Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poverty Meal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poverty Meal

    Average Rating:

    490 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 490

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2010

      As a mom of three picky girls ages 7, 12 and 14, I have to honestly say that I didn't think they would eat this... I put everythign into a freezer bag (except for the noodles) and saved for an oamc meal. Later in the month, I warmed up the bag and added it to a fresh box of pasta (I didn't re-read the directions and added more pasta than I should have) but it turned out fantastic! Not only did my girls and hubby devour it, my daycare kids did too! This will be a regular meal in my home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Really good. I put this into our regular rotation, so we have it once a month. I usually add half a can of whole corn, or half a can of peas, although it is great as it is written. We like to sprinkle the top with shredded sharp cheddar before serving. Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I made this a few months ago when my family came over for a quick meal. I doubled the recipe and everyone got seconds. I liked the sweetness to it, it is a sure winner. You could definitely make this in a crock pot by adding the pasta at the end already precooked or even freezing it for an OMAC! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I planned this specifically for a night I knew I was going to be rushed to get dinner on the table. Less than 30 minutes from start to finish. If the meat was browned in advance you could have this on the table faster than going through a drive-thru. I followed the recipe exactly, added the suggested kernel corn and the leftovers made for a great lunch. Thank you for an easy and quick recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      so tasty, easy and fast. The family loves it... makes great leftovers too!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I have made this 5 times since finding the recipe early this Fall. It's such a hit! Really good and one of those meals that is sooooo good reheated!! :D YUM!!! Good recipe thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      A tasty meal for the price. I added a can of kidney beans as another reviewer suggested, and used whole wheat penne instead of macaroni. I added 1 tsp of chili powder and 1 tsp of oregano, but it was still a bit bland, so next time will add more. Also it turned out slightly too watery, so will try using 1.5 cups water instead of 16 oz. Thanks for sharing a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I did have some slight modifications. I like canned tomatoes, but thought for my taste two cans may be too much. So, only one can went in. I also used ground turkey. In addition, my noodles were from mac n cheese, so I went ahead and threw in the the cheese sauce packet. I shredded some sharp cheddar on top. Such great comfort food, yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      A good basic recipe=but very bland. I added garlic powder, parsley flakes, whole kernel corn and sliced black olives. Then it was terrific!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Fantastic meal for just before pay day! You can get away with using less than 1lb of beef - I made earlier with about 3/4lb (quantities of other ingredients unchanged) and it was lovely. Only thing I did differently was, as I made in advance and didn't want the pasta poking out of the top to dry out, I covered the finished dish with a layer of cheese sauce and threw in the freezer. Like other reviewers you could add almost anything to this to bulk it out. My beef was fresh and I froze mine (with the layer of cheese sauce on top) and it was great reheated. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Mmmmm! Can't believe I never tried this before - so simple and sooo yummy! I doubled the garlic and added 2 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp cayenne, a few dollops of Worchesthire sauce, a little salt, lots of black pepper, and some fresh chopped parsley which I happened to have. I used 1 can stewed tomatoes, and 1 can diced. Smothered with parmesan. Gave it lots of flavor and just the right amount of heat (IMO). Will DEFINITELY make agian. Thanks a bunch!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      This was tasty and easy to make. We used venison burger instead of beef and it was really good...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Very good. Even my picky daughters loved it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      This ended up better than I thought! I added some basil, a little Trader Joe's Puttanesca pasta sauce, and chili powder (and lots of parmesan on each serving) and now I can eat it for entire week! You weren't kidding about it lasting for leftovers!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Exactly how I remember it! However, to bulk it up, I added kidney beans. This increased the protein without added fat. (I doubled the recipe but only used 1 lb of meat) KIDS LOVED IT! Thanks for recovering one of my favorite recipes from my childhood!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Loved the recipe. Added some herbs and parmesan. Next time will add some tomato paste. A tip: We cooked the pasta separately and made the sauce without the water. Then froze the sauce and pasta separately. Super easy to just defrost in the fridge, toss in a baking dish and into the oven until hot. Added some cheese, too. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Good, basic, one-pot recipe for busy weeknight dinners. I must confess that this recipe is just a guide for me as I find it a bit bland the way it is. I add a few more seasonings, usually, french and spanish thyme, and Trinidad seasoning peppers. I also try to include some vegetables like sweet peppers, fresh mushrooms and frozen peas and carrots. Finally I tend to add two tbspoons sugar and first caramelize the beef with the garlic and onions. The recipe says drain the beef after cooking but I keep the juices after caramelization for added flavour. The recipe is unclear about if to keep or toss the water from the stewed tomatoes. I use only one tin of tomatoes and keep the tomato sauce. The sugar from the caramelizing process conteracts the acidity of the sauce from the stewed tomatos which I also add to the pot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      Well the price of ground chuck these days, I wouldn't call it a poverty meal!. We've all made this type of casserole before, though this is the first time I actually did it by following instructions.....The only thing I did different was I used stewed tomatoes with green chilies, didn't find it bland at all! We all enjoyed it Thank You Kari!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      I grew up on this and we also called it goulash :) I also use tomato juice, and add a dash or two of worcestershire sauce. Great comfort food, and cheap! Jiffy cornbread is a cheap, yummy side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      I hate the name, but love the recipe. Thank you for sharing this simple and satisfying recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poverty Meal

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.6
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    33%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes