21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic! The potatoes had such a wonderful flavor that paired perfectly with the red pepper. I made the potato part of the recipe on Sunday and then took care of the pepper part on the night I wanted to serve them for dinner. It cut down on weeknight prep time which made it a great weeknight meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ami.israelsen October 11, 2012

Fantastic Recipe! What a colorful way to serve potatoes. I made the stuffing as directed and after a taste test, decided to go with SReiff's suggestion to add Worcestershire Sauce. Bergy's photo included the stem on the peppers, and I kept the stem on also. That made it a little easier to maneuver the potatoes on the baking sheet, and I think that would also be helpful if grilling the peppers. I used a potato masher to break up the cooked potato then added the other stuffing ingredients. My peppers tended to tip to the side, and I may shave a slice off the back of the peppers next time so they don't tip over. I was a little worried that there was too much gouda, but it was the perfect amount. I wasn't sure if the parsley should be fresh or dried, so I used fresh parsley. Thanks so much for a great recipe -- it was a big hit at dinner last night.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( May 31, 2009

I am not sure if I can give this a true rating since I made this when I was trying to empty out my fridge, and I did not have all the ingredients, but it was still fabulous! I used cheddar instead of gouda, I used red onion instead of green, and I did not have sour cream, so I used about a 1/4 cup light mayo, I also did not have Greek, so I used just regular seasoning salt. I had to bake them since it was raining, and I did not have the foil to cover them!!! Despite all of these setbacks, we LOVED this recipe and will try it again for sure! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrilife June 29, 2006

Excellent recipe I did a few things a bit differently - I did not blanch the peppers, I like them still crunchy, Used mashed potatoes cut back on the cheese and no butter. It isn't that I wouldn't have loved the whole amount but I am trying to cut back where I can..I used the Greek seasoning and added a bit of Alder smoked salt. Covered the peppers with foil baked for 20 minutes at 350, uncovered for 10 to brown them Served with BBQ Prawns & oven roasted asparagus - Thanks Marsha the potato stuffed peppers were the jewel in the crown of a super dinner

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 01, 2006

very good. I used chedder cheese and one red and one yellow pepper, I also cut the skin from one potatoe and added that... this is a keeper dh wanted to give it 10 stars. will cut bottom off to have the sit correctly in glass pan but otherwise delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayleekyle September 10, 2013

Served this for friends & family . . . huge hit! Will definitely make again & again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viedvacker October 08, 2011

This was super fantastic! I was planning on using green bell peppers, because I had them, only to find that 2 of the 3 were bad, so I used one green, one yellow, and stuffed on of the potato skins. Both the pepper and the potato were fantabulous! My very picky 2 year old even liked it! I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vyxie's Kitchen June 29, 2010

These were delicious! I did not have enough gouda so I did half gouda, half swiss. We threw them on the grill for about 5 minutes to char the skin, then finished them in the oven. Everyone loved them! My husband thinks that corn would be a good addition, so we may add that next time. But they are great as is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkcurry April 04, 2010

We really enjoyed these stuffed peppers. Will definitely make these again. Personal preference, will probably reduce the cheese amount. Very good but alot of cheese. I also left out the butter - again, just to reduce the fat a little. Excellent flavor and very nice side dish or even main dish. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JillAZ November 09, 2007
Potato-Stuffed Red Bell Peppers