Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poverty Meal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poverty Meal

    Average Rating:

    490 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 490

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2002

      Whether you are in no money times, or not, this is a SUPER MEAL TO HAVE! My hubby was so excited to try it, and I have to admit while cooking I ate a little here and there! LOL I did use ground turkey and put in an extra clove of garlic and 1 tsp basil. It was so good. I thank you for this wonderful meal that will come in good use at our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      hi Kari, This recipe reminds me of some of the wonderful concoctions we put together as kids,there were 10 of us kids so we lived very frugal,the only change I made was to add a can of kidney beans,it was delicious!!! Thanks for reminding me of my childhood. Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      I've been making a one dish meal similar to this for years. It too, was my mom's go to supper for us girls when we were children. We called it goulash, but whatever you call it, it makes a wonderful meal. I made this exactly as written with the exception of using regular cheap tomato juice in place of the water, I've found that this one addition makes a big difference in the flavor. Which means DH doesn't feel compelled to pour ketchup all over his, (that used to irritate me). This is also an easy recipe to dress up any way you want, ie. italian seasonings, mushrooms, peppers, hot pepper flakes etc. This is really good, and leftovers are better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Yummy and filling. I used Morningstar Meal Starter Crumbles to make it vegetarian and topped it with shredded mozzarella .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2003

      We really enjoyed this recipe! I browned the ground beef with the onion and added more garlic and quite a bit of salt and pepper. Simple and homestyle goodness in one pan. I served this with crusty rolls and a tossed salad and there wasn't a bit left! Nice on the budget, great comfort food. Thanks, Kari!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Fabulous!!!!! Cheap, tasty, and reminds me of childhood :) Used 4 garlic cloves, a 10oz can of beef broth and 6oz of water instead of the 16oz of water, and some Italian seasoning. It was so tasty I forgot to put the cheese on before I shoveled it down!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      this is really yummy! i used 'campanelle' pasta, rather than elbows. since i live alone, i make a big batch and then transfer it into tupperware, putting some in the refrigerator and/or freezer for lunches at work. it freezes and refrigerates well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Super recipe! I'm a beginner cook who has only been owning a real kitchen for about 3 weeks and this recipe made me look like a pro. My husband asked for seconds, which has never happened before :-)

      One thing about the recipe: nobody warns me that this won't fit even in a big frying pan. I had to transfer the entire content into my sauce pan after I realize that the content was quickly overflowing. And there's no heat setting instruction so I was left turning my burner back and forth from medium high to high.

      Still, it turned out fabulously. I guess I will learn with experience. Thank you so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2003

      Quick and easy to make and tasty too. i had a craving for corn so I added a can of kernels and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      Sounds like goulash that I've been making for years, and my mom before me. I like the taste better if macaroni is cooked and then added. You can change up the spices to please you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This is similar to an Egyptian dish known as koushary, but koushary has lentils and rice instead of beef. Comfort food!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      To add more flavor, I added onion and garlic powder as well as Mild Taco Seasoning & diced jalapenos, and used Mexican-style stewed tomatoes. Both my way and the original recipe make for good, reliable comfort food. Will be saving this and working it into my regular rotation. Update: I made this again, this time using 1 can of regular stewed tomatoes and beef broth instead of water. I also added corn and chili sauce: this really is a great base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      Delicious!!! Instead of Ground Beef, I used up some keilbasa that I had left over. Only had one can of stewed tomatoes, and one can of diced tomatoes with chiles. Corn and/or beans would also compliment this dish well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      This I will be making again! I did make some modifications to better suit this households tastes. I omitted the garlic, but not to lose out on flavor, I added some mexican seasonings. As well, we don't eat beef so I ground up some pork in place of it. I enjoyed this dish alot! Thanks Kari in Denver for posting this easy & quick recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      What more can I add? Wonderful recipe. Cheap, fast, easy, and the kids love it! I added a little chili seasoning and a can of beans. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      This is a great base recipe. Without adjusting the recipe at all, it was very bland and not very good. I added a can of corn, basil, oregano, cumin, cayenne, and two jalapenos. This made for a pretty spicy Mexican variety which had great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      I thought this recipe was really good. It reminded me of the goulash my friends mom used to make all the time. I always loved it. I accidentally got the wrong tomatoes (I got diced) But I got the Italian style. I also added fresh basil, and some fennel seed and a ton more garlic b/c I love it.
      I really liked it with the Italian diced tomatoes so when I make it again I will stick with that. Great recipe for a quick meal. Will work great on those baseball nights when I need to feed the kids something good hearty and fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      Simple, easy, and healthy! I use ground turkey for less fat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Great recipe!!!! I have made this 3 times now. It has already become a regular on the menu. Even my 2 year old ate it and wanted more. The one change I did make is use rottelli pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2003

      YUMMY, and super easy! I have given it to two of my friends already! I made it to freeze, but it didnt last that long...My fiance loved it. Thanks for sharing! Will DEFINATELY make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poverty Meal

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.6
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    33%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites