25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice and chewy! Great texture and great taste. I subbed 1 TBSP applesauce for part of the butter and I got 24 good size cookies from the batch, which I frosted and sprinkled with decorative sugar. They only lasted a day and a half between 6 people. My kids already asked me to make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez June 25, 2007

These are EXCELLENT and simple! Rolled out so easy, cut some Christmas cookie shapes, baked them and had the grandkids decorate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lkschuppener December 21, 2014

Just great little cookies. Very much like the ones sold on qvc. Just frost and decorate.. yummy!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gahousewife October 24, 2013

Nice, easy little cookie. I made the balls -- with a larger scoop but not filling. Got 29 cookies - pressed lightly with a glass, baked 13 minutes the first batch, then 11 minutes -- JUST til a hint of color on the edge. Iced with tubbed buttercream icing and stirred the sprinkles into the icing. DH was really taken. Saving the recipe for future . Thanks for posting, Marg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney August 13, 2010

I love pound cake and I love sugar cookies, these are very good. DH liked them also. Thanks for posting Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu July 20, 2010

I have tried 20-30 different sugar cookies recipes, and in my opinion these are the best. Slightly crunchy on the outside and soft and cake-like on the inside. I use the mini ice-cream scoop to get all the cookies the same size and bake for 9 minutest at 375 degrees. (I like my cookies a little brown around the edges.) Try them, you'll like them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moreCakePlz July 08, 2009

Fabulous!! Used a cream cheese butter frosting and red sprinkles and everyone loved them. I'm not an almond extract fan but went ahead anyway and was glad I did. They are crispy on the edges and soft in the center. I used my middle cookie scoop, and dipped the bottom of a glass in sugar to flatten. Made 18 cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyCRNA November 21, 2008

Very good! I made two batches. I roll the dough out a little thicker and they were chewy in the middle. My mom loved those. My dad liked the thiner crispier batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaMontana October 29, 2008

These tasted GREAT. I used the glass to press flat and the edges got a little too thin. I also used the recommended buttercream frosting and they were a perfect match. Much better than store bought.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie P. July 02, 2008

These were very good. They tasted very close to the lofthouse cookies. The only thing changed about them was I substituted the almond extract for vanilla extract. This small change really made the cookies tast so much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
countrycowgrl10 March 07, 2008
Pound Cake Cookies