Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poverty Meal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poverty Meal

    Average Rating:

    490 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 490

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2011

      Too funny! I got this recipe from "Coed" magazine when I was in 7th grade home economics in Wash. DC. It became my specialty. I made it often growing up and my 4 kids were raised on it. I am now 60. We eat this recipe at least twice monthly because one of them always asks for it. The only difference is my recipe called for a can of corn niblets and 1 tbs of worcestershire sauce. I've even passed it on to new brides in my shower gift of quick and easy recipes for the newlywed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      This is exactly what I had growing up too! and now again that times are tough, we're having it tonight in my household. Thanks for posting! I was thinking of a budget friendly dinner and had totally forgot about this childhood dish! -- Dannwn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This is basically my mother's goulash! It's a very wonderful dish that I've never complained about making, eating, or serving to company! This is a recipe everyone has to make once! Great Job!
      And THIS recipe itself is the BEST I've tried! Even better than the Paula Deen version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      I think this is one of the first things I learned to cook "all by myself" when I was growing up. The only difference is I always add a chopped green or red pepper to it. My grandma taught me how to cook and never used measurements so I never knew how much macaroni to add to make a smaller batch. It is always better the second day though so that is not a big problem. LOL! I do prefer diced tomatoes and have used a can of V8 instead of water if I had one.

      You can really stretch the serving by just adding more macaroni too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      If my entire childhood be condensed, this would be what it tastes like. I added some cilantro and several other spices and it was fabulous! This really does go perfectly with some garlic bread and a dark green salad. Will be making this meal many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      It's nice, quick, easy, and we always have the ingredients on hand. Except I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. But this turned out good. I will keep it as one of those "oh boy, I forgot to figure out what we're having for dinner" night plans. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      My mom used to make this too, back in the 1960s. She added canned corn, and we called it goulash. (It was years before I found out it isn't true goulash.) I use broth instead of water, and I usually need to double the recipe because I just can't quit filling my bowl! This is great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      We loved this!! Changed it up a bit; used ground italian sausage instead of beef, added extra canned diced tomatoes, used whole wheat macaroni, and added paprika and two dried red chili peppers. It was so good, so cheap, and so easy and quick to make! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This dish is so good!! Very economical, easy, and tastey! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      This is very popu;ar in our house and I cook it often. A great staple meal.Quick,easy and tasty my three faverite things. Bella

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      WONDERFUL DISH BEST EVER I HAVE SEEN OF IT'S KIND! we made ours basically like listed only we used the crock pot 30 min on high then we added our already cooked noodles to pot let it cook for 30 more mins instead of parmesan we used cheddar cheese lightly dusted with corn starch and we reduced the water since noodles were pre cooked added a beef bullion cube and chili powder topped with black olives! THIS IS A KEEPER U can add so many things to it and it will be a winner every time! APPRECIATE THE POSTING :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      OMG! We had this same recipe once a week for as long as I lived with my Parents...... We called this Poor Mans Meal!!!!! I made it while my kids were growing up! When they come home one of them always ask me to make this.... I left home when I was 21, I am 60 now and still make this at least once a month!!!!! Go Girl!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      This was just OK for me. I mean it was edible, but I definitely had to add the Parmesan cheese to give it any kind of flavor. More than likely, I would not make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      May 07, 2002...Quick, easy and dish meal and best of all everyone liked it. This does make a large amount but no problem it well be gone the next day. Kari thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      I thank you for posting this recipe. My family love this one. I did read some of the reviews and followed some of their advice. I felt mine was little bit dry so I added tomato sauce and used beef broth too. Served it with garlic bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Like others have said, this reminds me of my mom's goulash. This is definitely a memory meal. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      Oh yes, I remember this and crave it now and then. I raised my family on it. My grandmother used to can tomatoes and give me 2 cases of them every summer, which lasted me thru the year. I always added a little Worcestershire sauce and used grated Romano cheese rather than the Parmesan. Gave a little different taste which I loved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      This was great! I made it as directed except I added an extra clove of garlic, and I didn't have macaroni noodles, so I used rotini noodles. It worked just fine! Also I was not sure whether to drain the tomatoes or not, so I didn't, and the tomato juice added some nice flavor! Next time I think I will add some corn and maybe even some chickpeas for an extra little bit of nutrition. Thanks for the great recipe! UPDATE: I have made this quite a few times and it is always so good. I made it tonight and for a change I threw in some velveeta (I know it is gross, but it was in my refrigerator and I wanted it out but hated throwing it away). It tasted really good, like a homemade Hamburger Helper of sorts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Followed the recipe except we used left over mozzarella and cheddar cheese instead of the parm, I threw in a can of sliced mushrooms when I was cooking the onion and then added basil, thyme and parsley to the whole works. My two year old LOVED it. I like it because its filling and goes a long way. I think next time I will double up on the stewed tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      AMAZING. I made this with GROUND TURKEY breast and added some beef bullion during the browning to create a strong beef flavor. My family never had a clue! At the suggestion of other reviewers, I increased the garlic (can't have too much) and added 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, and used all the juice from the tomatoes. The flavor was amazing. Everyone in the family said this recipe is a "major" "Do-Over" for sure! That's equivalent to 10 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poverty Meal

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.6
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    33%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites