Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poverty Meal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poverty Meal

    Average Rating:

    486 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 486

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2014

      I'm not sure what I missed here, especially with all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe to the T except I subbed Italian style tomatoes (which only would have made the dish better, right?) It felt like it was missing something. Maybe it could have used more garlic? My husband decided to add some Franks hot sauce which added some depth. Not sure I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      Great base recipe! I followed the recipe, but with some alterations..<br/>I baked the ground meat after I cooked it with diced tomatoes and onions, with some cheese on top! <br/>Love the dish<br/>-Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I remember eating this at some of my friends houses growing up It's a quick, cheap, and tasty meal that my kids loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      I based cooking this meal on the current reviews and I must say, there are some real "foodies" here. I love to cook elaborate meals and of course my inner self desires to be a world class chef one day, but there is a time and place for this kind of meal. I didn't see this being as outstanding as the others said, but I was WRONG. The flavor of this dish is spectacular with the onions and garlic. I believe the key to this dish is the fact that you "boil" the macaroni in the dish in lieu of a pot of water. What you get in turn is flavor in every morsel of the dish. The macaroni absorbs all the tastes of the ingredients and makes for a quick and easy, yet spectacular dish. This has become a staple in my recipes and tastes so much better than a boxed dish like Hamburger helper. Furthermore, it has mostly fresh ingredients so I'm sure I'm putting less toxins in my mouth than a boxed dinner. The one thing I did on the first cook and now have included it in this dish is "Italian style" stewed tomatoes. I feel the basil, oregano and thyme add even more flavor to this italian based meal. Other than that, I do the recipe exactly as follows and it's incredible! Thanks Malriah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2014

      This is impossibly delicious for how easy it is! Unbelievable!<br/><br/>I added a little basil, some mushrooms and eggplant. I had leftover veggies I wanted to use up and they turned out wonderfully in this. I also melted in some shredded mozzarella and cheddar cheese toward the end (because everything is better with cheese!). So good. I have a feeling I will be making this very often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Made for dinner tonight, added some carrots, but otherwise made as written, very nice and plenty of leftovers for during the week. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      Great base recipe and a standard in our home! I used half ground beef and half ground chicken, some Italian seasoning, soy sauce and a heaping spoon of tomato paste. I used large elbow as that is what my mom always used and served with some Tippins Cornbread 2. Hubby was very pleased with his supper tonight! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Unbelievable. I have been spending so much money on food. Not anymore. This meal reminds me of being a kid.......but sooooo delicious. I will be including this meal in my work lunches from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      Both my wife and I were surprised by how much we enjoyed this recipe. She doesn't like onions so I omitted those. I took the suggestion of others and used beef broth in place of water. I added onion and garlic powder, basil, and oregano. I seasoned the ground beef with our favorite taco seasoning. Everything turned out great. Next time I will add some corn and more macaroni. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      This is good and quick. I also added a can of red kidney beans as another reviewer had suggested. I also added a few drops of hot sauce to spice it up just a bit. Thank you for a quick weeknight dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      OMG we used to eat this a lot as kids! It was one of the meals I always looked forward to. Thanks for the reminder. Perfect fall meal, and nice on the budget.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      We call this the rich man's dinner as a play on sarcasm. We add diced jalapeno's for a kick. For a Gluten Free version, I recommend brown rice penne or rotini just as a personal preference because I don't like GF elbow. I don't know why. <br/>What is so great about cheese and noodles is you can put any kind of protein in it; Ground Beef, chicken, tuna, and even simple veggies, like peas, broccoli, carrots, corn, snap peas...<br/><br/>Defiantly a versatile comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      This recipe is simple and filling, plus you can try different ingredients to make it different every time. I made a Mexican meal by replacing the stewed tomatoes with cans of Rotel, added cumin, extra garlic and chile powder and topped it with some sour cream and queso fresco. you could also add corn and black beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      I made this to freeze in portions for nice easy meals. A lovely simple dish that can be adapted to your families tastes. I stuck to the version here, but used spray oil as I am on a low fat diet, but can think of many things I could add to vary the dish. It did freeze really well and will be made often in my house, I'm going to encourage my daughter who lives on her own and barely cooks to give it a go. Thanks for Posting x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      My mom used to make a very similar recipe except she would sometimes add other leftover veggies or alter the seasonings. That's what is so great about this recipe. I made mine exactly like the recipe except I added more macaroni and some frozen mixed vegetables. Even the resident pasta hater had two helpings. Definitely will remember this the next time I need a quick one-dish meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      Excellent recipe. Just add green peppers and you have American Chop Suey (northeast dish) A classic and economical dish that never disappoints.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      I made this tonight for the first time. It was so delicious! I did as another poster suggested and used tomato juice instead of water. My kids devoured it! Thanks for sharing this recipe,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      As graduate student running low on money for food this week, this recipe was a great find. It is a very easy meal to make and modify on they fly. I ended up using twice the amount of macaroni since it was still really soupy with the recommended amount. This is a great addition and will be making it again since it makes a lot for very little cost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      Thanks for sharing Mairiah! This was very very good, my husband really liked it as well, I loved the big chunks of tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      Flashback to my childhood. My mother was always a little vague when I asked her how to make "goulash", but this recipe has filled in the gaps. Since we're empty-nesters now and - the real reason - because I had only one can of stewed tomatoes, I cut all the quantities in half. Thanks to other reviewers' suggestions, I chopped up the tomatoes with an immersion blender before I added them, used a single-serve can of tomato juice as the cooking liquid, adding enough water to bring the liquid quantity up to the appropriate amount, added a couple of dashes of worcestershire sauce and generous sprinklings of chili powder and Penzey's seasoning mixes (Forward and Pasta Sprinkle). The concoction cooked, lid on, until the penne I used was close to done, then without a lid to let some of the liquid evaporate. I put the "goulash" in a flat casserole dish and covered it with half a bag of shredded cheddar that was languishing in the refrigerator. This is a great basic recipe that permits all kinds of customization, and I appreciate all the reviewers who took the time to make suggestions for seasoning and other additions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poverty Meal

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.6
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    33%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites