110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great soup! I did make some alterations. I added about 1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I do that with just about everything) and 2 cups of cubed ham. Then when I added the milk and flour I also added 1 1/2 cups velveeta. I made it in the crockpot. I put everything but the flour, milk, and cheese in, then about an hour before the potatoes were done, I added them. It took about 7-8 hours on low with the potatoes in one inch dices. Oh, and I used chicken stock in place of the water and boullion. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick November 10, 2005

This soup is outstanding! It tastes great and is very easy to make. I did not add the flour, instead I put half of the mixture in the blender and pureed the potatoes - used them as the thickening agent. I also added a bit of grated cheese to the top of each bowl - really tasty! Thank-you for posting this!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert January 14, 2004

Easy to prepare and delicious. I did leave out the dill as I had none. I also slightly mashed the potatoes and carrots in the pot before adding the flour. I added a very tiny amount of Sherry to the soup and I made medium sized dumplings right in the soup and placed one in the middle of each serving just because I love dumplings and they did go great and made a good presentation. Everyone loved the soup, even my DD who doesn't care for soup. Your recipe is a keeper in my house.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn March 10, 2003

Too much dill for our family, next time I will use only about 1/2 tbsp dried dill. Very good soup - like a chowder without the clams.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_mummy December 01, 2002

We love this soup! The first time I made it, my hubby texted me later & told me he overheard our kids talking about how awesome it was! :) I love that almost every ingredient is a staple item, and if you cut the potatoes into a small dice, it only takes 20-30 min to cook! Because of our preferences, I usually add corn and about an ounce of cheese, and some garlic salt. We also added Italian sausage instead of bacon once. And, in a pinch, you can decrease the amount of milk some and increase the broth. Fantastic as written, but extremely versatile! Thanks!! This has become a regular favorite!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnuSami October 01, 2011

Easy to make! I followed the recipe but - didn't have dill weed, added a little thyme, threw in a handful of frozen broccoli I had, a handful of cheddar in the soup, and used chives rather than regular onion. I didn't think it was going to come together but I added just a tad extra flour&water and the soup came out perfect. 5 stars for working perfectly and tasting fabulous.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Lunchlady August 23, 2010

It was easy to make, and really delish! This will be a keeper recipe for me!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dknj March 07, 2003

This was great, even my husband liked this one. He rarely eats my potato soup. I did use 1 tablespoon of dill and that was enough for me.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valarie Moody February 08, 2003

This is a nice and easy recipe. I added some chives instead of the dill as I had none. I also shredded cheddar cheese on top when finished. My kids loved it and I will make this often. I also frooze some and it was just as good after reheating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marisa in Hamilton, Ontario February 15, 2013

This is a keeper. Wonderful soup family just loved it. Didn't change a thing. THANK YOU!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMonthego September 08, 2012
Potato Soup