Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poverty Meal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poverty Meal

    Average Rating:

    490 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 490

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2010

      I read through this recipe and realized I had a similar one I hadn't made in about 8 years. I dug it out. The only difference was that mine adds beef bullion and cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. I love it. My husband was bummed when I ate the leftovers and asked me to make this again. Thanks for posting. I give it five stars for the ease and time it took to make a pasta meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      i don't even have to make this to know it's good, because my family also used to make this a lot when i was younger. as i got older they made it less, but i remember it and it's so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I made this last night and it is a cheap meal and delicious. I cut the recipe in half and used diced tomatoes with chilies and 2 Tbls. of tomatoe paste. I did add some frozen corn and velveta cheese instead of cheddar to make it more creamy. I also added Mrs. Dash garlic/herb seasoning, some basil and a little oregano...turned out great. Thank you for a wonderful recipe that anyone can make as is or add to and turn out delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      This was good but could use a lot more seasoning. If you want to choose some spices to add, I would try this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Very easy, cheap and tasty! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Liked this very much. Used coarse ground hamburger and italian stewed tomatoes. I might double the tomatoes or add corn/green beans, just for variety. Thanks for posting a delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      This is such gr8 confort food, my husband loved it.. I did not have stewed tomatoes so I used petite diced tomatoes and I also used ground deer instead. Thanks for posting such a fabuoous recipe... So simple yet so good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      My family enjoyed this meal a lot. I used spaghetti instead of macaroni. Very good recipe I will use it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Very good basic recipe. I used gr. turkey and whole wheat pasta, and added additional spices. Very pleased with this, as it opens up many possibilities to serve it often yet switch it up a bit each time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I think my mom made this for us growing up but called it goulash? It's a fairly easy meal to make but I didn't like that I had to be stirring constantly for 20 minutes so the macaroni wouldn't stick to the bottom of the pan. In my opinion, spaghetti is just as cheap, contains the same basic nutrients and is slightly easier to make so I'll probably stick to that in the future. It was fun to try a new recipe though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Love a recipe that uses everything I've already got in the pantry. This was tasty too, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      This is an excellent budget meal that I have been making off and on for years. The only difference is that I will dice up left over vegetables such as carrots, bell peppers, zucchini or celery and will even cut corn off a cob to toss in. It is a great way to use up a few left overs in the fridge and make a tasty dish that goes a long way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This was quick and easy and tasted very good, especially the left overs the next day. I didn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Quick and easy meal, and is a hit with kids. Here is how I tweaked to suit our tastes and make a bit more savory: I added onion powder, garlic powder, a sliced red pepper and about a cup of my homemade tomato sauce, since the dish seemed a little dry w/o it. I left out the Parmesan cheese. For next time, I will boil the macaroni separately to better maintain an al dente consistency. Thanks for this quick and inexpensive dinner idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      My family really enjoyed this. I did put a little ground red pepper and a little bit of real bacon bits in it that I had in the fridge. I also put some shredded cheddar cheese on top along with the parmesan. My one year old cleaned his plate!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This was a great easy meal. My dad always made this when I was a child and he called it Goulash. It was never as good as this one, though. All of my children liked this and some had seconds; which is always a success in my books when that happens. They don't like tomatoes so I always try to use petite diced or crushed so they won't see the chunks. I did not do that this time. I used the stewed tomatoes and not one kid complained! I used 16 oz. of macaroni and an extra can of water. I used about 1/4 c. parmesan cheese and mixed that in with everything (a litte before and a little after the noodles were tender). I then added a little cheddar cheese to the top and let that melt before dishing out. I made a loaf of garlic bread and a nice salad to even out the meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      This is a good busy day recipe. I made it just as the recipe indicates but would add another clove or two of garlic and herbs, perhaps an Italian blend. Also, this recipe says it serves four but it makes at least eight servings so plan to serve the leftovers another day and/or freeze some of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This is one my husband's favorite meals. I make as directed and top with cheddar cheese!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      take the poverty out of it..... great one pan meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      We ate something similar as kids - instead of the stewed tomatoes, we'd add condensed tomato soup. We called it SLOP. To the leftovers, we'd add stewed tomatoes and then it was "Goulosh!" Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poverty Meal

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.6
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    33%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes