16 Reviews

Was very tasty. We put a layer of Tositos on bottom of casserole pan and put mixture on top. Put cheese on top and melted in oven then topped with tomatoes and lettuce. We had extra chips on side for crunch. Yum. Thanks SlipC.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wandke February 13, 2010

This was not a hit with us. The meat mixture is much too sweet, due to the sloppy joe sauce. It loses the "taco" taste I was looking for. We like sloppy joes and we like tacos, but apparently not together. I'm giving this three stars, though, because I'm pretty sure this would be a hit with kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hippie2MARS March 11, 2013

Took this one to our church's small group and had people practically licking the pot. Very good and quick for the last minute meals!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toddler Chef April 25, 2009

I used ground turkey and couldn't find Mexican Chili beans so I used regular chili beans. It turned out awesome and everyone enjoyed it. My two kids (3 and 1) and my hubby. It gave us heartburn but was well worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristie.long February 06, 2009

This was delicious and an easy weeknight meal. Everyone really liked it, including my very picky 6-year old grandson. In our house, this was not 6 servings though, as even with little tiny 2-year old twin portions, there was not enough for 6 of us. Next time I will double the recipe because I am sure the leftovers are great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks September 23, 2008

I actually brought this TO a family pot-luck. I chose this because I had the ingredients and was short on time to get it together. Everyone loved it! I used regular tortilla chips because that's what I had on hand, but I would prefer to use the fritos. Next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lingering_Dream January 25, 2008

This was definitely easy! I ate mine like a taco salad and the boys had theirs with just Fritos and cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers January 08, 2008

Loved it! I used pinto beans.Basically this recipe is stacked like an Indian Taco. The Indian Taco is Fry Bread, and this recipe is Frito Corn Chips. And they serve it at Pow Wows all over. Perhaps this is where the name came from.Sometimes I use tomato sauce with a little brown sugar and some tabasco mixed in when I don't have the sloppy joe sauce. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song August 03, 2007

This was a fun easy dinner. I used the chili cheese Fritos as suggested, which added a nice flavor boost.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue July 14, 2007

My husband liked this quick and easy dish. He gave it a 5 star rating. Made as written. Next time we thought we would add avocados and black olives with the toppings. Thanks SlipC for a delicious quick dish. Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle May 23, 2007
Pow-wow Potluck