Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poutine Rapee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poutine Rapee

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2009

      Merci, Merci, Merci!!! I used to help my Memere make these and thought the recipe was lost along with her when she passed. We used to mix half salt pork and half chopped ham. We also tied each one in cheese cloth prior to boiling instead of rolling them in flour. I can't wait to try this recipe for Easter. They do take time to make but are so well worth it. Canadian Soul Food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      I have not tried to make this on my own yet but I know it is pretty much the exact recipe my grandmother used except she added chopped onion to the slated pork mixture....or she added more potatoes depending on how many she wanted to make. Brings back so many memories. She always used to say you have to name each poutine as you put it in the pot so that it won't fall apart, lol. Montana Heart song - as for your to salty comment you have to soak the pork over night so it is not to salty....to use any other kind of meat is just wrong to me!!! It wouldn't be a real poutine rapee!! but to each their own I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      I had eaten this dish once before at friend's house as a kid and I wondered what was in ever since. I added onions and crushed red pepper flakes to it and they were amazing. I did have one fall apart on me in the water but I think that may have been because it wasn't sealed properly. However, I do wish the recipe was more specific on what TYPE of potato can be used. I used Yukon Golds and like I said, it was good just one fell apart and I couldn't keep the water at a rolling boil if I wanted to keep the others from doing the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2014

      I grew up with these and Poutine is recipe you discribed...love them...Rapee is a different dish...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      FYI, We Acadiennes. welll we eat them with either brown sugar, my fav, or just regular sugar, its way better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      The scandanavians call this "Polt" or Pault, as well. Lotus

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      I'm so excited to have found this recipe, I used to help my mom make these years ago, but never paid much attention to how she made them. Now that she has passed I'm feeling like I missed something. I plan on trying to make these on Saturday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This acadian traditional recipe is simply delicious. A long preparation and cooking but very rewarded for this exquisite taste. Me I makes 2 times per year of them, in Christmas and at the New Year's Day, with my family, in all I makes forty, it's the tradition in my family. All the family puts his, that made a beautiful family meeting. You have to try it once to taste that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      I have eaten many poutines but always with pork, side pork which is uncured bacon or ground beef. I would hesitate to eat with salt pork. Too salty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poutine Rapee

    Serving Size: 1 (3436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 948.6
     
    Calories from Fat 552
    58%
    Total Fat 61.3 g
    94%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 65.0 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1107.3 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 10.9 g
    43%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites