497 Reviews

WONDERFUL DISH BEST EVER I HAVE SEEN OF IT'S KIND! we made ours basically like listed only we used the crock pot 30 min on high then we added our already cooked noodles to pot let it cook for 30 more mins instead of parmesan we used cheddar cheese lightly dusted with corn starch and we reduced the water since noodles were pre cooked added a beef bullion cube and chili powder topped with black olives! THIS IS A KEEPER U can add so many things to it and it will be a winner every time! APPRECIATE THE POSTING :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the twilight chef May 24, 2013

OMG! We had this same recipe once a week for as long as I lived with my Parents...... We called this Poor Mans Meal!!!!! I made it while my kids were growing up! When they come home one of them always ask me to make this.... I left home when I was 21, I am 60 now and still make this at least once a month!!!!! Go Girl!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB's Pics October 04, 2011

This was just OK for me. I mean it was edible, but I definitely had to add the Parmesan cheese to give it any kind of flavor. More than likely, I would not make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative September 04, 2011

May 07, 2002...Quick, easy and dish meal and best of all everyone liked it. This does make a large amount but no problem it well be gone the next day. Kari thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J July 22, 2011

I thank you for posting this recipe. My family love this one. I did read some of the reviews and followed some of their advice. I felt mine was little bit dry so I added tomato sauce and used beef broth too. Served it with garlic bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crysmatt01 July 07, 2011

Like others have said, this reminds me of my mom's goulash. This is definitely a memory meal. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fantastical Sharing June 03, 2011

Oh yes, I remember this and crave it now and then. I raised my family on it. My grandmother used to can tomatoes and give me 2 cases of them every summer, which lasted me thru the year. I always added a little Worcestershire sauce and used grated Romano cheese rather than the Parmesan. Gave a little different taste which I loved.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dayle May 21, 2011

This was great! I made it as directed except I added an extra clove of garlic, and I didn't have macaroni noodles, so I used rotini noodles. It worked just fine! Also I was not sure whether to drain the tomatoes or not, so I didn't, and the tomato juice added some nice flavor! Next time I think I will add some corn and maybe even some chickpeas for an extra little bit of nutrition. Thanks for the great recipe! UPDATE: I have made this quite a few times and it is always so good. I made it tonight and for a change I threw in some velveeta (I know it is gross, but it was in my refrigerator and I wanted it out but hated throwing it away). It tasted really good, like a homemade Hamburger Helper of sorts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vyxie's Kitchen March 10, 2011

Followed the recipe except we used left over mozzarella and cheddar cheese instead of the parm, I threw in a can of sliced mushrooms when I was cooking the onion and then added basil, thyme and parsley to the whole works. My two year old LOVED it. I like it because its filling and goes a long way. I think next time I will double up on the stewed tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duck_jb January 10, 2011

AMAZING. I made this with GROUND TURKEY breast and added some beef bullion during the browning to create a strong beef flavor. My family never had a clue! At the suggestion of other reviewers, I increased the garlic (can't have too much) and added 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, and used all the juice from the tomatoes. The flavor was amazing. Everyone in the family said this recipe is a "major" "Do-Over" for sure! That's equivalent to 10 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenMistress September 26, 2010
Poverty Meal