Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potsie's Creamed Chicken and Biscuits Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potsie's Creamed Chicken and Biscuits Casserole

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2010

      Potsie, this dish was FABULOUS! I doubled the recipe and added in 1 cup of evaporated milk along with the amount of regular milk called for. I used half mayo and half sour cream, and chose to use cream of celery soup. I added in a bit of flour as suggested for a thicker sauce, and also some partially micro waved frozen peas and carrots. I thought I had pimentos on hand but couldn't locate them when I needed them most - someone had to have nabbed them - but I can't imagine for what purpose because I'm the only one around here who actually cooks - so I had to woefully omit them. I added extra onions to compensate for the missing pimentos, then I added a few generous shakes of garlic powder, salt and pepper, and the chicken. I added a bit more of the chicken than specified because it seemed really saucy. Then, since it seemed so saucy, I sprinkled the shredded cheese on top before placing it in the oven for the first 20 minutes - so I would have a firmer foundation for the biscuits I would be placing on top later, because I was afraid the bottoms would be soggy sitting in all that sauce. After it was bubbling nicely I sliced my large-size biscuits in half through the middle so they would be thinner and placed them on top of the cheese, then sprinkled them with jar-type Parmesan cheese and popped the dish back in the oven. Then I stood there and drooled while my grandchildren - and my adult children - all tried to crowd around the stove to watch the dish through the oven-door glass while it bubbled away, so they could try to gage how much longer it would take to be done. Like they would know. Anyway, everyone absolutely loved it and were so busy scarfing it down that it was actually quiet around the dinner table for a change. But I must give a word of caution to others - don't make the mistake I did by adding in evaporated milk - this dish was VERY rich and would have been so even without it. And even though it looked overly saucy when I first placed it in the casserole dish, a lot of the sauce was sucked up by the chicken and veggies, so we had less sauce than we wanted after it was done baking. Again, my mistake for adding in the extra chicken - next time I'll control myself no matter how saucy it seems before baking it, and add the amount of chicken specified. I should have followed your directions to the tee, and I will in the future, Maestro Potsie. By the way, the biscuits turned out perfect and weren't a bit soggy, and I served this dish with a side of boiled and buttered red-skinned potatoes. I can't wait to make this again - with the pimentos - which I'll hide when I bring them home - and hope I'll be able to remember where I hid them when I need them again. Yeah, right! Thanks so much for this great comfort dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      Not sure, cuz havent finished going thru to find people who actually FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS OF THE RECIPE!! so haven't decided if I should bother making it or not. Please, please, stop reviewing these recipes unless you have FIRST tried them according to the exact directions. Then if you don't like them and add your own touches fine you can comment, but first make it according to the directions and see if you actually LIKE it!!!!. Thanks for understanding!! I'm really just trying to get real reviews, sorry if I offended. :o(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      I made this last night and enjoyed every bite to the max! I opted to use half mayonnaise and half low-fat sour cream with excellent results. I loved the idea of putting the cheese on top of the casserole before adding the biscuits as another reviewer did. Came out just great Potsie! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us. I will be making this many more times. It's a great belly warmer during this cold weather, but anytime is good with me :) Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I used 1/2 mayonaise and 1/2 sour cream. I also added frozen peas and a small jar of roasted red peppers. Putting the cheese on top of the casserole kept the biscuits from getting soggy. I loved every bite! I sent a couple of servings home with a friend and her husband and child ate it all. She didn't even get any! Anyway, I will make this many more times, I'm sure. Thanks, Potsie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      try puff pastry instead of biscuit . total baking time is 30 minute

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      This was very good, but I think the whole biscuits kind of overwhelmed the dish. Next time I will cut the biscuits into quarters and drop them on top. I sauteed the onion with 1/2 of a red bell pepper and and 2 carrots diced. I used 1/4 C. mayo and 1/4 cup sour cream. After mixing the milk and soup in I added some dried rosemary and thyme and about 1/2 cup of frozen peas.

      Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      POTSCRUBBER... This is unbelievably Delicious! Yes, pure comfort food. So nice to make a meal where everyone wants not just 2nds but 3rds!!! The empty casserole dish bought JOY to my heart. I only made few changes--added 1/2 c. sour cream, no pimentos or red peppers, subbed monterey jack cheese for cheddar and used onion powder ( for my picky eaters). I used the Grands flaky biscuits and the eight in there were perfect for my 11x7 dish. Thank you, this is going in the keeper folder for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I could eat this often and as a matter of fact I ate the leftovers for breafkast. I sauteed a garlic clove, celery and the onion then added the rest of ingredients to the same iron skillet, including a handful of peas and carrots, half and half and stirred before I popped in oven. Added the grands biscuits after about 15 minutes and the cheddar when I pulled it out of the oven and it was everything I knew it would be .DELISH!! The mayo gave it a slight tang which I loved and I will use the reg milk next time as the half and half thickened up a bit much and It did not have the gravy effect that I desired, nonetheless good, just wanted it looser. Love the fact that I made everything in my 12in iron skillet and just slid it in the oven.Simple and good, will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I cook for this lady 2x per week, saw this on a thread and had most of the ingredients on hand. I was missing green, I cook with my eyes and needed some color. So I added 3 scallions fine diced, some fresh parsley, and a few fresh mushrooms thin sliced. I tasted it without and just didn't have enough spice for me. I did use red pepper as you mentioned, I had some roasted red pepper on hand and the thighs worked great, lots of flavor vs breasts. I like sharp cheddar, I never use mild and did add a bit of black pepper. Very easy, quick to put together. Used croissants and brushed them with a little butter to give a nice golden brown. I used a oblong casserole, similar to a 13x9" dish in size. Worked great. The lady loved it. Sorry I had to add the green, but I love fresh herbs, seasoning and color in my dish. Very tasty. Glad it came up on the thread today. Of course I made it for her, but had to taste!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      We enjoyed this dish. Easy to add what vegetables you have on hand, or want to get rid of. I used the very large Grand biscuits and do not know if I would do that again. The proportion of biscuit to filling was off, with the biscuits dominating. However, it was still good and my husband and son loved it. Great dish for when you want chicken pot pie without the hassle of making pie crust. My husband reheated leftovers for lunch and said it was still delicious, Thanks for sharing!
      Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is nearly foolproof.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      Wowza!!! This was crazy good! I admit, I made lots of adjustments, as I had lots of veggies that I wanted to use up, but I imagine the recipe is great as written. I sauteed the chicken chunks in a little butter and oil, adding poultry seasoning and thyme, removed it from the pan and sauteed onions, celery, garlic, jalapeno, and cabbage until tender, then mixed it with the other ingredients, except, the pimento, as directed. I refrigerated the mixture until ready to bake, It came out perfect. I can't wait to make this again on a cold snowy day. This is a keeper for sure. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      I read the reviews and thought about adding veggies to the recipe, but decided to follow it exactly this first time. My only change was to make my own biscuits. EVERYONE loved it! I thought it just a little heavy, but no one else did. They suggested that I don't change a thing when I make it again. Thanks, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Mercy this is good. I made exactly as posted except I did add a little garlic powder, alright alot lol. I saved this recipe for when Andrew gets home from deployment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      This was was by far the best chicken "pot pie" dish I've ever made. It was easy, but I hesitated on the amount of milk. I used a bit over 1/2 cup of milk, but after it cooled I wish I had added the whole cup.
      I do think 2 lbs of chicken seemed a lot, and after cooking 4 chicken breasts and 3 chicken tenders, I still only had one pound. But it looked like a lot for my large baking dish, so I went with it. The outcome really was packed full of chicken !!
      I added some peas, but had a bit of leftover potato and some cooked carrots, so I added those too , not enough to take up much space in the dish.
      I used flaky baking powder biscuits and added some parsley and salt and pepper, and some garlic (about 1 clove.).
      I too subbed 1/2 the mayo with sour cream.
      Everyone just loved this, and that large casserole dish was gone in no time.
      Thanks for a great delicious recipe. I hope everyone will try it.
      The baking time was perfect and the rolls came out just right.
      Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      I made this tonight for my family of four....three of them are admittedly picky eaters. Not one of them liked it, and while I didn't hate it, I don't think I will be making it again. If I were to try it again, I would completely cook casserole portion, cook the biscuits on a cookie sheet BEFORE placing them on the cheese layer, then put all cheese over the top and finish it in the oven for about ten min. It is extremely bland, so you might want to play with spices...pepper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Comfort food at it's finest!! DH and I are fighting colds....and this was just what the Doc ordered!! I did toss in some thyme, sage and a can of chopped jalapenos. I used crescent rolls (kept them in a roll and sliced kinda thin) Thank you Pots! This casserole and a bottle of Goose...we'll be alllllll better!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      This is a delicious and forgiving recipe. I scanned the instructions, whipped it up and popped it in the oven. Then I noticed the recipe called for COOKED chicken. Gasp! Easily solved! I let it cook for an extra 20 minutes and it was fine. The uncooked chicken was an unplanned change. Here are the planned changes I made. I sauteed the onion and red pepper together in a large Le Creuset pan (pity I didn't chuck in the chicken then, too). When they were tender, I continued with the same pan -- just adding all the other ingredients. I replaced half the mayo with sour cream (as Pots suggested). I also poured the milk into an almost empty bottle of Dijon mustard, shook it like crazy and poured it in, too. I topped it all with two croissants, sliced length-wise in thirds. Australia doesn't have refrigerated biscuits, so croissants were my best option.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      This is tasty as all get-out, and really quick to throw together. I added some garlic (because I add it to just about everything) and peas (because then it's a one-dish meal, and I'm lazy). We ate until we felt sick. That's a compliment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Very good. Perfect for a cold, rainy Sunday. I used a small jar of pimentos and added garlic salt, and dried Basil. It was perfect. Next time I might double the sauce, the biscuits soaked up a lot of it. I made noodles to go along side this, thinking they would go nicely with the sauce, but they were not needed. Just a nice green salad would have been perfect. This will go in my regular weeknight rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      This recipe has become one of my go to recipes for a quick and easy dinner. My family really enjoys this delicious dinner. Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potsie's Creamed Chicken and Biscuits Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 574.9
     
    Calories from Fat 297
    51%
    Total Fat 33.0 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 174.0 mg
    58%
    Sodium 967.0 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 55.0 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites