494 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you're going to rate a recipe, prepare it as written and rate it based on that. Once you make your changes, no matter how small, it's no longer the original recipe and very unfair to rate it as such. Go ahead and make it your way, but don't leave a rating. Okay...I had to say that, not about this particular recipe, but based on several other ratings I've read on other recipes. Anyway, this wonderfully simple dish is what we used to call 'goulash', but whatever you call it, it's a great, easy, inexpensive comfort food that you'll want to serve often. My 12-year-old grandson made this for our dinner and had no problems with directions. All of the ingredients were in my pantry and freezer, so no running to the store, especially nice since we're 10 miles away, living in a rural area. The only problem we found was that it didn't make enough!! The recipe will be doubled the next time, for sure! Any leftovers, if any, will definitely be great for lunch! Thanks, Malriah, for warming my memories of seeing Mom at the stove making this family favorite! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ziggy54 October 14, 2009

This was a great meal! The family loved it!! I omitted the tomatoes and used two small cans of tomato sauce instead. I still added a can of water, but used double the macaroni. I also added a can of chili beans undrained. We like spice in our house.. so I threw in some white pepper, celery salt, and ground red pepper for some kick!! Delicious! This will be made again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeinPink October 12, 2009

Received this recipe in an email....tried it for Saturday lunch after little leage and it worked. We're a busy family of five, I served it with garlic bread and salad in Southern CA outside in the afternoon was nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lenita5 October 12, 2009

This was a similiar meal my mother had made also. She had always used egg noodles in it. I added canned corn, because it just wasn't right to me without it. Mom always added corn. Talk about a meal that can stretch to feed many. And we never thought of it as a "money-saving" dish when we were growing up. Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin October 11, 2009

I use to eat this too as a kid, but my Mom added a heaping spoonful of Sour Cream to the mixture once it was done. I am making it for dinner, and I plan to add a little sour cream for old times sake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
januslee October 11, 2009

My mom made this all the time! I looked at the chef's name to see if we were related :) I add small diced bell pepper just as the meat is browning also use a good name brand ground turkey..1/2 pound regular and 1/2 pound Italian seasoned. You can add red sauce , about a cup for a little extra taste. If your family likes white pepper a few shakes makes it even better. Don't let the simpleness of this fool you it is yummy and teenagers love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheftesss October 11, 2009

We had this all the time when I was a kid, and I still find myself craving it once in awhile now. We used to add 1 cup of shredded cheddar, and some sliced green olives. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjwc77 October 10, 2009

My mom used to make this all the time but she called it "company beef casserole". If you want to make it into a casserole it takes just a few small changes: While you are browning the meat boil the pasta separately according to the box. Drain one can of tomatoes before adding it and mix ingredients together. Add 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the mix and place in an 8x10 cake pan. Sprinkle the top with some more cheddar and cover with foil. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes until the sides get bubbly and serve. Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celtic cornbread October 09, 2009

I haven't made this recipe yet, but it sounds like what we grew up on. Probably about once a week too, but I loved it! Who knew it was inexpensive then?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luke's mom October 09, 2009

Made this for my once-a-week cooking foray. I'm veg, so made for my husband. Used penne pasta instead of macaroni. Husband said this was great, he even had an extra helping! Thanks Malriah.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaatarbella October 09, 2009
Poverty Meal