Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Spinach Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Spinach Soup

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2014

      I had a bit of spinach mocking me in the fridge and three sad potatoes in the pantry. Which naturally resulted in a quest for a Potato Spinach Soup recipe. So glad I found this one! My only substitution was half and half cream for the regular cream, but I noted that others had made the same choice with good success. I skipped the cheese (when I discovered my kids had eaten every bit of cheese in the fridge...) and showered my soup with freshly ground black pepper instead. This was an amazingly simple and comforting soup for a chilly day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      I cut this recipe in half and it made 2 good sized bowls of delicious soup. I was out of cream so I used whole milk and it was still a 5 star. My husband is not well and he loved it. Little did he know how good it was for him! lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Tried this recipe and it is yummy! I added carrots and used milk instead of cream. Still tasted delicious! Definitely a must try :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      I am giving it 5 stars because I think this is a very tasty, easy, healthy and flexible recipe. I used 10 small spring onions as I ran out of regular onions, 1 celery leaf (was afraid of too much celery flavour but I could have well used 2), only about 2 tbsp of butter, 2 cups of fresh spinach, no parmesan and no cream, milk instead. It turned out delicious and I am sure it is very healthy. I always look for healthy soup recipes without msg/flavour cubes, etc. We had it for lunch with toasted garlic baguette but it is also great just on its own. This is a great recipe and I recommend it to everyone! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      I think the delicious flavor comes from the roux that you make (without realizing it), when you add the flour. I made a few changes to the recipe, and it turned out well: I cut the butter back to two Tbsp, and added 2 Tbsp olive oil. I cut the salt in half, and doubled the amount of chopped spinach. (I used fresh, organic spinach, which I put thru two thorough washes and dried in the spinner, then chopped two cups, packed in a wet measure cup.) I added a 1/2 C 1% milk at the end, instead of cream. I pureed the soup with my hand held blender. No cheese in mine. Delicious with garlic toast. For dessert: fresh blackberries with a sprinkle of sugar and a whirl of whipped cream. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      i like this one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This is so good...and I can't figure out where all of the delicious flavor comes from with such simple ingredients!! I've made it twice, the first time with frozen (thawed) spinach ( a 10 oz. box). The second time I used canned collard greens. Both times delicious!! Served with homemade rolls for a complete (bonus - vegetarian) meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Yummy. Although I did make some alterations as follows: I cooked the onions and celery as directed. At the same time I boiled the potatoes in another pot along with some white beans (to add some protein). I blended the flour with some butter and combined that with the cooked onions and celery. Once the potatoes and beans were cooked I drained them and mashed them. I combined the butter/flour mixture and the onions/celery with the potatoes and added the liquids. Instead of adding water to the soup, I added about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth and 1-2 cups skim milk (more milk for thinner soup). Then I added the spinach and simmered until everything was hot. I think it might be good w/a little ground meat for meat eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      This is a delicious recipe;I also added carrots, mushrooms, and a little bit of bacon, I couldn't wait to taste it, mmm yummy! thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Wow, super yummy and easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Amazing. I also added some chopped carrot, mushroom, and broccoli as I am trying to get DD to eat more veggies..she loved it. This was really easy to make & so tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      DELICIOUS and simple

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      Great taste. Very easy and quick to prepare. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream and was still very good withour the fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Really a wonderful potato soup. It had a very creamy texture. I used about 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese in place of the swiss. Probably the best potato soup I've had in a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Wonderful! The Spinach makes me wonder why I have never used spinach in potato soup before. I used a cup of 1% milk instead of the cream and it was still creamy and wonderful. The very best potato soup I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Just delicious! I added 3 cloves of garlic minced to the sauteed ingredients and used 1 cup of chicken broth in substitute for 1 of the cups of water. Half and half and parm worked well for the optional ingredients. I LOVED this recipe and so did my boyf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      My husband and I are on a very strict diet. We drink juices and green drinks all day and a non-meat soup at night. I thought my hubby was about to bail on the diet, until we tried this soup. I used EVOO to sautee veggies and, of course, no cheese. I decided to splurge and add organic cream, though. So glad I did! I will also try it with the evaporated skim milk. It is so creamy and delicous, I don't think losing those fat grams will hurt it much. Thanks, Dancer, you saved our weight loss plan!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This is a delicious soup! I had to add a photo to hopefully entice others to try it. I know it has 1/4 c. of butter, but I reduced it by about 1/4 and used chicken stock instead of water. I also used fat-free half and half for the cream. Like others, I added two cloves of garlic along with the onion and celery and left the potato skins on. I caramelized the onion and celery a bit so some of the browned bits are onion...very good. I didn't have cheese, but it didn't need it. I am definitely making this often this winter. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Wow! I made this last week and my husband is still raving about the taste. I had left over ham and mushrooms so they were added. I did use chicken stock as suggested by another reviewer and added garlic and black pepper. I added the salt to taste because of the ham and stock. The flour gave it a nice creamy texture and the spinach, a pretty bit of color. This will replace my Mom's recipe and become a regular at my house! Thanks for a great recipe Dancer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Fantastic! I just made this and can't wait for everyone to get home tonight and try my new soup. I'd call it chowder really. I added some jarred minced garlic, plenty of pepper and served (myself) with fresh chopped chives. I left the peels on the potatoes and used fresh spinach as I had some on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Spinach Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (1491 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1180.2
     
    Calories from Fat 755
    64%
    Total Fat 83.9 g
    129%
    Saturated Fat 52.5 g
    262%
    Cholesterol 254.6 mg
    84%
    Sodium 5230.4 mg
    217%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.3 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 11.9 g
    47%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes