Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pow-wow Potluck Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pow-wow Potluck

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2010

      Was very tasty. We put a layer of Tositos on bottom of casserole pan and put mixture on top. Put cheese on top and melted in oven then topped with tomatoes and lettuce. We had extra chips on side for crunch. Yum. Thanks SlipC.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      This was not a hit with us. The meat mixture is much too sweet, due to the sloppy joe sauce. It loses the "taco" taste I was looking for. We like sloppy joes and we like tacos, but apparently not together. I'm giving this three stars, though, because I'm pretty sure this would be a hit with kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Took this one to our church's small group and had people practically licking the pot. Very good and quick for the last minute meals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I used ground turkey and couldn't find Mexican Chili beans so I used regular chili beans. It turned out awesome and everyone enjoyed it. My two kids (3 and 1) and my hubby. It gave us heartburn but was well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      This was delicious and an easy weeknight meal. Everyone really liked it, including my very picky 6-year old grandson. In our house, this was not 6 servings though, as even with little tiny 2-year old twin portions, there was not enough for 6 of us. Next time I will double the recipe because I am sure the leftovers are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I actually brought this TO a family pot-luck. I chose this because I had the ingredients and was short on time to get it together. Everyone loved it! I used regular tortilla chips because that's what I had on hand, but I would prefer to use the fritos. Next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This was definitely easy! I ate mine like a taco salad and the boys had theirs with just Fritos and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      Loved it! I used pinto beans.Basically this recipe is stacked like an Indian Taco. The Indian Taco is Fry Bread, and this recipe is Frito Corn Chips. And they serve it at Pow Wows all over. Perhaps this is where the name came from.Sometimes I use tomato sauce with a little brown sugar and some tabasco mixed in when I don't have the sloppy joe sauce. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      This was a fun easy dinner. I used the chili cheese Fritos as suggested, which added a nice flavor boost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      My husband liked this quick and easy dish. He gave it a 5 star rating. Made as written. Next time we thought we would add avocados and black olives with the toppings. Thanks SlipC for a delicious quick dish. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      My family really enjoyed this tasty meal ~ And I liked that it was very quick and easy-to-make! I fixed a batch of Sloppy Joes #102866 using only 4 ounces of tomato sauce then added a can of "zesty" chili beans to it. We each topped Doritos Black Pepper Jack Chips with the meat mixture then added grated cheese, shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, sliced olives, and sour cream ~ Thanks for a yummy supper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This was great. It is a nice alternative to frito pie with store bought chilli. It was quick and easy. I served mine with corn bread muffins. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Woohoo! We loved this! So quick and easy and tastes great! I used Manwich (which I love lol) and it was perfect. Topped with lettuce, onion, tomatoes, cheese and sour cream... taco on a plate! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      great on a hot summer night! I couldn't find the mexican chili beans,used seasoned small red ones.my kids like it as well.thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      I highly recommend this recipe if you like tacos. The flavor is awesome! My whole family enjoyed it and will be making plenty more times. I did not use tomatoes or sour cream because we don't like them but it was just as delicious without them. Thanks SlipC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      Ok , I had to wait for DH to go out of town to make this (insert embarassed face here). Although this is true comfort food for me , I don't think he would eat it . TOO BAD FOR HIM !!! LOL This is very good ! I made it for myself and now have the leftovers hidden deep in the freezer , waiting for the next time he is out of town ! I think this is a great dish for those nights when you must take the kids to ball or soccer practice . This would also be great sereved for a kids birthday or slumber party too ! I LOVED IT !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pow-wow Potluck

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.1
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    39%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 218.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sloppy joe sandwich sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes