8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very rich..... lots of butter but very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mblmom January 01, 2015

Made two of these last night for a potluck. Quick, easy and delicious. I cooked the potatoes whole in the morning, and left the skin on so they wouldn't get brown. An hour before the potluck, I peeled and cubed the potatoes, put in pans, added chopped onion, cheese mixture, salt and pepper, and crushed cornflakes, popped in the oven for 40 minutes. It was still piping hot at the potluck and both pans were completely gone. It was a huge hit.<br/><br/>Update 6/30 -<br/><br/>I made this again today for 50 people. I didn't boil the potatoes, just because I misread the recipe this time. Anyway, cut the potatoes a little larger than I do for potato salad. Followed the rest of the recipe, except I doubled everything. It took longer to cook, about an hour and a half to get the potatoes done. <br/><br/>Everyone raved about the dish and asked for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
digsblues June 30, 2013

very good recipe no butter in mine used dried onion flakes cooked covered 350 for 40 minutes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. March 23, 2009

Made this for my husband's work , have to tell you they went wild over it, thanks so much for sharing and this will be made again and again. Thanks Dee Given it 10 Stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dee18920 December 24, 2008

Excellent recipe; thank you! I made this to take to my sisters ranch for their annual branding. It was a hit with all the cowboys. Your right I had to get in there to get a little taste before it was gone and I made two.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biffy 62 August 15, 2007

Wonderful, this was very tasty, I made a day and a half in advance of the potluck then added some shredded chedder on top when I reheated it and stired it through, then added cornflakes and baked.... it was not dry at all, and it was the first thing gone from the table, I had many rave reviews and requests for this recipe. I added chives and a little seasoned salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix 0880 July 21, 2007

Delicious!! I made this exactly as written and it was perfect. We loved the crunchy topping and the areas of cheese throughout. My family devoured this and gave it 2 HUGE thumbs up. I will definitely be making this alot. This was another fantastic recipe chosen for PAC Fall '06. Thank you for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill September 28, 2006

Yep, our family has made this delicious potato casserole for years. EVERYBODY likes it! It's way better than the usual shredded-potato/cream of **** dish. Can be made the day before and refrigerated. We use less butter; the whole cup almost seems too buttery. The liquid should come about 3/4 of the way up the level of the potatoes in the dish. We've also used a combination of sour cream or half-and-half with the milk. And we use 4 slices of bread, cubed. We've tried Cheddar; the Velveeta works better. Add some chopped parsley too. Try this; it's a winner. MC,thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski August 24, 2006
Potluck Potato Casserole