Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2004

      The flavor and texture of this soup was great. I used a white onion and used 8 chicken bouillon cubes for the base. I also used a pint of half and half for the cream and a cup of the milk. I will definitely make this again, however, there are a few changes I would make as this does take a lot of time to put together. I will only saute 4 or 5 strips of bacon when I begin and do the rest in the oven to be sure all the bacon is evenly cooked and crispy, then add it when I add the potatoes at the end. I may also peal, cube, and boil the potatoes since pealing the baked potatoes was where most of my effort went. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Ridgely, this was a wonderful, flavorful soup! I had a chuck roast Sunday and had roast beef sandwiches and this soup on Monday. My husband was in heaven. Also, my 3 yr. old grandson even ate it, and he is really picky. I used half and half, milk & 4 chicken bouillon cubes (I didn't have chicken base). I crumbled 5 pieces of bacon and put it in last. Also, I put all the thickening in at once and I thought it made the soup too thick, so next time I will add this gradually. I had a large bowl of this soup left over on Monday & so today I had it for lunch. I dissolved a bouillon cube in water and added to soup to thin it out a little. The flavor was even better two days later. This is a winner and you can be sure I will make this soup often. By the way, the name of the restaurant where this recipe originated is called the Machine Shed Restaurant. I also found this recipe and the name of the restaurant on "Recipelink". Thanks for posting here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Not that this needs another raving review, but I'm going to give it one. My fiance had been saying how much he'd like for us to make some potato soup, so we settled on this recipe. We were not disappointed! It was VERY good! We left the skin on the potatoes, because we love it, and we pre-cooked the bacon because we wanted it to be crunchier. It was amazing, and I know we'll make this many, many more times! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Awesome recipe!! I coordinated a St. Patrick's Day potluck at work today. As I love to cook and since I initiated the potluck, I wanted to bring in something more substantial than a store bought item. I decided to make a potato soup in reverence to this major crop of Ireland. I looked at many recipes, but decided to make this one because it has a chicken stock and milk base. I thought that would be more flavorful. Yesterday, I chopped the raw bacon and cooked it. I saved the bacon grease in a small, covered pyrex dish. I put the chopped, cooked bacon in a bowl, tightly wrapped it and put it in the fridge. I chopped the onions and celery and put them in their own plastic bags. This morning I awoke at 6:45am and put the reserved bacon grease in a large frying pan and melted it. I then proceeded with the recipe, sauteing the onions and celery. I added the cooked, chopped bacon toward the last 3-5 minutes of cooking. As I doubled the recipe (to serve 24) I had trouble thickening the soup, even after I added the full amount of the roux. I was terribly worried it would scorch the bottom of my large pot and thus I constantly stirred it. I added another 1/4 cup roux (as that's all the butter I had). Fortunately after sitting for a bit, the soup thickened up. I took it to work in a giant lobster pot. I poured the soup into two crockpots and kept them on low all day (periodically coming to stir it). Many people had seconds, thirds, and fourths. I gave away the recipe to several people. I went home with both crockpots completely cleaned out!!! One of my co-workers exclaimed that I ALWAYS make amazing dishes. What she doesn't understand is...I just follow recipes and most of them are from this site. Thanks for another amazing recipe I can add to my favorites box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      Absoultely delicious! I added a diced carrot and substitued half & half for the cream. The soup turned out creamy and flavorful. It satisfied our craving for comfort food. This recipe is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      This was absolutely by far THE BEST SOUP! My husband hates onions AND celery. I shreaded the onions and celery to very fine bits. Did add the parsley. He didn't even know they were in there. I also mashed the potatoes a little bit and boiled them before I added them to the soup (instead of baking). The soup was a hit with our neighbor and his co-workers!!! I'm making again very, very soon!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Delicious soup! Even my picky roommate liked it! I baked the potatoes in the oven, and let them cool completely before dicing them. I think next time I will start the bacon before the onion and celery. I substituted 3 cup chicken stock and 3/4 cups water for the water and chicken base, and used half & half for the cream. The whole process took much longer than I expected, but it was worth it. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This soup was good, but I think I have another recipe we like better. I made a half recipe; didn't have fresh parsley, so used some dried. I also used the immersion blender to break up some of the chunkiness. I would probably cook the bacon, then add to the soup at the end. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This is great potato soup. It isn't too heavy. I didn't add the whipping cream though. I used half-n-half and used half the amount. The soup was still excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      This was GREAT! I cut everything up the night before and it was really easy to make the next day. The whole family couldn't get enough. The bacon wasn't quite done by the time the onions and celery were but it tasted fine. I will be making this all winter along.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2014

      Great soup, it got better the longer it sat. I put a ham shank in the soup instead of the bacon, otherwise followed the directions. This soup was great, the family thought so too. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I liked this a lot. Hubby was a bit more reserved. Ah well, he never liked potato soup before. I guess nothing has changed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      Wow! I made this for a lunch potluck with some friends who happen to be really good cooks. (I am not known for my cooking, ha ha) This wonderful potato soup stole the show! My husband loves it, I love it, it's great.This will be served frequently at our house. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      My great grandmother made an amazing potato soup and on this cold rainy winter day I wanted to make something similar to her potato soup and this most defiantly was as close as I could get if not better. I'm 25yrs old and sometimes recipes online scare me because I don't know how they will turn out and sometimes the ingredients are different or I'm not use to cooking i I get scared to try them. This is a recipe I'm sooooooooo glad I took a chance with. It is simpler than I thought it would be. The only thing I changed was I wasn't 100% sure what chicken base was I figured it probably was chicken broth so I omitted the chicken base and added 2 of those new chicken flavor boosters made by Swason and 2 of those new Homemade Stock chicken flavored by Knorr. I added the Chicken flavor boosters at the end and the stockin place of the chicken base also topped mine off with bacon bits, green onion, diced onion, i shredded some cracker barrell extra sharp cheddar cheese and sour cream!! Whoever posted this thank you for helping me reminisce on my grandmas potato soup by helping me create my own!!! Anyone should try this its truly AMAZ BALLS!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      Great Recipe with minor modifications made.I saute the bacon by itself until crispy.This way it actually gets crispy (then drain before adding onion & celery ) and creates a nice fondt in the pot which will only deepen the final flavor.I also roast Yukon potatoes(whole) in olive oil and salt .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      OMG!!!! As the weather turns cooler I always start searching out soup recipes - I've tried several potatoe soup recipes nd always enjoy them, but this one was exceptional. Wasn't to difficult and DH raved about it. It was even better the next day as left overs. I have more frozen and will be anxious to see how it defrosts. The only thing I did differant was used my home made chicken stock, use my immersion blender to smooth it out some, chedder cheese instead of colby as that's what I had on hand, and a light sprinkle of cayenne pepper at the end. Wonderful, warming, and satisfying soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      This was really super, even with making the light version of it. Like a baked potato soup! I used bacon bits to top the soup, but not in it, less roux, milk instead of cream in the final stages like some other reviewers, reduced fat Irish cheddar and added non fat sour cream to top. The cheese and sour cream are musts and really make it! This fed 6-8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      this is fabulishouse!!!!! i made this for my family, i think i made a big dish of it, like 2 gallons, and it was gone in 2 days!!!! need less to say, this is amazing! we love ours thick but it tastes good etheir way! i cant stop smiling, i love this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      I made this for four and it is the best potato soup we have had. I did use ham instead of bacon but is just wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Great recipe! My family loved it. It's a little bit of work but well worth the while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Potato Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.7
     
    Calories from Fat 273
    64%
    Total Fat 30.3 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 559.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites