Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Poulet Rôti (Roast Chicken) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Poulet Rôti (Roast Chicken)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2009

      momaphet recommended serving this chicken with mashed potatoes to mop up the gravy so, although I've never been a huge fan of gravy and had to hunt out a recipe, that's what I did and I really think I might now I'll be making gravy more often. ;) We greatly enjoyed this flavoursome and moist chicken with Kittencal's Creamy Chicken Gravy and my Leek, Mushroom & Thyme Mashed Potatoes. As for the chicken itself, I loved the use of herbs and did add two more: oregano and sage. A great combination which really gave the chicken a wonderful flavour. I used fresh garlic which (as I usually do!) I doubled and minced and mixed in with the herbs. I used the olive oil and in step nine went with option #1. We SO enjoyed this for dinner several nights ago and what we didn't eat then, we thoroughly enjoyed with baby spinach leaves in the most delicious chicken sandwiches. YUM! A basic recipe yes, but for Zaar chefs so spoiled for choice, it's all too easy easy to neglect the basic recipes. Thank you so much, momaphet, for sharing this delightfully yummy basic recipe! Made for PRMR.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      As you said this is a great basic recipe. I had company coming and actually roasted 2 birds since I also rely on the leftovers. The drippings made a great gravy and I plan on boiling down the carcasses and expect a flavorful stock as well. I think it took longer than expected but I had the birds side-by-side so that may have been the reason. (Chickens alway seem to take forever to roast for me!) This was the first time I really used the technique of rubbing the seasonings under the skin. I think it is worth it... especially since I would like to avoid the extra calories of the skin. I used the larger amount of spices but made it stretch for the two birds. I used option 1 of flipping the birds over. My MIL always swore by cooking the bird breast-down but then you don't get the crispy skin so I think this is a great compromise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I changed this up a bit...used the ingredients listed, but also added some herbes de provence mixed with butter. Spread this under the skin and tossed some sliced potatoes and garlic under the roasting rack to absorb the drippings from the chicken. This was amazing. I'll butterfly the chicken next time to cut the cooking time, and also spread the wonderful drippings all over the roasting pan and potatoes. Delicious Sunday dinner for us. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      I made this recipe and changed it only slightly to cook it in my crockpot. It was fabulous. I really loved the spice blends, making the chicken full of flavor. Your directions were perfect. I love the suggestion for gravy, although I didn't make it this time. My whole family loved this moist and flavorful roast chicken. Made for France - ZWT8 A French Love Affair Challenge. Merci!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      Delicious! Delicious! The meat was so moist and packed full of yummy goodness...I used all dried spices with the exception of the garlic...I omitted the olive oil but the skin still came out nice and crispy...what a keeper...thanks for posting. :) Happy I have leftovers for up coming goodness...I decided to keep the dripping for our DOGS...they were doing the happy dance at dinner time...Thanks for posting...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Roast chicken always gets applause here - this version was very good and much-enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      I made this tonight using my Ronco compact rotisserie. The chicken I had weighed 4.5 pounds and only took 1 hour 20 minutes in the rotisserie. My dinner guest enjoyed the combination of herbs and spices used. Between the 6 of us, we licked the platter clean! Since I used a different method to cook the chicken, I did not have any drippings to make a gravy. Made for ZWT - Switzerland

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written. We all enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      An easy five stars for this recipe..wonderfully simple and SOOOO delicious.
      I used garlic powder,dried thyme and fresh rosemary and the flavours were fantastic!!
      The chicken was moist and juicy, and the skin so crisp and more than a little addictive (nobody else got a look in-cooks perk I guess!!).
      I served this with roasted veggies,potatoes and gravy and the entire family demolished it with gusto. I even cooked another one a few days later,which we stuffed straight from the oven into some wholemeal pitta breads with some salad leaves,tomato and mayo-heavenly!!
      This is a GREAT chicken recipe-I am so glad that I found it....thanks momaphet x
      Made for PRMR.
      Th

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I used all fresh herbs since I was out of the dried. YUMMMMMMMYYYY. I did not make a gravy. This will be made again and again Made for PAC Fall 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      What a yummy recipe for chicken. Mine came out moist and tender and the flavor from the herbs was just delicious. I did lower the oven temp to 400 but made as written. Thank you for posting. Made for the Dining Daredevils Team for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      Great chicken, great recipe. For the most part I kept with the recipe. I didn't make gravy with the giblets, because I'm not fond of giblet gravy. I used the olive oil to rub into the skin, and I don't think I would consider it optional! I used garlic powder, dried thyme from the garden and fresh rosemary from the garden. My only complaint was that my chicken cooked in about an hour, an hour before I had the rest of dinner ready to go! LOL So my chicken got a nice long rest under some foil, thank goodness for thermometers. After I started slicing the breast meat, I snitched the piece coated in all the yummy herbs for myself. :) Nummy, and so was the thigh meat, as promised. Thank you so much for sharing, hon! Made for ZWT5, for the Groovy GastroGnomes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Loved the flavors. I added some fresh lavender leaves and also some fresh sage. Turned out wonderful the only thing I would change next time is the oven temp. For my oven it was a little too hot. I served it with fried potatoes and Green Beans Amandine. Made for ZWT5 Thanks for this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This is a great recipe for roasted chicken. I used a melted butter/olive oil mix, and added the spices called for to it, adding fresh and rubbed sage for personal preference. Using a pastry brush, I brushed the outside of the chicken generously and used my fingers to get the seasoning under the skin of the bird. Step #6 was optional and so left it out. Step #9 I chose option #2 as this is how we do it here traditionally. This recipe is very well written with lots of detailed instruction for the beginner cook and experienced cooks will thank you for the great flavor your spice blend offers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Poulet Rôti (Roast Chicken)

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 641.6
     
    Calories from Fat 418
    65%
    Total Fat 46.5 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 213.8 mg
    71%
    Sodium 636.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 50.6 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites