10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good. I liked the flavors of the peppers with the potatoes.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Balmer November 11, 2002

my family loved this recipe, and i found it easy to make. I will make this again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenylyn June 02, 2002

This is an attractive dish to serve with brunch. Along with these potatoes I served Brats, scrambled eggs, fresh sliced tomatoes, sweet onion sliced, toast & of course coffee, started off with warm grapefruit halves topped with a drop of cognac. I used yellow, green and red peppers added 2 Jalapenos and some garlic. After I peel & cube the potatoes I put them in water to remove some of the startch ensuring they will not discolor while cooking . I like this recipe because you can get it right down to the final step let it rest for 1/2 hour or so `and just do the final heating 5 minutes before serving Thanks Bev for a winner

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy January 11, 2004

I used to buy the frozen packages for my son but no longer. This was fantastic. I had garden potatoes, peppers and onions, nothing like fresh. I added some minced garlic and parsley. He went back for three servings and I had no leftovers for breakfast! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka October 08, 2007

I just discovered I'd already made these before, so here's an update. Last time I served them with dinner, this time as breakfast! I love the onions and red pepper in the dish. Thanks Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 20, 2007

This was so easy to make! I used russet potatoes, red onions and jalapenos since those were what I had on hand. I also added minced garlic as well as some thyme. I kept my potatoes on a low heat to cook through while I made the rest of dinner, and then combined it all just before everything was ready. So simple and tasty! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu June 25, 2007

Delicous! An A+ for a basic O'Brien's Potatoes recipe. I was going to make Lorac's Kielbasa Hash #38301 and didn't have the frozen O'Briens so I used your recipe. Turned out great! Probably even better being home-made browns. Thanks for posting. Pam

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am March 02, 2006

Excellent recipe!! Yummy....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB January 15, 2003

Would have given it 5 stars if it had included that youkon golds or red potatoes really work well. Russets can over cook quickly and you lose the crispiness of the potatoes. Works very well with sausage gravey instead of hash browns or bisquits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rct April 03, 2012

Good recipe and I added garlic and parsley also. Once I browned the potatoes and added the peppers and onions back in, I then covered them and turned the heat down so the potatoes could cook threw throughly. Once they were done, then I turned the heat up to get them a bit crisp. Enjoyed these and I will make them again. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Kat

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katherine in Alberta December 20, 2004
Potatoes O'Brien