497 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i think its great, and i also think that peoples little additions are helpful, personally its nice to have creativity with a simple recipe. its a great idea and a great canvass for a great meal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janngregory2005 October 15, 2009

I absolutely LOVED this!!! It also reminds me of a meal we had growing up. It's full of flavor, easy, and fast! I didn't have stewed tomatoes on hand, so I used diced tomatoes and actually chopped them up a little smaller. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthCarolinaMom October 14, 2009

My daughter loved this and wanted it 2 nights in a row! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mazirenez October 14, 2009

If you're going to rate a recipe, prepare it as written and rate it based on that. Once you make your changes, no matter how small, it's no longer the original recipe and very unfair to rate it as such. Go ahead and make it your way, but don't leave a rating. Okay...I had to say that, not about this particular recipe, but based on several other ratings I've read on other recipes. Anyway, this wonderfully simple dish is what we used to call 'goulash', but whatever you call it, it's a great, easy, inexpensive comfort food that you'll want to serve often. My 12-year-old grandson made this for our dinner and had no problems with directions. All of the ingredients were in my pantry and freezer, so no running to the store, especially nice since we're 10 miles away, living in a rural area. The only problem we found was that it didn't make enough!! The recipe will be doubled the next time, for sure! Any leftovers, if any, will definitely be great for lunch! Thanks, Malriah, for warming my memories of seeing Mom at the stove making this family favorite! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ziggy54 October 14, 2009

This was a great meal! The family loved it!! I omitted the tomatoes and used two small cans of tomato sauce instead. I still added a can of water, but used double the macaroni. I also added a can of chili beans undrained. We like spice in our house.. so I threw in some white pepper, celery salt, and ground red pepper for some kick!! Delicious! This will be made again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeinPink October 12, 2009

Received this recipe in an email....tried it for Saturday lunch after little leage and it worked. We're a busy family of five, I served it with garlic bread and salad in Southern CA outside in the afternoon was nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lenita5 October 12, 2009

This was a similiar meal my mother had made also. She had always used egg noodles in it. I added canned corn, because it just wasn't right to me without it. Mom always added corn. Talk about a meal that can stretch to feed many. And we never thought of it as a "money-saving" dish when we were growing up. Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin October 11, 2009

I use to eat this too as a kid, but my Mom added a heaping spoonful of Sour Cream to the mixture once it was done. I am making it for dinner, and I plan to add a little sour cream for old times sake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
januslee October 11, 2009

My mom made this all the time! I looked at the chef's name to see if we were related :) I add small diced bell pepper just as the meat is browning also use a good name brand ground turkey..1/2 pound regular and 1/2 pound Italian seasoned. You can add red sauce , about a cup for a little extra taste. If your family likes white pepper a few shakes makes it even better. Don't let the simpleness of this fool you it is yummy and teenagers love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheftesss October 11, 2009

We had this all the time when I was a kid, and I still find myself craving it once in awhile now. We used to add 1 cup of shredded cheddar, and some sliced green olives. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjwc77 October 10, 2009
Poverty Meal