110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! My husband and son said it was the best potato soup I've ever made. I did make a few changes based upon our preferences and some of the reviews. I only used 1/2 cup celery, 1 cup of carrots, no dill because I don't care for it. I used more potatoes, about 6 cups, and only about 3 1/2 cups of non fat milk. I also cooked the carrots, onion, and celery in the butter for about 10 minutes before adding the water and potatoes. I cooked the potatoes covered. It helped softened them up. We skipped the bacon also. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rrah_irem December 10, 2009

Great comfort food. Followed recipe exactly, and let the soup cool a bit before serving, which brought out the flavors nicely. Cheese and bacon topping are an absolute MUST...also added fresh chopped chives. Declicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom67 November 24, 2009

I did not think this soup had a lot of flavour on day one, but it did taste much better on day two after the flavours melded together. I made exactly as written and at the end I pureed half of the soup and then added it back in to get the consistency I was looking for. I would reduce the butter to 1 tablespoon as there were greasy spots floating on the top of the soup. The cheddar cheese and bacon topping added a nice flavour and presentation to the finished product. I chose this recipe over some others as it is lower in fat and calories too. Thx for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word November 22, 2009

We have made this recipe many times. We make it for a dinner and I make it cheesy by adding a few cups of cheese, a little bit of broccoli too. Since we eat it as a dinner I cook a Kielbasa and throw it in the pot as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miranda72107 November 21, 2009

Real comfort food! This was quite delicious, although I did make a few changes. I substituted part of the milk with chicken broth and also didn't add dill. I served country ham biscuits on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TipMuf November 16, 2009

I would rate this with 5 stars, but I put this in a slow cooker after I made it and the "low" setting proved to be too hi to keep it warm. The milk curdled or just changed its consistency. Although it looked bad, it tasted wonderful. I'll make it again and possible leave out the dill. I don't mind the taste, but the look of it floating all around is not appealing to me. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemon Drop October 11, 2009

So easy to make! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilpunkin October 10, 2009

This is a lovely potato soup! I've tried it with and without bacon and it is equally yummy both ways (for vegetarian readers). It is also nice topped with green onion. In making the recipe I only substituted plain chicken broth for the water (1 can =1 1/4 cup) and also added the chicken boullion as stated in the recipe. I also substitute 1 tsp of celery salt for celery (as I never have any on hand) and 1 1/4 tsp salt. All other ingredients I follow as listed and the soup comes out nice and creamy (not soupy) yet still very light and fresh tasting, which I love. Most potato soups that are creamy feel heavy and I'm stuffed after a bowl --but with this soup I can eat 3! ^_^ Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bsegroves September 20, 2009

Really, really good. I look forward to this for lunch every day, even 4 days in a row. Goes great with Olde Cape Cod Oyster Crackers or Trader Joe's Oyster Crackers. I used "Better than Bullion" for the bullion. Others mentioned too much dill weed but I thought it was fine. If anything, maybe slightly too much parsley. But still, very very good. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ulysses July 30, 2009
Potato Soup