510 Reviews

Really good. I put this into our regular rotation, so we have it once a month. I usually add half a can of whole corn, or half a can of peas, although it is great as it is written. We like to sprinkle the top with shredded sharp cheddar before serving. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkapule January 09, 2010

I made this a few months ago when my family came over for a quick meal. I doubled the recipe and everyone got seconds. I liked the sweetness to it, it is a sure winner. You could definitely make this in a crock pot by adding the pasta at the end already precooked or even freezing it for an OMAC! Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane11808 January 06, 2010

I planned this specifically for a night I knew I was going to be rushed to get dinner on the table. Less than 30 minutes from start to finish. If the meat was browned in advance you could have this on the table faster than going through a drive-thru. I followed the recipe exactly, added the suggested kernel corn and the leftovers made for a great lunch. Thank you for an easy and quick recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen December 24, 2009

so tasty, easy and fast. The family loves it... makes great leftovers too!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammaeve December 23, 2009

I have made this 5 times since finding the recipe early this Fall. It's such a hit! Really good and one of those meals that is sooooo good reheated!! :D YUM!!! Good recipe thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Missouri Newby Chef December 19, 2009

A tasty meal for the price. I added a can of kidney beans as another reviewer suggested, and used whole wheat penne instead of macaroni. I added 1 tsp of chili powder and 1 tsp of oregano, but it was still a bit bland, so next time will add more. Also it turned out slightly too watery, so will try using 1.5 cups water instead of 16 oz. Thanks for sharing a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K December 13, 2009

I did have some slight modifications. I like canned tomatoes, but thought for my taste two cans may be too much. So, only one can went in. I also used ground turkey. In addition, my noodles were from mac n cheese, so I went ahead and threw in the the cheese sauce packet. I shredded some sharp cheddar on top. Such great comfort food, yum!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle_sandiego December 09, 2009

A good basic recipe=but very bland. I added garlic powder, parsley flakes, whole kernel corn and sliced black olives. Then it was terrific!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beachsquirrel December 08, 2009

Fantastic meal for just before pay day! You can get away with using less than 1lb of beef - I made earlier with about 3/4lb (quantities of other ingredients unchanged) and it was lovely. Only thing I did differently was, as I made in advance and didn't want the pasta poking out of the top to dry out, I covered the finished dish with a layer of cheese sauce and threw in the freezer. Like other reviewers you could add almost anything to this to bulk it out. My beef was fresh and I froze mine (with the layer of cheese sauce on top) and it was great reheated. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scimietta99 November 14, 2009

Mmmmm! Can't believe I never tried this before - so simple and sooo yummy! I doubled the garlic and added 2 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp cayenne, a few dollops of Worchesthire sauce, a little salt, lots of black pepper, and some fresh chopped parsley which I happened to have. I used 1 can stewed tomatoes, and 1 can diced. Smothered with parmesan. Gave it lots of flavor and just the right amount of heat (IMO). Will DEFINITELY make agian. Thanks a bunch!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpants November 12, 2009
Poverty Meal