Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poverty Meal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poverty Meal

    Average Rating:

    484 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 484

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2013

      The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. The second time I made it I added some finely grated carrots with the onions and some thawed and well drained spinach near the end of the cooking time. It was even better! You could definitely add whatever suits you.

      This is a healthy and filling dish that even picky eaters will enjoy. It freezes really well. I just toss it in the microwave for a zero-effort meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Really delicious! Needed more salt at the table, but my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      As many people have said, this recipe is very bland and too simple. It's not horrible, but I wouldn't want to eat this on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Very good recipe! My Wife and all my boys loved it! Will certainly make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      My mom made something similar as well when i was younger. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      This is a standard meal around my house..although these days, even hamburger is expensive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      I just finished making this for my children and myself today for dinner. I added Kindney beans to it as well as a half jar of salsa for more added taste. The spoonful I just tried was pretty good. Hope the kids like it when they get home from school and soccer. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      I gave this five stars because when I was growing up, my family loved this -- I'm the one that didn't (more for them, as they'd say). My mom made this too often, but I probably didn't like it because she called it "Slum." I laughed and knew exactly what it was when I saw the name you gave it. Would I have liked it if she'd called it "goulash?" Bet so.

      Another money saver, from my grandmothers Depression files, was Rivel Soup -- we kids called it Riddle Soup. Water, vinegar, bacon, onion, and small rivel dumplings made with flour, egg, and water. I guess my dad had happy memories of that soup, because my mom served it up from time to time as well. My 17-year old daughter thinks it sounds good, so I'll probably oblige her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      An easy, serviceable meal when time is short. I really appreciated the ease in which it all went together and that it took less than an hour from start to finish. I used rotini noodles, but think I will try elbows the next time, as the rotinis got a bit over-done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

    • on August 12, 2012

      My Grandmother would make this for me when I was young. She called it goulash and I used to finish whole batches of it in one sitting. After 15 years of sadness and regret that I never got her to write down the recipe I came across this one. This is the closest I have ever tasted to what she would make. I'm certain she added in some extra grandmother spice, but otherwise this really took me back. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      I made it as written, but changed the stewed tomatoes to petite diced tomatoes - all I had in the pantry. I did add a t. of basil. This was great.. it stretched one pound of hamburger a long, long way. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Good grief this recipe was delicious! I've had this in my cookbook for years and never tried it until one night when I wanted something pretty quick. Having all the ingredients on hand was a bonus, no going to the store. We ate it till it was gone so so GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      I made double on this recipe (it just sounded good) I was amazed at how good it actually really was. I made 2 batches for my freezer. I will thaw and reheat and add a salad. Simple sometimes really is better! (I did add parmesan and mozzarella to the top and salt :) YUM :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2012

      I made this on sunday night. It was very easy to make and I am no chef by anymeans. This meal took less than 45 minutes to make though I added 1 extra clove of garlic. I served the meal with some premade french bread which added some extra nutrients. I also precooked the elbows and added them to the mixture of ground beef. It was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      It's a quick, easy, mediocre meal. I added oregano and tabasco sauce to give it a yummy kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      We made this just like the recipe says, and we loved it. Thanks Malriah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      i made this dish tonight it turned out really good. and my daughter really loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Delicious! I like using diced canned tomatoes, sharp cheddar cheese, and a can of drained corn with this recipe. I often freeze this and give it to working gals to have on hand when they need a quick dinner. Thanks for posting and reminding us of the old-timey economical goulash-type recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      I love this meal!!!! It's easy and it fills you up. It's my daughters favorite meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 25

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poverty Meal

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.6
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    33%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites