Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poverty Meal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poverty Meal

    Average Rating:

    492 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 492

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2012

      yep pretty much my Mom's goulash...but we always used a full lb of pasta to stretch it even more. Now when i make it though, i use 2 cans of Ro-Tel Tomatos to spice it up and a can of reg stewed toms and ground turkey. i think i will make it tomorrow

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Just made this for my boyfriend and myself for lunch. It was so quick and easy and YUMMY! My boyfriend and I are still in school, so we try our best to make good cheap meals. Thanks for this recipe! We will definitely be putting this into our regular meal rotation!!

      PS, I also added corn for more texture and nutrients. I also used bow-tie pasta instead of elbow pasta since we had that on hand already. I also like a kick in my food, so I added some red chili flakes. Definitely recommend these changes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      This made a really quick meal tonight and everyone liked it. I thought it was a little bland, but the simplicity was hard to beat. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      I love this! I make it as least once every couple weeks. Super easy, cheap, and tasty. Cant beat that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

    • on January 02, 2012

      We grew up with this too, except we called it Goulash here in Michigan. Sometimes we added a can of kidney beans too. Still one of my fave meals, and brings back so many good memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      ha! my mom called this GOULASH! I'm going to try it this week, and thanks so much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

    • on November 30, 2011

      Very good! I increased servings to 8 and didn't have enough tomatoes so I used a can of Rotels and a large can of tomato sauce. Next time I wil use crushed tomatoes because my family does not like large pieces. I gave this 5 stars because my family loved it and it's so simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      I have had this at least once a month for my entire life. We always add a can of Wolf Brand chili and a little chili powder. I usually use the canned diced tomatoes (personal preference). This has always been known as Chili Mac in my family. loveeeeeee it !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      This was really good. I added some shredded cheese a few minutes before serving. Very good :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      My whole family loved it even my 7 yr old.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      great dish love it thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      Thank you, Malriah, for sharing this recipe...it sure brings back good memories, we also had this alot as a child and my children and grandchildren still eats this dish..and we also put in the corn, iam 64 yrs old so this is one that has gone down the generations...yes, everyone can add whatever herbs or cheese to taste, its a time honored dish!!! As a variation, we have used cream of mushroom soup for poor mans strogonoff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      To me this was ok, a little too heavy on the onions. The Parmesan cheese improves it for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      This is good comfort food. Food that I enjoy more as an adult than I did as a child. Easy as can be to prepare. I added the garlic and onions to the ground beef and browned it all together. Only had a can of Italian diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce for the canned tomato ingredient. I will freeze most of the left overs for later. Thanks Malriah, for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      When asked what he wants to eat, my 8 yr old wants "goulash" - this recipe. He loves it! Thanks for a quick and delicious meal that everyone enjoys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I have swimmers and are always in need for a high carb meal- we just get worn out on spaghetti and sauce. This is a terific alternative and doesn't take me all day to cook. I also added a small amount of green pepper to the onions while cooking. Kids begged for the left overs the next day - but there were none- that's a good sign.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      I've been making this for years. When I have about 1/2 a pound of hamburger, I mix it with an onion, green pepper, stalk of chopped celery, clove of garlic. Brown it up, drain, then add a can of beef broth, can of tomatoes, tsp. of worchestershire, about a 1/3 cup of ketchup, salt, pepper, parsley, basil, and oregano. Boil the mac separately, then add. Top with cheddar, parmesan, velveeta, whatever you have. Great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      this is a great recipe since most people have everything needed on hand. I did make a few changes by adding tomato paste and extra garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... 25

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poverty Meal

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.6
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    33%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes