67 Reviews

We love these thangs! What a great idea! You can use any kind of potato for these really. They are simple to prepare, and so good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymcleod62 June 13, 2010

Such a fun recipe. These are very yummy tasting just like a French fry with out the mess or all the fat "Yea". Find that baked potatoes are as a rule just a vessel for very fattening toppings. These lovely little gems however are great with or without toppings. Thanks so much for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl April 10, 2010

Mmmm, a very yummy, easy potato recipe! I luved the ease of just popping the spuds into the oven and letting them roast away. The skins got very crispy and the interior of the taters was so creamy and somehow buttery. SOOO YUMMY!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe with us, dreamer! I will certainly make it again, maybe topping the taters with some cheese. Made and reviewed for one of my PAC babies March 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula March 28, 2010

These little guys were so tasty. I cooked the potatoes first in the microwave, then transferred them to a baking sheet for squashing and crisping in the oven. I added a little bit of fresh chopped chives and freshly ground pepper with the olive oil and salt. Very enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue March 22, 2010

Awesome!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue January 30, 2010

mmmm...happy reviewer #45 here. I like these so much better than boring old mashed! And about the fluffiest baked pot I've ever had. I made them this aft in the toaster oven and I wish I had some miso gravy to pour over. Yum...this little recipe will be etched in my brain now for future use. Thanks Dreamer! Made for PARTY tag Dec09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner December 08, 2009

What a great alternative to the standard baked potato. And who would have thought with just the addition of a few x-tra ingredients the flavor goes way up. I did sprinkle a touch of garlic salt on the one side along with some sprinkles of baconbits and shredded cheddar. Yum, Yum!!! Made for HolidayTag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB October 11, 2009

I loved these! When I told my brother we were having giant french fries for supper, his eyes got all big- and that's what these tasted like, though they were easier and healthier. Even using plain old white potatoes, they tasted great. On the second side I tried brushing the oil on, which helped it spread better. I'll make these again ASAP! Thanks! UPDATE: The words of my (picky) little brother the next day: "That potato was one of the best things I've ever eaten!" AND ANOTHER UPDATE: I'm now living with my cousin and her family, and they raved over these, too! I added a little chopped garlic to the olive oil on the second side. *yum*. These will definitely be a repeat here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child October 02, 2009

Wonderfully simple and totally delicious-this is going to become a regular on my dinner table! Fabulously crisp on the outside and so fluffy on the inside-mmmmm!! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo September 19, 2009

We really enjoyed these. I used bacon grease (not exactly vegan) in place of the olive oil. I like the idea of cheese, bacon bits and onions. I will try that next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acookwith2kids August 14, 2009
Potato Squashers