12 Reviews

Proper French-Canadian poutine uses cheese curds not cheese. The poutine vendors put the fries in a dish first, then the curds and then pour on the hot gravy. This melts the curds.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bruce Orrell July 31, 2003

My kids love gravy on their french fries. The directions didn't say anything about using already cooked French fries or uncooked. I assumed by the cooking time they were already cooked. I have to say I never thought I would of thought to put cheese with gravy but what a combination. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M June 23, 2003

It really requires cheese curd..not mozza. Oh, I see the next poster mentioned this too. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lotusland August 31, 2010

I grew up in Quebec...and, to this day, when I go back for my by-yearly visit, we search out for the best restaurants serving Poutin and each place that I have gone to did not serve it with mozzarella cheese. Poutin, if made properly should be made a full bodied beef gravy, french fries cooked on the "well done" side (my own preference!!) and with cheese curds. The technique is to eat them fast, or the fries get soggy from the gravy!!! One thing that I will agree with Elly in Canada is that Poutin is definately artery clogging...but to have the "real thing" is beyond good. The smell, the taste.....devine!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 06, 2010

I, too, have been making it this way for yrs. and probally will not change...simple but good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellbee January 20, 2009

I must agree with NZsailor, this may not be the 'original' poutine, however, I was born and raised in Quebec and many restaurants serve it with mozzarella cheese and it is a great artery-clogging way to eat it!! LOL When you prepare this recipe make sure your fries are hot and crisp before adding the cheese and gravy in that order. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada March 06, 2008

I am from Quebec and though it is true that real poutine is with cheese curd - I still love my homemade poutine with low-fat mozzarella (to save a few calories!!!) when I make it at home - I did use Poutine sauce (which is sold in supermarkets in Quebec). Thanks Xena!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie March 06, 2008

Poutine without curds is *NOT* poutine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodGloriousFood! November 21, 2007

ok so since he named it "poutine" maybe the one star review can be justified cause it aint traditionally correct but......... its quick easy delicious cheap filling stick with you high in carbs and protein and clogs your arteries quicker than superman can get over a tall building...what more do you want from a food if hed have named it "variations on a theme by our wonderful canadian friends a minute percentage of whom display slight manifestations of a tendency twords some inflexability" im sure all would agree that i gave it the proper five star rating its also worth noting that as far as ive been able to determine you cant buy the proper fresh cheese curds anywhere that they dont speak french with a new world accent so the choice really is something like this or nothing at all thanks xena....n hey...luved your show

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nzsailor March 09, 2006

That is a truly vile poutine recipe, horrible; totally reprehensible. Poutine is fresh cut french fries, cheese curds, gravy. The heat from the fries and grabvvy melts the cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontrealGuy December 19, 2005
Poutine