anymore. This stuff is great. I tried blending it up a bit, but it made the particles too powdery and airborne. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      What a perfect way to use up home soap mistakes! I've done just that with a batch of soap containing too much lye. Using this soap and white vinegar in place of a fabric softener, our clothes come out sparkling (even with well water). Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Thank you for submitting this great "recipe"! I was unable to find Fels naptha soap so I used a bar of Sunlight pure soap, which has a nice lemony scent. I did not bother adding any essential oils, as it smelled fine the way it was. One bar of the Sunlight soap, grated, is enough for 2 1/2 batches of detergent, so I make it up one bar at a time, so to speak. I have found that this laundry detergent gets my clothes just as clean as the expensive brands and I can make it much more inexpensively.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

    • on March 30, 2009

      This is a great Laundry Soap! My husband plays quite a few sports and this soap leaves his uniforms smelling fresh and not "girlie" Awesome money saver too =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Did laundry today with this and have to say what a great cleaner this is! Cost effective and good for the environment too. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Made this a few times now and I really like it. I prefer this formula to the liquid one, this is much quicker and easier, and the granules always dissolve...which was a huge complaint I had with powered commercial/brand name soaps. I still use fabric softener. The soaps are very cheap in my area (SE Michigan), so this is very economical for us. I also combine all ingredients in my blender and give it a few whirls to make sure it is very fine particles. I store mine in a spaghetti sauce jar and give it a shake before I add it to the washer. I use 2 tbls per load. Thank you for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      I have found this to be really great although a little expensive to make. The only borax I could find was at my chemist and it was $11.50 NZ for100g (1/2cup). I doubled the amount of washing soda as we have hard water. I used "Pure" washing soap, a yellow bar soap made in Australia. Next time I will try "Sunlight" a pure yellow soap made here in NZ. I am now on the lookout for a cheaper source of the Borax . A real keeper for us. :) One thing I do is dissolve as much as possible the mix in hot water before adding to my machine. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Awesome! DH is sensitive to any sort of additives to my laundry routine. I was desparate and tried this recipe. Had to order the soap on line, but found out that WallyMart and our local commissary carried the borax and washing soda. Washed our our dogs bedding in it and they came out so clean and sweet smelling. You are so on to something...thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Thanks so much! I have been looking for a powdered laundry soap recipe, but all I have been able to find until now were the liquid ones. Powder is so much better to make and store in our small apartment. I used this the other day, and am impressed. I all ready had all the ingredients on hand, so it only took a minute to throw together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I haven't finished a load of laundry yet, so I can't rate the effectiveness, but it was easy and I eager to see the results. I used one bar of Zote, and I made 5 batches. It filled up the equivalent of salsa jar and a deep square ziplock storage container. After I grated the soap and added the soda and borax, I used my blender to mix it up to ensure even distribution of the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Have been using this for probably about 6 months now. It has worked wonders for my 4 year old son, he used to have rashes on his legs, ever since I've been washing his clothes in this and using vinegar in the rinsewater his rash has cleared right up. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This is great! I couldn't find Fels naptha, so I used Zote. I also added lavender oil (I made my own instead of buying lavender laundry soap from frenchgeneral.com!). :)Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Powdered Laundry Soap

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    washing soda

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites