510 Reviews

What more can I add? Wonderful recipe. Cheap, fast, easy, and the kids love it! I added a little chili seasoning and a can of beans. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 May 02, 2003

This is a great base recipe. Without adjusting the recipe at all, it was very bland and not very good. I added a can of corn, basil, oregano, cumin, cayenne, and two jalapenos. This made for a pretty spicy Mexican variety which had great flavor.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schooter September 14, 2011

Sounds like goulash that I've been making for years, and my mom before me. I like the taste better if macaroni is cooked and then added. You can change up the spices to please you.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fritter April 29, 2011

This is similar to an Egyptian dish known as koushary, but koushary has lentils and rice instead of beef. Comfort food!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mystere2e July 26, 2010

To add more flavor, I added onion and garlic powder as well as Mild Taco Seasoning & diced jalapenos, and used Mexican-style stewed tomatoes. Both my way and the original recipe make for good, reliable comfort food. Will be saving this and working it into my regular rotation. Update: I made this again, this time using 1 can of regular stewed tomatoes and beef broth instead of water. I also added corn and chili sauce: this really is a great base recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia June 14, 2010

Delicious!!! Instead of Ground Beef, I used up some keilbasa that I had left over. Only had one can of stewed tomatoes, and one can of diced tomatoes with chiles. Corn and/or beans would also compliment this dish well.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJ White August 23, 2003

This I will be making again! I did make some modifications to better suit this households tastes. I omitted the garlic, but not to lose out on flavor, I added some mexican seasonings. As well, we don't eat beef so I ground up some pork in place of it. I enjoyed this dish alot! Thanks Kari in Denver for posting this easy & quick recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day August 11, 2003

I thought this recipe was really good. It reminded me of the goulash my friends mom used to make all the time. I always loved it. I accidentally got the wrong tomatoes (I got diced) But I got the Italian style. I also added fresh basil, and some fennel seed and a ton more garlic b/c I love it.
I really liked it with the Italian diced tomatoes so when I make it again I will stick with that. Great recipe for a quick meal. Will work great on those baseball nights when I need to feed the kids something good hearty and fast.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MellisaM83 May 23, 2011

Followed the recipe except we used left over mozzarella and cheddar cheese instead of the parm, I threw in a can of sliced mushrooms when I was cooking the onion and then added basil, thyme and parsley to the whole works. My two year old LOVED it. I like it because its filling and goes a long way. I think next time I will double up on the stewed tomatoes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duck_jb January 10, 2011

AMAZING. I made this with GROUND TURKEY breast and added some beef bullion during the browning to create a strong beef flavor. My family never had a clue! At the suggestion of other reviewers, I increased the garlic (can't have too much) and added 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, and used all the juice from the tomatoes. The flavor was amazing. Everyone in the family said this recipe is a "major" "Do-Over" for sure! That's equivalent to 10 stars!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenMistress September 26, 2010
Poverty Meal