Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potatoes for Hash Browns ( How to Parboil ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potatoes for Hash Browns ( How to Parboil )

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2011

      This makes some excellent hashbrowns! Up until now, I was only able to make gray, shiny, slimy piles of starch that were supposed to be hashbrowns. Now that I found this recipe, I can make restaurant quality spuds! I found that they turned out even better after being in the refrigerator for a bit so they are really cold--they don't stick together at all that way. These remind me of Simply Potatoes hashbrowns, and the best part about all of this is that I can't get those where I live in Puerto Rico. Now I can make all of those recipes that call for them! Enough raving already--great recipe and thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      I tried making my hashbrowns this way they came out alright but I went back to the way I saw them maid about 15 years ago on tv instead of pre boiling the potatoes you pill them from the raw stage lay out some cheese cloth on a plate place your grader over the cloth and grade the potato onto the cloth when all the potato is graded you wrap up the cloth and squeeze all the liquid out of the potato and then they will be ready to fry, to me this way they taste a lot better then pre boiling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This worked really well and was really easy. Since I was really hungry and too impatient to wait for the potato to cool, I took a tip I learned from making hard boiled eggs and re-filled the pot with cold water after cooking to cool the potato more quickly. It only took about two minutes to cool that way. I was surprised at how easy it was the peel and grate the parboiled potato, and my hash browns came out better than ever! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      I've been trying for close to 20 years to make hash browns that aren't mushy, greasy, gray, etc., I could go on forever. After yesterday's failed attempt my husband asked that I not make hash browns from scratch again. I remembered seeing this recipe from a previous search and looked for it again. I will say that the secret is to cook your potatoes the night before. These were almost restaurant quality hash browns. I think the only mistake I made was not using more oil to fry them a nice golden brown.Thanks AuntWoofieWoof. This is the recipe I have been searching for, literally for years.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! For the first time EVER, I made not just edible, but delicious hashbrowns! Mine have always either been undercooked or mushy until I tried your method. Thank you so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      It is the small hints and tips like this one that I really enjoy about zaar. I've now got a head start on a couple of breakfastes. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      These made the best home fries! I used your Homemade Hash Browns. I par-boiled 5 large Yukon gold potatoes. I let them sit in the boiling water for about 10 minutes because of their size. I think I'd let them sit longer if I planned on cooking them diced (which I did). I think they would have been just right for shredded. Thank you for a great tip for successfully making home-fries and hash-browns!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      I won't rate it until I put it to the hash brown test, but I will comment that I used this recipe for making potato pancakes! I parboiled 10 russets... they sat in the pan 10 minutes after coming to a full boil. After they cooled off, I shredded them for the pancakes, and the pancakes were better than ever! Thank you AuntWoofieWoof!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      This is a great method for many types of potato dishes before you cook them. No burnt outsides with raw potato taste insides. If I don't have the time I have found that sticking them in the microwave for about 3 to 5 minutes (depending on how many taters you are using) works well too! Thanks for posting Woof.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Just getting ready to make this recipe again. Surprised to see I hadn't reviewed it. It makes great hashbrowns, and I wanted to add a good review. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Finally! The secret to fully cooked, crispy breakfast potatoes! I made up some breakfast burritos this weekend and used some parboiled potatoes in my filling. Before I added the other ingredients I kept tasting the potatoes- so good! Thanks for posting this secret.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Worked PERFECTLY!!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Very good tip for making hashbrowns or fried potatoes. It works great! Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Parboiling potatoes for hash browns is no secret. If you want hash browns more quickly than refrigerating will allow, simply let them sit in the pot under slowly running cold water for about 15 minutes, then dice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Perfect hash browns. I made these to go along with omelets the other morning, they turned out great. Thank you for this wonderful way to make browns.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I have been searching for a recipe that doesn't involve pre-packaged hash browns. Thanks for the tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Very good tip! I agree with Marie about making sure that they are dry before hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      Great recipe! Rare is the occasion when one finds truly well made crispy hashbrowns. After trying this recipe I'm sure precooking is indeed the secret. Several times a year we have a traditional western brunch and now you have taken the quesswork out of making great hashbrowns! Gerry 999

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2004

      My mom used to bake extra potatoes for using for hashbrowns. I like this way better! Thanks Auntie! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      This is a good tip for making hash browns or home fries. I liked the convenience of having the potatoes partially cooked and ready to use. I made sure the potatoes were completely dry before frying so that they browned well and became crispy. Yum! Thanks, Auntie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potatoes for Hash Browns ( How to Parboil )

    Serving Size: 1 (680 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    64%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes