Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poverty Meal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poverty Meal

    Average Rating:

    490 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 490

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2014

      We call that goulash

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2014

      I love how simple this recipe was to prepare! However, I must agree with the other reviewers who commented on the blandness. I had to add a lot of salt and some crushed red pepper to make it edible. The good news is that it is a great jumping off point to create your own signature flavor. <br/><br/>Next time I will add some additional spices/herbs, or perhaps try a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce to crank up the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      Its not really a review we had a large family and my mom made this alot only she used velvetta. It was awesome I make it still to this day and its called moms hotdish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2014

      This is poverty food?! We call it beefaroni, and I still beg my mom to make it every time I visit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      Fast easy recipe!!! I would recommend. My boys loved it and we will be doing this one again! I did add about 1 1/2 cups of mozzarella cheese at the end and stirred it in and it tasted GREAT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

      I'm not sure what I missed here, especially with all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe to the T except I subbed Italian style tomatoes (which only would have made the dish better, right?) It felt like it was missing something. Maybe it could have used more garlic? My husband decided to add some Franks hot sauce which added some depth. Not sure I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      Great base recipe! I followed the recipe, but with some alterations..<br/>I baked the ground meat after I cooked it with diced tomatoes and onions, with some cheese on top! <br/>Love the dish<br/>-Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I remember eating this at some of my friends houses growing up It's a quick, cheap, and tasty meal that my kids loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      I based cooking this meal on the current reviews and I must say, there are some real "foodies" here. I love to cook elaborate meals and of course my inner self desires to be a world class chef one day, but there is a time and place for this kind of meal. I didn't see this being as outstanding as the others said, but I was WRONG. The flavor of this dish is spectacular with the onions and garlic. I believe the key to this dish is the fact that you "boil" the macaroni in the dish in lieu of a pot of water. What you get in turn is flavor in every morsel of the dish. The macaroni absorbs all the tastes of the ingredients and makes for a quick and easy, yet spectacular dish. This has become a staple in my recipes and tastes so much better than a boxed dish like Hamburger helper. Furthermore, it has mostly fresh ingredients so I'm sure I'm putting less toxins in my mouth than a boxed dinner. The one thing I did on the first cook and now have included it in this dish is "Italian style" stewed tomatoes. I feel the basil, oregano and thyme add even more flavor to this italian based meal. Other than that, I do the recipe exactly as follows and it's incredible! Thanks Malriah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2014

      This is impossibly delicious for how easy it is! Unbelievable!<br/><br/>I added a little basil, some mushrooms and eggplant. I had leftover veggies I wanted to use up and they turned out wonderfully in this. I also melted in some shredded mozzarella and cheddar cheese toward the end (because everything is better with cheese!). So good. I have a feeling I will be making this very often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Made for dinner tonight, added some carrots, but otherwise made as written, very nice and plenty of leftovers for during the week. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      Great base recipe and a standard in our home! I used half ground beef and half ground chicken, some Italian seasoning, soy sauce and a heaping spoon of tomato paste. I used large elbow as that is what my mom always used and served with some Tippins Cornbread 2. Hubby was very pleased with his supper tonight! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Unbelievable. I have been spending so much money on food. Not anymore. This meal reminds me of being a kid.......but sooooo delicious. I will be including this meal in my work lunches from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      Both my wife and I were surprised by how much we enjoyed this recipe. She doesn't like onions so I omitted those. I took the suggestion of others and used beef broth in place of water. I added onion and garlic powder, basil, and oregano. I seasoned the ground beef with our favorite taco seasoning. Everything turned out great. Next time I will add some corn and more macaroni. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      This is good and quick. I also added a can of red kidney beans as another reviewer had suggested. I also added a few drops of hot sauce to spice it up just a bit. Thank you for a quick weeknight dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      OMG we used to eat this a lot as kids! It was one of the meals I always looked forward to. Thanks for the reminder. Perfect fall meal, and nice on the budget.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      We call this the rich man's dinner as a play on sarcasm. We add diced jalapeno's for a kick. For a Gluten Free version, I recommend brown rice penne or rotini just as a personal preference because I don't like GF elbow. I don't know why. <br/>What is so great about cheese and noodles is you can put any kind of protein in it; Ground Beef, chicken, tuna, and even simple veggies, like peas, broccoli, carrots, corn, snap peas...<br/><br/>Defiantly a versatile comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      This recipe is simple and filling, plus you can try different ingredients to make it different every time. I made a Mexican meal by replacing the stewed tomatoes with cans of Rotel, added cumin, extra garlic and chile powder and topped it with some sour cream and queso fresco. you could also add corn and black beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      I made this to freeze in portions for nice easy meals. A lovely simple dish that can be adapted to your families tastes. I stuck to the version here, but used spray oil as I am on a low fat diet, but can think of many things I could add to vary the dish. It did freeze really well and will be made often in my house, I'm going to encourage my daughter who lives on her own and barely cooks to give it a go. Thanks for Posting x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      My mom used to make a very similar recipe except she would sometimes add other leftover veggies or alter the seasonings. That's what is so great about this recipe. I made mine exactly like the recipe except I added more macaroni and some frozen mixed vegetables. Even the resident pasta hater had two helpings. Definitely will remember this the next time I need a quick one-dish meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poverty Meal

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.6
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    33%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes