494 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great base recipe! I followed the recipe, but with some alterations..<br/>I baked the ground meat after I cooked it with diced tomatoes and onions, with some cheese on top! <br/>Love the dish<br/>-Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calvin p. April 20, 2014

I remember eating this at some of my friends houses growing up It's a quick, cheap, and tasty meal that my kids loved!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bread 'n Butter April 13, 2014

I based cooking this meal on the current reviews and I must say, there are some real "foodies" here. I love to cook elaborate meals and of course my inner self desires to be a world class chef one day, but there is a time and place for this kind of meal. I didn't see this being as outstanding as the others said, but I was WRONG. The flavor of this dish is spectacular with the onions and garlic. I believe the key to this dish is the fact that you "boil" the macaroni in the dish in lieu of a pot of water. What you get in turn is flavor in every morsel of the dish. The macaroni absorbs all the tastes of the ingredients and makes for a quick and easy, yet spectacular dish. This has become a staple in my recipes and tastes so much better than a boxed dish like Hamburger helper. Furthermore, it has mostly fresh ingredients so I'm sure I'm putting less toxins in my mouth than a boxed dinner. The one thing I did on the first cook and now have included it in this dish is "Italian style" stewed tomatoes. I feel the basil, oregano and thyme add even more flavor to this italian based meal. Other than that, I do the recipe exactly as follows and it's incredible! Thanks Malriah!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeremylampley April 10, 2014

This is impossibly delicious for how easy it is! Unbelievable!<br/><br/>I added a little basil, some mushrooms and eggplant. I had leftover veggies I wanted to use up and they turned out wonderfully in this. I also melted in some shredded mozzarella and cheddar cheese toward the end (because everything is better with cheese!). So good. I have a feeling I will be making this very often :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ritaculous April 04, 2014

Made for dinner tonight, added some carrots, but otherwise made as written, very nice and plenty of leftovers for during the week. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne April 02, 2014

Great base recipe and a standard in our home! I used half ground beef and half ground chicken, some Italian seasoning, soy sauce and a heaping spoon of tomato paste. I used large elbow as that is what my mom always used and served with some Tippins Cornbread 2. Hubby was very pleased with his supper tonight! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ March 22, 2014

Unbelievable. I have been spending so much money on food. Not anymore. This meal reminds me of being a kid.......but sooooo delicious. I will be including this meal in my work lunches from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
santoevin December 12, 2013

Both my wife and I were surprised by how much we enjoyed this recipe. She doesn't like onions so I omitted those. I took the suggestion of others and used beef broth in place of water. I added onion and garlic powder, basil, and oregano. I seasoned the ground beef with our favorite taco seasoning. Everything turned out great. Next time I will add some corn and more macaroni. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunkiss94 October 30, 2013

This is good and quick. I also added a can of red kidney beans as another reviewer had suggested. I also added a few drops of hot sauce to spice it up just a bit. Thank you for a quick weeknight dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenzyGirl October 15, 2013

OMG we used to eat this a lot as kids! It was one of the meals I always looked forward to. Thanks for the reminder. Perfect fall meal, and nice on the budget.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
it'scolleen October 14, 2013
Poverty Meal