Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Soup Mix in a Jar

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2003

      I certainly watched DH with apprehension when I served this to him for a trial run. I was looking for things that he can prepare for himself with a minimal amount of effort, be nutritious and shelf stable. We are normally not fans of 'instant mashed potatoes'...in fact, I only keep the stuff in the house for bread making, but I figured when Di suggested it, why not?! We were very pleasantly surprised. All of the flavors tend to over-come the 'instant' taste of the instant potatoes...yippee. DH wanted me to send enough for at least three servings (pre-measured for him) for this 5-day stretch out. None of my family has ever cared for seasoning salt (the brand name product anyway), so I substituted Soul Seasoning for that. Otherwise, I followed directions exactly as stated. Thank you for another winner in my house Di!!! Do you happen to have any more 'instant soups'? ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      I used the instant mashed potatoes from Gordon's Food and the soup was much too thick with 1/2 cup mix to 1 cup of boiling water. I used 1/4 cup of the mix and it was much better. I also tried one batch using creamora instead of dried milk and it was very creamy tasting. We are using it when we go camping. It is very good. Glenda P.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      Like Cindy Lynn, we're leary of instant mashed potatoes so I made up a test batch first to make sure we would even like it and hubby immediately ate 2 bowls and wanted more. I tried it myself and it was pretty good considering it was a dry soup mix. Although next time I cook some up I'll use a little less water to make it thicker. I made up 3 quarts of the soup mix for my husband to take to work. He gets tired of cold lunches every day and needs something warm in his belly. Great idea Di! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      To this recipe I added 4 cups total of Potato Buds, 3 cubes total of 'Garden Veggie' bouillon cubes , 2 tsp dried shallot powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, an extra tsp of black pepper and no seasoning salt. I put it in the food processor till smooth and then into an air tight jar. 1/4 cup of mix to 3/4 cups hot water was a good consistency for soup and use less water for mashed potatoes with a touch of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      I made a trial batch, had a bowl, and made two more batches with half the seasoning salt. Smooth consistency, neither too thin nor too thick. Will keep some on hand at all times for midnight snacking. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Definitely a bit too salty as written.. even my salt-loving grandmother said it was too salty for her tastes. But I'll probably make it again some time with less salt, or with low-sodium chicken bouillon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Very good and easy to make. I made these as gifts for Christmas this year and they turned out well. They were a little salty IMHO so I would decrease the seasoning salt to 1 tsp or use reduced sodium chicken bouillon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This soup was good! Not great but definitely good! I made a batch and gave it to my daughter with her Christmas gifts last year! Something easy she can grab and take to work for an easy lunch or anytime when you need to warm up! Can be easily tweaked! I threw a handful of cheddar cheese in mine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This is really good. My older kids seem to like it. I will be making this for gifts for our family and friends. I like that fact that is something that the kids can fix for themselves if they need a snack or quick meal. My husband finally tried and loves it. I now keep a gallon jar of it on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      I had to do alot of tweaking to make this taste ok. I think the main thing was I didn't like the thyme in there. Not sure if I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Just made this for lunch. For what it is - a quick meal with a good flavour it is excellent. Obviously isn't like homemade soup - but a marvellous and tasty VERY speedy meal. I made it as it was I only seasoned the mix with a little salt and pepper rather than add the salt. (my buillion - Swiss Marigold - is a little salty anyway) I can't buy onion flakes where I live so I used dried chives and I used a low fat milk powder, next time I will add a little more garlic. Great to give students.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I also found this just a bit salty, so I will try decreasing the seasoned salt a little the next time. For this batch I just added 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice to the water when boiling. Also, I put a single serving of the mix into a zip lock bag for easy storage. Thanks for a really great recipe. Edit: I added a tbl of dry cheese powder to a cup of mix, and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

    • on January 05, 2008

      This was very tasty & filling! My 2yo shared a bowl with me tonight. :) I love that it is nearly fat free (when made with fat-free dried milk) yet still has a decent amount of protein per serving. And how fast it is! I will definitely be keeping a jar in the cupboard for fast lunches. Thanks DiB's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This was an easy, fairly good soup...I was trying it out before I gave it as a gift. I did decrease the salt based on other reviews and when I made a bowl tonight, I had to add extra mashed potato flakes as it was really, really thin. It lacked in taste a bit, but I added some more freshly ground pepper and lots of cheese, which makes everything better! Overall, it was good and will be easy to keep on hand for a really quick meal/snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Last month I made a similar soup mix from a different recipe. It was awful. I tried to fix it and it became even worst! Today, using DiB's recipe as guidelines to the right proportions I was able to add the the right amounts of the correct ingredients to turn my awful soup mix into DiB's great soup mix. Thank you for the rescue. My hat's off to you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Made this last nite and it was delicious! Had made mix awhile back for a gift and then did something else. The only thing I did differently was add one chopped microwaved potato because I like lumpy soup! I also used a coffee creamer instead of powdered milk. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      I thought this might have potential as camping food. I found this a bit salty for sure. Also found the 1/2 cup soup mix to 1 cup water too thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      I was amazed by this. After making a test batch for the family, this was our Christmas goodie to give to the neighbors. It's great with a little parmesean or cheddar cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      As an avid back-packer and camper I thought I'd died and gone to heaven when I came across this! I was looking for a 'regular' potato soup recipe for supper tonight and ended up trying this one out. I omitted the seasoning salt (for lack of) but I added a little dried parmesan cheese. It was very tasty and filling - a little thick ... but I like it that way! :) Anyway ... makes a great little Meal Ready to Eat and I'll be sure to make a batch for my next trip - Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Soup Mix in a Jar

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1554.3
     
    Calories from Fat 543
    34%
    Total Fat 60.4 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 37.7 g
    188%
    Cholesterol 217.3 mg
    72%
    Sodium 1103.7 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 187.5 g
    62%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 91.0 g
    364%
    Protein 69.7 g
    139%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites