Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato-Stuffed Red Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato-Stuffed Red Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2012

      Fantastic! The potatoes had such a wonderful flavor that paired perfectly with the red pepper. I made the potato part of the recipe on Sunday and then took care of the pepper part on the night I wanted to serve them for dinner. It cut down on weeknight prep time which made it a great weeknight meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Fantastic Recipe! What a colorful way to serve potatoes. I made the stuffing as directed and after a taste test, decided to go with SReiff's suggestion to add Worcestershire Sauce. Bergy's photo included the stem on the peppers, and I kept the stem on also. That made it a little easier to maneuver the potatoes on the baking sheet, and I think that would also be helpful if grilling the peppers. I used a potato masher to break up the cooked potato then added the other stuffing ingredients. My peppers tended to tip to the side, and I may shave a slice off the back of the peppers next time so they don't tip over. I was a little worried that there was too much gouda, but it was the perfect amount. I wasn't sure if the parsley should be fresh or dried, so I used fresh parsley. Thanks so much for a great recipe -- it was a big hit at dinner last night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      I am not sure if I can give this a true rating since I made this when I was trying to empty out my fridge, and I did not have all the ingredients, but it was still fabulous! I used cheddar instead of gouda, I used red onion instead of green, and I did not have sour cream, so I used about a 1/4 cup light mayo, I also did not have Greek, so I used just regular seasoning salt. I had to bake them since it was raining, and I did not have the foil to cover them!!! Despite all of these setbacks, we LOVED this recipe and will try it again for sure! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Excellent recipe I did a few things a bit differently - I did not blanch the peppers, I like them still crunchy, Used mashed potatoes cut back on the cheese and no butter. It isn't that I wouldn't have loved the whole amount but I am trying to cut back where I can..I used the Greek seasoning and added a bit of Alder smoked salt. Covered the peppers with foil baked for 20 minutes at 350, uncovered for 10 to brown them Served with BBQ Prawns & oven roasted asparagus - Thanks Marsha the potato stuffed peppers were the jewel in the crown of a super dinner

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      very good. I used chedder cheese and one red and one yellow pepper, I also cut the skin from one potatoe and added that... this is a keeper dh wanted to give it 10 stars. will cut bottom off to have the sit correctly in glass pan but otherwise delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Served this for friends & family . . . huge hit! Will definitely make again & again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This was super fantastic! I was planning on using green bell peppers, because I had them, only to find that 2 of the 3 were bad, so I used one green, one yellow, and stuffed on of the potato skins. Both the pepper and the potato were fantabulous! My very picky 2 year old even liked it! I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      These were delicious! I did not have enough gouda so I did half gouda, half swiss. We threw them on the grill for about 5 minutes to char the skin, then finished them in the oven. Everyone loved them! My husband thinks that corn would be a good addition, so we may add that next time. But they are great as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

    • on November 09, 2007

      We really enjoyed these stuffed peppers. Will definitely make these again. Personal preference, will probably reduce the cheese amount. Very good but alot of cheese. I also left out the butter - again, just to reduce the fat a little. Excellent flavor and very nice side dish or even main dish. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Really liked these a lot. Made them as posted, but felt they were missing a "certain something." On my plate, I added a few drops of Worcestershire sauce to the top and added a sprinkle more of seasoning salt and PERFECT!! The next time I make these I will add approximately 2 tsp. of Worcestershire and increase the seasoning salt to 1/2 tsp. Thanks so much for posting this yummy and unique recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Very good. I like these better than those stuffed with rice, more satisfying. Will definately make again, and will probably sprinkle additional shredded cheese on top. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Yummy comfort food. Served to vegetarian friends who raved-we will make these again-thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      Followed the recipe in every way, and what a wonderful treat we ended up with! So good! We're all big fans of red peppers and with the wonderful twice baked potatoes in them--------WOW! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Wow this was easy and delicious. I halved the recipe and served it as a main dish for dh & myself - it was more than enough. I couldn't get my hands on smoked gouda so I used smoked cheddar instead still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      This is not even done yet and I can tell, its fabulous! Thanks for making me look clever too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      What a very clever recipe,I absolutely love stuffed peppers and I love twice baked potatoes yet I would never have thought of stuffing a pepper with potatoes,, Hubby and I prepared these to go along with pork chops. We halved the recipe as it was only he and I,unfortunetly I didnt have gouda cheese so I used what we had on hand which was deli sliced american,put about 5-6 slices on top of each other and cubed it and added to the potatoes,I didnt have greek seasoning salt either so I had to skip it this time, I must tell you that this recipe is my very favorite recipe find since I joined Zaar!!! Clever,simpleto prepare,unordinary,beautiful presentation,extremely delicious,flavor combinations of the sour cream and green onions is out of this world!!! Simply scrumptious and a MUST TRY RECIPE!!! I cant wait to try it again with the gouda cheese and greek season salt next time my Mom comes to visit!!! This is a keeper and a make again and again recipe!!!! YUMMMMYYY Thanks for a great new & OUTSTANDING way to do potatoes!!! Debbie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      I never would have thought to stuff peppers with potatoes. This was delicious. I did cut the recipe down to 2 peppers, as it was just my husband and I for dinner. It worked out just fine. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      MY family liked these very much. I served them with stuffed peppers of a different colour. Dd likes dinner served with potatoes. I took the remaining potatoes & fried them for a breakfast. Tonight I am serving the potatoes without the peppers. Thank you Marsha this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      This was such a great side dish for my dinner last nite. Everybody thought it was an unusual and tasty way to serve potatoes! Serve it with Chicken Starla#116774 and Four Ingredient Salad#121127. Thank you, Marsha, for helping make my dinner a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato-Stuffed Red Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.7
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    64%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 17.3 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 88.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 591.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites