130 Reviews

Potsie, this dish was FABULOUS! I doubled the recipe and added in 1 cup of evaporated milk along with the amount of regular milk called for. I used half mayo and half sour cream, and chose to use cream of celery soup. I added in a bit of flour as suggested for a thicker sauce, and also some partially micro waved frozen peas and carrots. I thought I had pimentos on hand but couldn't locate them when I needed them most - someone had to have nabbed them - but I can't imagine for what purpose because I'm the only one around here who actually cooks - so I had to woefully omit them. I added extra onions to compensate for the missing pimentos, then I added a few generous shakes of garlic powder, salt and pepper, and the chicken. I added a bit more of the chicken than specified because it seemed really saucy. Then, since it seemed so saucy, I sprinkled the shredded cheese on top before placing it in the oven for the first 20 minutes - so I would have a firmer foundation for the biscuits I would be placing on top later, because I was afraid the bottoms would be soggy sitting in all that sauce. After it was bubbling nicely I sliced my large-size biscuits in half through the middle so they would be thinner and placed them on top of the cheese, then sprinkled them with jar-type Parmesan cheese and popped the dish back in the oven. Then I stood there and drooled while my grandchildren - and my adult children - all tried to crowd around the stove to watch the dish through the oven-door glass while it bubbled away, so they could try to gage how much longer it would take to be done. Like they would know. Anyway, everyone absolutely loved it and were so busy scarfing it down that it was actually quiet around the dinner table for a change. But I must give a word of caution to others - don't make the mistake I did by adding in evaporated milk - this dish was VERY rich and would have been so even without it. And even though it looked overly saucy when I first placed it in the casserole dish, a lot of the sauce was sucked up by the chicken and veggies, so we had less sauce than we wanted after it was done baking. Again, my mistake for adding in the extra chicken - next time I'll control myself no matter how saucy it seems before baking it, and add the amount of chicken specified. I should have followed your directions to the tee, and I will in the future, Maestro Potsie. By the way, the biscuits turned out perfect and weren't a bit soggy, and I served this dish with a side of boiled and buttered red-skinned potatoes. I can't wait to make this again - with the pimentos - which I'll hide when I bring them home - and hope I'll be able to remember where I hid them when I need them again. Yeah, right! Thanks so much for this great comfort dish!

52 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaRLL October 20, 2010

Not sure, cuz havent finished going thru to find people who actually FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS OF THE RECIPE!! so haven't decided if I should bother making it or not. Please, please, stop reviewing these recipes unless you have FIRST tried them according to the exact directions. Then if you don't like them and add your own touches fine you can comment, but first make it according to the directions and see if you actually LIKE it!!!!. Thanks for understanding!! I'm really just trying to get real reviews, sorry if I offended. :o(

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewelrybug July 28, 2013

I made this last night and enjoyed every bite to the max! I opted to use half mayonnaise and half low-fat sour cream with excellent results. I loved the idea of putting the cheese on top of the casserole before adding the biscuits as another reviewer did. Came out just great Potsie! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us. I will be making this many more times. It's a great belly warmer during this cold weather, but anytime is good with me :) Linda

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 28, 2011

I used 1/2 mayonaise and 1/2 sour cream. I also added frozen peas and a small jar of roasted red peppers. Putting the cheese on top of the casserole kept the biscuits from getting soggy. I loved every bite! I sent a couple of servings home with a friend and her husband and child ate it all. She didn't even get any! Anyway, I will make this many more times, I'm sure. Thanks, Potsie.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jneen June 07, 2011

try puff pastry instead of biscuit . total baking time is 30 minute

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ambreennadeem May 11, 2012

POTSCRUBBER... This is unbelievably Delicious! Yes, pure comfort food. So nice to make a meal where everyone wants not just 2nds but 3rds!!! The empty casserole dish bought JOY to my heart. I only made few changes--added 1/2 c. sour cream, no pimentos or red peppers, subbed monterey jack cheese for cheddar and used onion powder ( for my picky eaters). I used the Grands flaky biscuits and the eight in there were perfect for my 11x7 dish. Thank you, this is going in the keeper folder for sure!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe October 06, 2012

I cook for this lady 2x per week, saw this on a thread and had most of the ingredients on hand. I was missing green, I cook with my eyes and needed some color. So I added 3 scallions fine diced, some fresh parsley, and a few fresh mushrooms thin sliced. I tasted it without and just didn't have enough spice for me. I did use red pepper as you mentioned, I had some roasted red pepper on hand and the thighs worked great, lots of flavor vs breasts. I like sharp cheddar, I never use mild and did add a bit of black pepper. Very easy, quick to put together. Used croissants and brushed them with a little butter to give a nice golden brown. I used a oblong casserole, similar to a 13x9" dish in size. Worked great. The lady loved it. Sorry I had to add the green, but I love fresh herbs, seasoning and color in my dish. Very tasty. Glad it came up on the thread today. Of course I made it for her, but had to taste!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook January 25, 2010

This was very good, but I think the whole biscuits kind of overwhelmed the dish. Next time I will cut the biscuits into quarters and drop them on top. I sauteed the onion with 1/2 of a red bell pepper and and 2 carrots diced. I used 1/4 C. mayo and 1/4 cup sour cream. After mixing the milk and soup in I added some dried rosemary and thyme and about 1/2 cup of frozen peas.

Thanks for posting this recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MagsMeals January 27, 2013

I could eat this often and as a matter of fact I ate the leftovers for breafkast. I sauteed a garlic clove, celery and the onion then added the rest of ingredients to the same iron skillet, including a handful of peas and carrots, half and half and stirred before I popped in oven. Added the grands biscuits after about 15 minutes and the cheddar when I pulled it out of the oven and it was everything I knew it would be .DELISH!! The mayo gave it a slight tang which I loved and I will use the reg milk next time as the half and half thickened up a bit much and It did not have the gravy effect that I desired, nonetheless good, just wanted it looser. Love the fact that I made everything in my 12in iron skillet and just slid it in the oven.Simple and good, will make again

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ngdarlen January 12, 2011

This is a delicious and forgiving recipe. I scanned the instructions, whipped it up and popped it in the oven. Then I noticed the recipe called for COOKED chicken. Gasp! Easily solved! I let it cook for an extra 20 minutes and it was fine. The uncooked chicken was an unplanned change. Here are the planned changes I made. I sauteed the onion and red pepper together in a large Le Creuset pan (pity I didn't chuck in the chicken then, too). When they were tender, I continued with the same pan -- just adding all the other ingredients. I replaced half the mayo with sour cream (as Pots suggested). I also poured the milk into an almost empty bottle of Dijon mustard, shook it like crazy and poured it in, too. I topped it all with two croissants, sliced length-wise in thirds. Australia doesn't have refrigerated biscuits, so croissants were my best option.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy September 10, 2007
Potsie's Creamed Chicken and Biscuits Casserole