8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this today and it was really good. I didn't use water at all but substituted with chicken broth, and added pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onlakegaston December 17, 2010

very good soup, i added about a teaspoon of chicken better than bouillion, and used trader joe's turkey kielbasa, which has a little more kick than the regular stuff. It tasted great, surprising depth of flavor for the lack of spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneck naturalist October 07, 2010

Very good soup. I used chicken broth instead of water and added a tablespoon of parsley. My five year old is a picky eater and she loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GeorgeB59102 September 14, 2008

Emily, this is really good and I love having another way to use kielbasa, while not my favorite sausage, I seemed to have a bumper crop of it due to shopping at a warehouse store. Next time, I think I'll add a teaspoon of instant chicken bouillon granules for a little extra flavor boost. I like the way the veggies were cooked in the 1 cup of water prior to adding milk. Takes some of the worry out of scorching.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmallTownGirl February 20, 2006

Emily, I am so far behind on my reviews,I have a whole stack to do.First,thanks so much for this recipe,I've NEVER added meat to potato soup before,but have put fresh fish in,and made a fish chowder.This was really good with the meat,(I used smoked polish sausage)I also used instant potatoes to thicken the soup instead of the flour so as to keep the flour taste out,and the potato taste in.Yum this was great,thanks, Darlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers January 12, 2004

Very tasty, but I added a little salt, and next time would make with chicken stock instead of water. And I finally got to use my dutch oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theshewolf March 23, 2003

Wow, Emily! Great soup! Dahling does not like soup without meat in it, whereas I love potato soup. What a wonderful solution for both of us! Only thing I changed was to add 1 can chicken broth, garlic powder instead of garlic salt, a little Mrs. Dash and corn starch to thicken instead of flour.This one is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boopster January 23, 2003

I doubled the amount of water used. Left out the salt and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt to lower the amount of sodium. I allso added an extra tbsp. flour. I have allways loved potato soup but my wife and kids did'nt untill they eat this one they just about licked the pot clean.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emailjeb January 19, 2003
Potato Soup