Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2009

    • on December 10, 2009

      Great recipe! My husband and son said it was the best potato soup I've ever made. I did make a few changes based upon our preferences and some of the reviews. I only used 1/2 cup celery, 1 cup of carrots, no dill because I don't care for it. I used more potatoes, about 6 cups, and only about 3 1/2 cups of non fat milk. I also cooked the carrots, onion, and celery in the butter for about 10 minutes before adding the water and potatoes. I cooked the potatoes covered. It helped softened them up. We skipped the bacon also. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Great comfort food. Followed recipe exactly, and let the soup cool a bit before serving, which brought out the flavors nicely. Cheese and bacon topping are an absolute MUST...also added fresh chopped chives. Declicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I did not think this soup had a lot of flavour on day one, but it did taste much better on day two after the flavours melded together. I made exactly as written and at the end I pureed half of the soup and then added it back in to get the consistency I was looking for. I would reduce the butter to 1 tablespoon as there were greasy spots floating on the top of the soup. The cheddar cheese and bacon topping added a nice flavour and presentation to the finished product. I chose this recipe over some others as it is lower in fat and calories too. Thx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      We have made this recipe many times. We make it for a dinner and I make it cheesy by adding a few cups of cheese, a little bit of broccoli too. Since we eat it as a dinner I cook a Kielbasa and throw it in the pot as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Real comfort food! This was quite delicious, although I did make a few changes. I substituted part of the milk with chicken broth and also didn't add dill. I served country ham biscuits on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I would rate this with 5 stars, but I put this in a slow cooker after I made it and the "low" setting proved to be too hi to keep it warm. The milk curdled or just changed its consistency. Although it looked bad, it tasted wonderful. I'll make it again and possible leave out the dill. I don't mind the taste, but the look of it floating all around is not appealing to me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      So easy to make! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This is a lovely potato soup! I've tried it with and without bacon and it is equally yummy both ways (for vegetarian readers). It is also nice topped with green onion. In making the recipe I only substituted plain chicken broth for the water (1 can =1 1/4 cup) and also added the chicken boullion as stated in the recipe. I also substitute 1 tsp of celery salt for celery (as I never have any on hand) and 1 1/4 tsp salt. All other ingredients I follow as listed and the soup comes out nice and creamy (not soupy) yet still very light and fresh tasting, which I love. Most potato soups that are creamy feel heavy and I'm stuffed after a bowl --but with this soup I can eat 3! ^_^ Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Really, really good. I look forward to this for lunch every day, even 4 days in a row. Goes great with Olde Cape Cod Oyster Crackers or Trader Joe's Oyster Crackers. I used "Better than Bullion" for the bullion. Others mentioned too much dill weed but I thought it was fine. If anything, maybe slightly too much parsley. But still, very very good. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Have made this several times, and is one of our favorites. Have received many compliments from it. Also love that it's lower in fat than many other potato soup recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This was delicious! I did use chicken broth in place of the water though, but still added 1 bouillon cube. I increased the onion to 1 cup (personal preference) and added about 1 tsp. of thyme. Also, instead of thickening with flour, I used about 4-5 T. of instant mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Super yum!!! Was a little thin for me with just 4 cups of potatoes, so I added another cup or so. Perfect! I added about a cup of chopped broccoli too. Gotta get in those veggies! Used FF evaporated milk. Makes it so creamy. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I've made this soup twice now. I like it better with 6 cups of potatoes and the rest of the veggies doubled. Because of these additions, I added a little extra chicken broth. I used 3 1/2 c of fat free half n half and 1/2 c of light cream instead of regular milk. I also increased the seasonings to taste. Very good, we ate every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Made as directed except used chicken base instead of chicken bouillon, left out the dill; subbed 2 tall cans evap milk for the milk and added about 1 tbsp bacon grease to the soup. Also put the vegs in a blender after cooking so it would be a smooth, creamy soup and added 4 oz cream cheese & cooked til melted & combined. Very rich and very tasty! A keeper! Note: did not do the flour/milk step. Also added about an additional 3/4 cup water while vegs were doing the initial cooking. Rich enough w/out topping with any cheese...just topped with bacon. This will go in my regular rotation!!! LOVED IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      My husband declared this one a keeper. Very filling and a great meal for a cold winter night. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      This soup was pretty good. It was a little bland but overall this is a good recipe. Adding garlic powder did the trick for us. We will add fresh garlic next time. We also used vegetarian chicken stock and morningstar farms bacon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      We really love this recipe. The first time I made it just like the recipe says. The next time I didn't have any chicken boullion, so I put in a can of chicken broth. It still turned out great. I also added some cayenne pepper to give it just a bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I fixed this for lunch today while we watched election news. I didn't know how the dill weed would work out, but it really added a terrific taste. Then I remembered that some potato salad has dill in it too. Anyway, it was a very tasty soup, and very easy to make. Thanks Shannonmc!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Made this for a soup cook-off at work! It was very good and quick and easy to make. The potatoes stayed firm and did not get mushy even after reheating! I put the bacon right in the soup instead of on top. It was a nice touch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.3
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    37%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 32.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 731.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes