Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2003

      I prepared this cake exactly as Laurie directed and came up with an excellent tasting Pound Cake! Perfect Texture and flavor with just the right amount of sweetness, I accompanied with fresh cut strawberries, a little vanilla ice cream and a dollop of freshly whipped cream! What a lovely dessert! Thank you so much for sharing, Laurie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2003

      My mother-in-law made this pound cake for a 4th of July family gathering...it was so delicious and a very big hit...she had quite a few requests for the recipe... Thank you for submitting this...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      This recipe is easy to make and very good! I put about 3/4's of the batter in one pan, and the rest in the other loaf pan. The smaller cake i cut into 2 inch slices and used as cookies! It was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Made this for our 4th of July picnic. Served it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. When the berries ran out, people were grabbing the cake and eating it plain. Oh my, this cake is gooooood!<br/>Simple to make. You'll be proud to serve it. I wouldn't recommend it if your on a diet :) Later note- it has been decided that without this cake we will not celerate the the of July.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

    • on October 07, 2010

      I made this for a fondue party I'm attending tonight (I'm bringing stuff to dip in the chocolate). I followed the recipe exactly and it is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This is one of the best pound cakes that I have been making for as long as I can remember. It is better than the Sara Lee Pound Cake in the frozen food section.The original name for this is IMPERIAL POUND CAKE, the is so old that the sheet that it was written on is old and fraying. The original recipe uses Imperial Margarine instead of butter. The results are unbelieveable, give it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      Buttery, moist and delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      It was a pretty simple recipe and cooked nice( I used the silicon loaf pans-baked for 50 min). I made this cake for a co-workers birthday. It was a hit. I serverd it with fresh berries & whip cream. I have been asked to make this again for other birthdays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      I thought this was excellent, but my mom found it a bit dry and said the butter taste was overpowering (I don't think butter tastes like anything but what do I know...). It developed a crusty top which I don't find desirable. On the whole, I'd still recommend it, especially if you've never made pound cake before; it was WAY too easy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      Excellent! Very silky and buttery. Using cake flour is a must. By the way, 1 pound of powdered sugar measures out to 3 3/4 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      very nice, moist and dense with a lovely flavour. I added a touch of lemon rind and might add a drop of almond extract next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      This is a nice moist pound cake. I used it for Strawberry Shortcake. The only trouble I had was figuring out how many cups in a pound of powdered sugar as I do not have a kitchen scale. Good recipe Laurie, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      Let me tell you, this pound cake is a winner. it's easy and it's wonderful! I cooked it a little longer (i used a larger pan) at a lower temperature in the end, but it is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      awesome cake!! perfect with whipped cream and fresh berries!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      I made this yesterday, and for a novice like myself, I was very happy with the results! The directions were easy, and the cake came out terrific! I also topped with fresh fruit and whipped cream and will definetly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1625 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3477.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1801
    51%
    Total Fat 200.1 g
    307%
    Saturated Fat 121.5 g
    607%
    Cholesterol 1046.0 mg
    348%
    Sodium 1842.7 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 388.2 g
    129%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 223.5 g
    894%
    Protein 37.6 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes