Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2005

      This was great soup! I did make some alterations. I added about 1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I do that with just about everything) and 2 cups of cubed ham. Then when I added the milk and flour I also added 1 1/2 cups velveeta. I made it in the crockpot. I put everything but the flour, milk, and cheese in, then about an hour before the potatoes were done, I added them. It took about 7-8 hours on low with the potatoes in one inch dices. Oh, and I used chicken stock in place of the water and boullion. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      This soup is outstanding! It tastes great and is very easy to make. I did not add the flour, instead I put half of the mixture in the blender and pureed the potatoes - used them as the thickening agent. I also added a bit of grated cheese to the top of each bowl - really tasty! Thank-you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      Easy to prepare and delicious. I did leave out the dill as I had none. I also slightly mashed the potatoes and carrots in the pot before adding the flour. I added a very tiny amount of Sherry to the soup and I made medium sized dumplings right in the soup and placed one in the middle of each serving just because I love dumplings and they did go great and made a good presentation. Everyone loved the soup, even my DD who doesn't care for soup. Your recipe is a keeper in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2002

      Too much dill for our family, next time I will use only about 1/2 tbsp dried dill. Very good soup - like a chowder without the clams.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      We love this soup! The first time I made it, my hubby texted me later & told me he overheard our kids talking about how awesome it was! :) I love that almost every ingredient is a staple item, and if you cut the potatoes into a small dice, it only takes 20-30 min to cook! Because of our preferences, I usually add corn and about an ounce of cheese, and some garlic salt. We also added Italian sausage instead of bacon once. And, in a pinch, you can decrease the amount of milk some and increase the broth. Fantastic as written, but extremely versatile! Thanks!! This has become a regular favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      Easy to make! I followed the recipe but - didn't have dill weed, added a little thyme, threw in a handful of frozen broccoli I had, a handful of cheddar in the soup, and used chives rather than regular onion. I didn't think it was going to come together but I added just a tad extra flour&water and the soup came out perfect. 5 stars for working perfectly and tasting fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      It was easy to make, and really delish! This will be a keeper recipe for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2003

      This was great, even my husband liked this one. He rarely eats my potato soup. I did use 1 tablespoon of dill and that was enough for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      This is a nice and easy recipe. I added some chives instead of the dill as I had none. I also shredded cheddar cheese on top when finished. My kids loved it and I will make this often. I also frooze some and it was just as good after reheating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      This is a keeper. Wonderful soup family just loved it. Didn't change a thing. THANK YOU!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Delicious! Followed recipe except for substituting dillweed with 1/4 tsp dill seed as didn't have the dillweed on hand. We added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese, instead of bacon bits, as a topping to each bowl. Definitely a repeat recipe!

      It would also be a good base for other types of soup like corn chowder or clam. Just add a can of creamed corn or a can of clams.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      I added a couple extra potatoes for a thicker soup and didn't use the celery. I also used cheddar cheese on top instead of bacon, which is a MUST for ever potato soup lover! Cheddar cheese was made for it :) Try putting it in a bread bowl! Carve out the center of a small round loaf, and pour the soup in- YUM! Husband loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      Very tasty soup. Will make again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Fantastic. Tastes just like my moms. Didn't have celery, and used only about 1/2 tsp. of dill, added rivels. Yummy! I did have to cook it longer than 20 to get the veggies to the 'tender' point, but I didn't mind waiting! Even my DD's loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2014

      My family absolutely loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I made this for my family the other night and it hit the spot. I have never added dill weed to my potato soup and it was a nice change of flavor. Its been cold here and this soup took the chill off of us. thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

    • on July 09, 2011

      I only used the onion and potato for veggies but it was still very good! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.3
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    37%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 32.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 731.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites