25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We made the following adaptions: 2 6 oz. cans of boneless, skinless pink salmon and used leftover garlic mashed potatoes. Also, added juice of 1/2 lime and zest. Served on a bed of baby field greens with cucumber sour cream sauce. Quick, easy and yummy!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snookie March 28, 2003

Quick and easy and very delicious. I used instant mashed potatoes and it worked fine. My husband thought they were wonderful, the best salmon cakes ever. I did use a small amount of butter and olive oil to saute them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tami 2 January 01, 2009

These were a hit with my husband, kids and even my 11 month old loved. The only things I did differently was to soften the onions slightly in olive oil, and I used Garlic Salt, in place of salt pepper and parsley. Also I didn't bother with the crumbing, just quickly browned them in olive oil. Lovely, thankyou.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalice February 06, 2008

very nice Bergy!! Scaled it to half but made 4 smaller cakes, enough for the two of us. Instead of frypan I heated veggie spray on a foil lined cookie tray in the oven, put the cakes on the hot tray for about 7/8 minutes at 400 degrees, turned them and put them back for another 7/8 minutes, nice and crisp. Topped with 3 bean hot salsa and served with mixed cauliflower/brocolli and a bit of left over tomato rice reheated. Tasty supper thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 19, 2004

Just like my mother made. Except I bought the packaged salmon (not canned), no need to remove bones and skin. Also, I did not use breadcrumbs. I used flour. Also fried them in very lttle oil. Turned out great. Will definely make this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane S October 07, 2003

Delicious! I made only 2 changes. I used ground up oatmeal instead of flour and bread crumbs. I also baked it after spraying each patty with cooking spray on both sides. I cooked it for 30 minutes. 15 minutes at 450 and 15 minutes at 400. I couldn't decide on the temp. I also flipped them after 15 minutes. They were very crunchy and delicious. I did not need any salt or pepper. I will definitely make again and again and again and again. Delicious! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovegymnasts June 11, 2013

Just what I was looking for! Needed to use up some leftover mashed potatoes. Used some home-canned salmon. Loved the panko crumbs on the outside. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making May 31, 2013

Easy Peasy just what I was looking for. Very good I will definately make them again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMonthego September 06, 2012

I found this recipe very disappointing, but I should have taken a clue from the fact that potatoes are listed first in the name. Based on some of the other reviewer's comments, I used a large can of salmon and a scant 1 cup of left over mashed potatoes. Even having done that, these were really potato cakes with a bit of salmon. If I ever make this again I will omit the potatoes entirely and substitute a very small amount of fine dry breadcrumbs for the flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolinVA December 31, 2011

This was very good. I added some stir fried celery, bell peppers, onions and garlic along with some celery soup sauce on top to give the cakes a little more oomph, but I'm sure they would have been good without the additions, too. The recipe reminds me of a cross between crab cakes and the Irish potato 'biscuits' I grew up on. I'll definitely be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TAHINAZ July 16, 2011
Potato'n Salmon Cakes