Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2007

      I love this soup and so did my boyfriend! It was a hit with us both. I left out the dill weed and celery only due to my unliking. I smashed up about 1/4 of the potatoes to help with the texture. The soup came out great and will be a keeper in my menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I've made this three times already and I got quite a few compliments. If you're looking for a hefty loaded potato soup then this really isn't the one you want. This was a wonderful, relatively light but fully flavorful potato soup. Mine ended up feeling a little bit more vegetabley because I pureed the celery and onions, not wanting large chunks (besides potato) in the soup. This did thin it out, however, and it lost some of the creamy texture it would have had otherwise. However, it still tasted wonderful and was great to eat with a sandwich. I'm definitely going to keep this around for a winter staple. The fact that it isn't horrible on the waist is a bonus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I loved this soup and so did the rest of my family. I used veg. bouillon instead of chx. Only added 1/2 c. celery. Completely forgot the dill weed and used skim milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

    • on September 30, 2007

      Wow! This soup is very good. I didn't have any celery, but had some corn so I added that in. I will definitely be making this again. I am so glad I came across this recipe. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Yummy! I wanted a simple soup and sandwich for lunch today and whipped this up in no time! I did scale it down to 3 servings since it is only me and my BF and that was perfect amount for us to each have a big bowl. I made this exactly as written... since I was hungry and wanted to eat this as soon as possible, I cubed the potatoes rather small so they would cook up quickly. They softened in about 10 minutes. The soup was a little on the thin side to start, but as I let it simmer while I made sandwiches, the potatoes started to fall apart and thicken the soup a little more. I served it garnished with some sharp cheddar, crumbled bacon and some chopped green onions. My BF said it tasted a little like clam chowder ( that's a good thing!) without the clams!!! Thanks for a quick and satisfying soup!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      This soup was really good. My husband love it alot. I did make a few changes... 1) I used one teaspoon salt 2) used 1/4 teaspoon pepper 3) used 1/2 teaspoon dill weed 4) I used low fat soymilk It worked well with soymilk. I was pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Outstanding! I made this for my family tonight, and I quote, "This is the best potato soup I've ever had in my life!" This came from my father, who is the pickiest person in the world when it comes to how food tastes, and he works in the hospitality industry, so 5 star restaurants are nothing in his eyes. Excellent meal, and I'll definitely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

    • on June 05, 2007

      Fantastic! I have been trying potato soup recipes for years and not getting anywhere. I love the flavor of this soup. It was very easy to make and tastes like I spent all day. It smelled great and the best part was that it isn't loaded down with fat. I used 1% milk and it turned out great! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      WELL! I must say that this soup was not only creamy and perfectly seasoned, but between the hubby and myself, we downed the whole thing! What a fantastic soup! Simple to make yet tastes like you simmered it all day long. I (as well as the hubby) are greatful you posted this keeper - thanks so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I made this a couple of days ago and it was very good, but yesterday it was TDF. I don't know what I did but mine didn't get real thick if anything it was a little to thin. I did use wondra instead of Flour (I like wondra since it blends in so well, I use it in gravy's and other things for thickening, it's a great product). This soup is a keeper. I did cut back on the dill, I'm not much of a dill fan, and I did use dried parsley (all I had) so I cut back on that too. Very good soup. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      I made this soup twice in the last week. It was absolutely delicious, however, I found that it was too thick for my liking. So added an additional 5 cups of water, 2 tablespoons of chicken soup base, reduced the milk to 2 1/2 cups. The soup is superb. Even though it was too thick on the first go around, I still rated it very high because of the flavor. Thank you for sharing as I am a connoisseur of soups. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Great flavor! I didn't have any celery, and I wanted it very creamy, so I used cream of celery, deleted the flour, and used only 2 cups of milk. So easy and fast to make, too! Thanks! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      Excellent soup - a definite keeper! I used my crockpot and doubled everything except the boullion and used only 2 cups of evaporated milk, and it was still fabulous! (I have a small crockpot.) My wonderful soup had more of a milky-broth texture vs creamy potato, and next time, I'll do it on the stove as written. Thanks for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

    • on November 11, 2005

      Wonderful soup. I especially liked the way it was spiced. Served with bacon strips and warm buttered cornbread. Oh so good. Thank you for posting this great recipe Shannon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      I made this a couple of nights ago and what a hit! My family is already asking when can I make it again. My husband is a certified chef and loved the taste and the look. I doubled the recipe and it came out perfect! Thanks for posting it. I will forever use this recipe! -Texas Mommy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      This was super yummy and super easy! I did halve the dill and cut back on the salt a smidge. I used 1% milk and it was perfect! I also used a potato masher to mash up some of the taters - YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      Great and easy recipe. I would add more seasoning though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.3
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    37%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 32.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 731.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites