196 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! I prefer potato soups with cream cheese, but didn't have any on hand, so I thought I'd try something new. I added diced chicken, onions, peas and carrots, and a dash of steak seasoning for added flavor. I topped with more shredded cheese and bacon crumbles. I served it with dinner rolls and it made a wonderful "comfort food" dinner for the new fall weather.<br/>**TIP** for those with lump problems - make the rue first by melting butter an stirring in the flour, it will be lumpy. Slowly add in milk, 2 cups at a time, stirring constantly. Don't add your next two cups of milk until it is hot, and on the verge of boiling. Then add the next two cups and repeat the process.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
it'scolleen October 04, 2013

Loved it! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sazza96 December 26, 2012

I felt like there wasn't enough flavor to this recipe despite the fact that I boiled a garlic clove with my potatoes then added 2 pressed garlic cloves into the broth; sauteed a minced onion, shredded carrot, and 2 minced stalks of celery in a tbsp of margarine that I added to the potatoes once finished; threw in a parmesean cheese rind in the milk when bringing the milk to a boil; added a little extra pepper & 1/4 tsp paprika; and then threw in 1 1/2 tbsp fresh parsley just before serving. It's a good starter recipe but definitely needs lots of modifications if you want good flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmr1120 October 08, 2012

This was awesome. Kids loved it, definitely adding this recipe to our regular menu. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kunsch5 January 03, 2012

Really good base recipe. I sauteed onions & garlic in it. I doubled the chicken bouillon instead of adding extra salt. After a lot of reviews talking about the flour clumping I added half a cup of milk to the butter before adding the flour. It made no taste difference & it was easier. I used the cheese as a topping instead of mixing it in like a lot of others. This is the perfect recipe for making half. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oribell December 12, 2011

We followed the recipe, but made a few variations (probably making it similiar to the baked potato soup). I sauteed onions prior and added those at the end. Added some chopped garlic. We used skim milk. We also added a good amount of sour cream at the end (probably between .25-.5 cup). Put bacon on top and enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thminis December 04, 2011

Loved it! I used (defrosted) frozen hash brown potatoes to cut down on prep work. I used half the cheese in the soup and half as garnish. I also added bacon crumbles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AutumnCro September 29, 2011

Yummy soup. I added some diced onion and celery for a little more flavor. Thanks so much for the recipe this is going into the rotation for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cat Nichols August 16, 2011

Very good. It is a little thicker than my preference but my husband liked it as it was. After it was in the individual bowls I topped it with a little more cheddar, some ham (leftover from the Easter ham) and some chopped green onions. It looked very attractive and I believe the garnishes added to the flavour of the soup. Thanks for sharing your delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV April 28, 2011
Potato Soup